We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in Dublin”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for one night recently on a special occassion trip to Dublin. We had been given a voucher which we had used to upgrade to a nicer room and the hotel upgraded us again to a nice suite. I would definitely recommend paying the extra to stay in the older part of the hotel as the rooms have lovely vaulted ceilings and nicer furniture and much more character than the garden wing. Its more of a country house feel - the bathrooms may seem a little dated but I feel like they are in keeping with the oldly manor house style.
Concierge and reception are top class - The bar is a little stuffy and I dont like that you cant have a drink at the bar - you have to take a seat and they take your order. The day rooms are nice - perfect for lazy afternoon tea and rading the paper. Also the art collection throughout the hotel is fantastic - my personal favourite "The Gombeen Men" by John Boyd
Breakfast is a trek through the hotel and then a lift to the cellar bar area - so I'd recommend ordering breakfast in Bed. We didnt use the pool / spa area but it did look most attractive.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay in the old house !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your other observations which I have which I have taken onboard fully.

I hope your next stay is as enjoyable as this one was.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 3,447 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend, the hotel is beautiful friendly staff. We booked lunch in the cellar restaurant and dinner in Patrick Guilbaud restaurant. Cellar restaurant nice atmosphere but average food. The Patrick Guilbaud restaurant was like theatre ! the service amazing! Food was a bit rich for us as we had the tasting menu. But well worth the theatre for an experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visits to the Cellar Restaurant and Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had dinner at the Merrion Hotel on the 13th of September.It was my husbands 40th reunion and the class dinner was held at the Merrion. The food was great in a lovely setting.The staff were very friendly and welcoming.It was a very pleasant evening.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 133amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit to The Merrion.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience in our Private Dining Rooms located in the historic Mornington House and I have shared them with both the team who served you on the evening along with our Events and Kitchen teams and they say a very big “thank you” as well.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is our first time in Dublin and we sadly had to check out today after only two nights at this elegant, charming hotel. From the first warm hellos from the doormen to the attentive service at the included breakfast, the knowledgeable concierge's assistance at booking restaurants, providing adaptors and directions and finally the doormen's jokes and well wishes as we departed, the staff was exceptionally trained, gracious and caring.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of many attractions, shops and restaurants. It is well worth the price paid.

We'll be back for a longer stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kentkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I am delighted that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that on that occasion you will have more time to relax and enjoy what the Merrion has to offer.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The lounge is great place to relax. I really wish the pillows were a little smaller.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expat4ever1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We just finished a 5 night stay at the Merrion. The Merrion was recommended by an Irish friend. We could not have been happier with the warmth of the staff there, the elegance of the hotel and the unbeatable location. It's not often that a hotel can be both welcoming and world class but that is how it is there. You are somehow made to feel that you are home while surrounded by art and surroundings dating back centuries. The room was pristine and lovely. I must say I did have to venture out to other sources for my coffee fixes as the Merrion coffee was not up to my picky standards but they even help direct me to where I could find a wonderful Cafe Americano around the corner. I

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneontheroadBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. It is extremely heartening to read your words of praise for my colleagues as each and every one of them strive to provide a memorable experience for our guests.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A great stay from start to finish, a warm and efficient welcome from the check in staff, a very nice room and I used the gym and pool where the staff were equally helpful. The public rooms are a delight and do take a moment to look at the gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthShieldsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and you have as an enjoyable stay as the last.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,153 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £216 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing