We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in Dublin”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sag Harbor
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elegance in Dublin”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have no idea what it takes to create and sustain a world class hotel, but the Merrion Hotel in Dublin is doing it perfectly. Staying at the Merrion is more than just luxury, it is an experience, a sensory opportunity to allow yourself the treat for being taken care of by people who truly care about your well being. The staff is helpful, knowledgeable and top hospitality professionals. The rooms are warm, cozy and simply appointed. The beds are comfortable, and the entire hotel is a soft edge in hard world. There is an art to luxury hospitality, and the Merrion Hotel is the master.

Room Tip: I've always preferred the rooms facing the inside garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie_Vorhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. Your words are extremely generous and kind and have given us all a big boost; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

Both my colleagues and I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,660
    378
    100
    34
    20
See reviews for
578
1,609
101
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have recently returned from Ireland and stayed 3 nights at the Merrion. We thought the location was excellent, in a safe area with pubs and restaurants and walking distance from Grafton street and Temple Bar. The rooms are large with traditional furnishings. A bit warn but with very nice linens comfortable beds and large marble bathrooms.The salons in the hotel were beautifully appointed and the fireplaces were great in the afternoon or evening with drink and small plate service available. We did not eat in the restaurant or have breakfast as we thought the 29 Euro PP charge for breakfast was over the top. I would stay there again but they should rethink their breakfast pricing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us which I was pleased to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole. Thank you for the feedback about our breakfast pricing in the Cellar Restaurant which I have taken onboard fully.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Words cannot do justice as to how pleasant it is to stay in the Merrion, we never stay anywhere else when we overnight in town. it is great to have an excuse of a celebration to stay there. Our daughter's wedding was held there in 2008 and it was so nice. The location is great, the staff are so professional and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidEnsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review posted recently.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your visits to us here at The Merrion. Your words speak for themselves really and we are all very grateful for the high praise indeed. It is always a delight to welcome back guests whom have built up affection for the property and the staff over the years and I hope your daughter and son-in-law have an opportunity to return to us again soon also.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our stay at the Merrion was absolutely wonderful, there is a reason why the Merrion is the number 1 hotel in Dublin!
It is the building, the facilities, the food but most of all its their staff! They treat everyone with respect and such warmth, they are so impeccably turned out and professional. An example was Sarah Jane (lovely chatty girl from room service)
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite in the main house, the decor of the room is like something from Downtown Abbey absolute Georgian Dublin opulence.
A bottle of champagne was delivered to our room as we were celebrating our engagement and the meal in the Cellar Restaurant was delicious, Dermot there was a fantastic host and helped us choose the best wine to go with our meal!
I was really impressed with my Darphin facial with Irene and my fiance enjoyed the pool area
The breakfast was yummy, we went for the french toast brioche with berries and it was divine!

Thanks to the Merrion for making our night away so wonderful!

Room Tip: Arrive on a Sunday as their weekend guests are leaving and the business folks may not arrive until M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0Ave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I was delighted to read that you had time to avail of the facilities and that you enjoyed them so much.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you and your fiancé have another memorable stay with us. Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Everything about the Merrion was fantastic. From the doorman welcoming us, to the desk staff, to the champagne in our room and restaurant recommendations, everything was top notch. The rooms are lovely, with nothing forgotten, the breakfast was delicious, and the staff was always helpful but never invasive. We loved it and highly recommend a stay here!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. I must say we get a great “buzz” when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Merrion was splendid! The hotel is even more beautiful in person than through the pictures posted on their website.
The staff are so personable, professional and impeccably trained it nearly defies categorization.
The Drawing Room is a marvelous place to have tea and enjoy the warm fireplace while relaxing.
The gardens are so beautiful and well maintained.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and the housekeeping staff keep them immaculate.
We had a problem with the power converter we brought with us but the amazing maintenance man helped us out far exceeding anyone's expectations.
The concierges are everything you could hope for in terms of assistance and friendliness.
We were impressed with every single individual we encountered during our four night stay.
Thank you Merrion staff & management! Your reputation as a world leader in luxury accommodations is well deserved!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristAmericano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the absolutely fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Both my colleagues and I found your kind words extremely encouraging, they speak for themselves really and we are all truly delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We went for a 1 night stay to the Merrion hotel in October and had the most fantastic time. This was our third time at the hotel and the service was absolutely outstanding. We arrived very early morning and the room was ready for us the check in. The reception staff dealt with our check in quickly and efficiently and also showed us to our room. We had a room in the main house and the decor and facilities were outstanding. We utilised the pool and gym facilities in the hotel which were very quiet and more than adequate. Again the service from the staff was outstanding and the toiletries, towels and changing facilities superb. We had cocktails in the hotel bar prior to dinner which were outstanding. The concierge was helpful and recommended and booked a local restaurant for us, which was superb. As for the breakfast the next day, we could not have asked for anything else. Thanks to all at the Merrion and Caroline the head reception desk who couldn't have done more. We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Main house but everyone superb regardless!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyDivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. It is extremely heartening to read your words of praise for my colleagues as each and every one of them strive to provide a memorable experience for our guests.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,834 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,800 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing