We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I cant think of a hotel we have received better service. The staff is so welcoming and friendly, most importantly very genuine. The hotel is very well located but with poor signage so if you are driving for the first time you are likely to miss it. The room was great with all the amenities one may need. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of options. Concierge staff is very helpful. The biggest pluss of this hotel is the restaurant option for Patrick Guilbald famous two michelin star restaurant, a must try!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alethea16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. Your feedback is extremely heartening, very encouraging and has given us all a big boost.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,201 - 2,207 of 3,454 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is wonderful in every way. The service is impeccable, the location perfect, rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the decor is incredible. This hotel has a fabulous art collection. I understand it is one of the largest private collections in Ireland. They even tie in the art collection to afternoon tea (a must). The gardens are beautiful, everything was perfect!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyN76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently following your recent stay with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the ambience throughout the Hotel and our Art Collection ant that it enhanced your experience during your stay .

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a phenomenal experience here. Room was very pleasant and large by European standards. Modern bathroom. Very attentive and pleasant staff. the follow up wake up calls as a normal course of events was greatly appreciated by this jet lagged traveler.

We had breakfast at Cellar restaurant and dinner in the Cellar bar. Both had very good food and very good service. A bit pricey but this is a trade-off for the convenience factor.

This is one of those places I will fondly remember and hope that I will return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are great, but predictably more expensive. We had a "bad"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us here at The Merrion.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted to read that you plan on returning to stay with us in the near future. I only hope that stay is as memorable as your last.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff.
Lovely room, comfortable.
Good value delicious food in the Cellar restaurant
The best hotel pool that I have ever swum in.
We didn't use the spa facilities apart from the pool and steam room so no comments other than this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaesman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

What a special spot. Beautiful hotel with outstanding Irish service--the right touch of friendliness and professionalism for us. Rooms are beautifully well-kept, garden is lovely, beautiful art throughout, classic furniture, wonderful beds (slept well!). The Merrion made our first trip to Dublin truly wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed the included breakfast - wow - and on the day we were taking a tour & needed to leave before the breakfast hours they offered to either bring us a packed breakfast or provide room service (we chose room service and it was so very lovely). We enjoyed a dip in the relaxing pool each night before dinner and after walking the city during the day--not the chlorinated, bright blue kind in the US but a softly lighted, large relaxation pool. There was also tea by the fire and drinks in the garden -- everything about this hotel was so very special.

Room Tip: Garden view was lovely; we enjoyed waking to the statue of James Joyce outside our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the absolutely wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. I must say we get a great “buzz” when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I am also pleased you enjoyed your swims each evening in our infinity pool down in the Tethra Spa.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Really really nice, especially the garden courtyard on a sunny autumn day. Only minor gripe would be the prices for food - eur 20 for a snack, eur 35 for breakfast, thats pretty bull market prices in a bear market economy, so i just eat elsewhere imstead. Everything else is lovely.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank chrisp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently following your recent stay.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. Thank you also for your feedback on our breakfast prices which I have taken onboard.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My spouse and I enjoy discussing and rating hotels after having completed our stay, usual categories, location, style, staff, maintenance etc. We concurred, this property ranked very high in all categories. Appreciate unpretentious, a small sign on the outside lets you know the name (yes a doorman is there but adds to the charm), it is part of the Leading Hotels of the World chain and they have very high standards to be met. What we found appealing was the casual air, yet extremely professional, staff deferential yet with a certain friendliness, interior not modern but didn't want super modern in Dublin. Bath exceptional and mattress, honestly the best one of the entire trip, joked that most hotels in Ireland must order from the same mattress company, but not The Merrion. We loved the location, hop on and off bus right at the door, walking to the central area easy, restaurants close by...had a wonderful meal at Matt the Thresher....
Public areas lovely, just the right ambiance, sat often in the bar area...yes, it is expensive, the most we paid actually for a night's lodging, but we both felt worth it and were glad we had opted to splurge. oh yes, the breakfast was served in a very nice dining area....and was delicious.

Room Tip: some rooms have nicer views than others, they have a lovely garden area, rooms overlooking this area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kokosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you both enjoyed your stay and that you found our beds to your liking!.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you again for your most encouraging words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,165 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £213 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing