We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only choice for staying in the Irish capital.”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 773 helpful votes
“The only choice for staying in the Irish capital.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I am usually not a big fan of independent smaller hotels but must say The Merrion hits all the right notes.

Location wise you could not ask for better when in Dublin in a word "Unbeatable" situated right across from the grand and stately Parliament building with Merrion Square (great running paths), National Gallery, National Museum, Trinity college and the Grafton Street shopping district all within a few minutes’ walk from the hotel.

Stayed in a Junior suite in the main house and it was exquisitely furnished and appointed opulent being the only adjective to truly describe the overall feel and flow with the highlight being the sumptuous bathroom with separate bath and shower and all the extras, cosy bathrobes and bespoke Irish toiletries.

The public areas with log fires wonderful Irish fabrics and antiques and French windows offering nice views and access to the gardens are wonderful. With the most impressive aspect being the hotels private collection of exquisite art on site. Creating the atmosphere as if you are staying in one of Europe's great art galleries fitted to serve as a hotel.

The service, is exactly as one would expect, attentive and top-notch quiet and unobtrusive throughout the hotel from the excellent concierge in the lobby to turn-down service in the suites.

In hotel dining options match the standards of the hotel I ate at Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud (see my separate review), the only 2 starred Michelin restaurant in Ireland is on site. Breakfast is especially noteworthy with freshly baked goods, to superior buffet items to tempting breakfast items cooked to order.

To sum it up The Merrion is classy, elegant, and should be the accommodation of choice for any traveler when staying in the Irish capital.

I know it will be mine in all my future trips to Dublin.

Room Tip: One of the few hotels in the world where you should get out of your room and spend some time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us in such detail.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I was delighted to read that you had time to avail of the facilities here at the Hotel and that you enjoyed them so much.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you will have another memorable and relaxing stay with us. Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,736
    393
    105
    36
    22
See reviews for
600
1,660
103
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Business trips to Dublin have taken me to some pretty grim places. I finally decided to bite the bullet and book the Merrion. Booked a standard garden room street facing and could not have been happier. From the moment the taxi door was opened, to the point three days later when my departing taxi door was shut my experience was fantastic. There is complete consistency of staff, from reception, bar and waiting staff, to room service and those you pass in the corridors, they are all a delight. I loved the art collection....in fact whats not to love....bite the bullet and pay the extra euros to stay here, you will not regret it. Have no idea what those who reviewed poorly were on??? Thank you all, I will certainly be back. Would have been full points only the shower wall and grouting in particular could have done with closer attention.

Room Tip: I don't know if I got lucky but stayed I a standard garden room street facing, no noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your wonderful comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel and I have shared them with all my colleagues. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a stay as much as you did and I am glad you felt so warmly welcomed and that you plan on returning soon. Thank you also for your feedback about the tiling in your shower which I have asked our Maintenance Team to follow up on.

We look forward to the occasion when you next stay and we hope that your visit then will be as memorable as this one.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The Merrion, simply the best.

Staff , friendly and well trained.

A hotel of real class and elegance combined with old school charm, and character.
Bedrooms are beautifully appointed , with a breakfast worth getting up early for.
Stay at this hotel, it will not disappoint.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to stay and also enjoy our breakfast offering in The Cellar Restaurant.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were at the Merrion at the end of August this year. It had everything a hotel should have -- friendly people, great service, beautiful inside and out, and a great location. The interior was very nicely decorated, both in the rooms and the public areas. They have a wonderland breakfast in their Cellar restaurant.

No review of this hotel would be complete without mentioning the Art Tea. They have a beautiful tea service in the afternoon with sweet and savory items, all wonderful. Then for dessert (who knew there was dessert after tea?) they bring out three magnificent pastries. Each pastry is inspired by a piece of art in the hotel. It was amazing.

We had booked a regular room. We were upgraded to an amazing suite with a master bath. The suite had a very comfortable living room and a half bath. And there was a small for my son (15) to sleep on a rollaway bed.

Traveled with friends AND family. The site won't let me pick more than one category below.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dante709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review following your stay with us last August and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your visits to our Cellar Restaurant and Drawing Rooms.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We've been all over the world, and have to say this place has it all! From its central location to the friendliest nicest staff we ever experienced, this place cannot be beat. They deserve each of their five stars, and we'll def stay there any time we are in Dublin.
The rooms are lovely, large, and super quiet (a big bonus, considering you're right in the midst of everything). The breakfast was astonishingly great. And the entire staff deserves a "niceness" award...there wasn't a thing they wouldn't do for their guests (and they often went above-and-beyond). You just can't go wrong here...so just go!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maris1_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Both my colleagues and I found your kind words extremely encouraging, they speak for themselves really.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I recently got the most amazing spa treatment in Tethra Spa in the Merrion Hotel. It was the first time I've had a hot stones massage and I will most definitely be getting one again. I felt so relaxed and rejuvenated after the treatment. My therapist, Laura really tailored the massage to my needs and even spent time with me afterwards explaining the benefits of the hot stones and giving me tips and advice on my skin routine, various products, etc. I couldn't recommend this spa highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent treatment in our Tethra Spa.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and both Laura and I were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your experience.

I am glad that you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated and I only hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We only stayed for one night but the hotel has a wonderful ambience with extremely professional and helpful staff.

While it is pricey I still think it offers good value for money compared to other hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,947 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,973 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing