We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury executed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luxury executed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

On our second of three nights at the Merrion. My wife and I love it. Went to dinner at Patrick Guildaud (awesome in its own right) at 9:00 and turn down service still came; returned from dinner with a full ice box and water slippers, etc all set. Great location in upscale area with plenty of bars and shopping nearby. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently following you and your wife’s stay with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I was delighted you both enjoyed your stay.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,529
    363
    96
    32
    19
See reviews for
547
1,533
92
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ARMAGH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My Wife , 6month old daughter and myself stayed at the Merrion Hotel recently and received the most hospitable of welcomes. Everything was taken care of with great efficiency and decorum upon arrival and the amenities and the room were very impressive and sumptuous. The icing on the cake was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. All in all, a most enjoyable experience and wish to bring my family again. Top class hotel with hard working, friendly and very hospitable staff attending to any request with style and competence. Brilliant stay. I cant praise it enough. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caesar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your words are so kind and I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great boost. They all join me in thanking you for sharing your appreciation with us.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Thank you again for your encouraging words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Very elegant hotel - it's easy to miss if you're driving past/ unfamiliar with the area. The location is excellent, with the National Gallery (lovely!) and National Museum within a 10 minute walk. Trinity College on one side (do see the Book of Kells through a guided tour by a young student and visit the Buttery Cafe after, for a quick cup of tea and a bite), and the swish Grafton Street area are also within a 10-minute walk each.

Absolutely top-notch staff - Daniel on the Concierge desk and Mhairi at Reception are of particular note. Our room faced the beautiful garden, and was very comfortable. The staff is happy to advise you on travel, day-trips etc and will make all the arrangements. We were pointed towards excellent running trails, with maps to navigate the neighbourhood.

The Merrion has a notable art collection in case you don't have time for the National Gallery; two paintings by Jack B. Yeats (brother of W.B.) greet you in the foyer as soon as you enter the hotel. An enormous basket filled with logs sits just by to feed the fire which is indeed a welcome sight when you step in out of the cold. There are log fires in the very elegant drawing rooms too which obviously people could not resist while we were there. Personally, I loved the charcoal braziers outside next to the gardens where you could sit with a drink. Or two.

Didn't care for the breakfast, though it could be that I got there within 10 minutes of closing time. Which might explain the cheerful note from the manager advising patrons to enjoy an early breakfast the following day ! Staff at the Spa were helpful and that's what earns this hotel top marks from me: stellar staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhoopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at The Merrion and for your feedback.

I have shared your wonderful comments with all the team here who join me in thanking you; we are all genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosshaven, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We first started staying at The Merrion shortly after it opened and it remains out favourite hotel to visit when we want comfort, service, relaxation and class. Just superb in every way. Fab location, peaceful, almost hidden but right in the heart of Dublin. The staff are excellent, and indeed there are even a few left who remember us from the early days! In some ways, I loath writing a great review in order to keep the place a hidden secret, but then they deserve all the best!

Room Tip: Pay the extra few quid for a main house room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I am usually not a big fan of independent smaller hotels but must say The Merrion hits all the right notes.

Location wise you could not ask for better when in Dublin in a word "Unbeatable" situated right across from the grand and stately Parliament building with Merrion Square (great running paths), National Gallery, National Museum, Trinity college and the Grafton Street shopping district all within a few minutes’ walk from the hotel.

Stayed in a Junior suite in the main house and it was exquisitely furnished and appointed opulent being the only adjective to truly describe the overall feel and flow with the highlight being the sumptuous bathroom with separate bath and shower and all the extras, cosy bathrobes and bespoke Irish toiletries.

The public areas with log fires wonderful Irish fabrics and antiques and French windows offering nice views and access to the gardens are wonderful. With the most impressive aspect being the hotels private collection of exquisite art on site. Creating the atmosphere as if you are staying in one of Europe's great art galleries fitted to serve as a hotel.

The service, is exactly as one would expect, attentive and top-notch quiet and unobtrusive throughout the hotel from the excellent concierge in the lobby to turn-down service in the suites.

In hotel dining options match the standards of the hotel I ate at Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud (see my separate review), the only 2 starred Michelin restaurant in Ireland is on site. Breakfast is especially noteworthy with freshly baked goods, to superior buffet items to tempting breakfast items cooked to order.

To sum it up The Merrion is classy, elegant, and should be the accommodation of choice for any traveler when staying in the Irish capital.

I know it will be mine in all my future trips to Dublin.

Room Tip: One of the few hotels in the world where you should get out of your room and spend some time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us in such detail.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I was delighted to read that you had time to avail of the facilities here at the Hotel and that you enjoyed them so much.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you will have another memorable and relaxing stay with us. Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Business trips to Dublin have taken me to some pretty grim places. I finally decided to bite the bullet and book the Merrion. Booked a standard garden room street facing and could not have been happier. From the moment the taxi door was opened, to the point three days later when my departing taxi door was shut my experience was fantastic. There is complete consistency of staff, from reception, bar and waiting staff, to room service and those you pass in the corridors, they are all a delight. I loved the art collection....in fact whats not to love....bite the bullet and pay the extra euros to stay here, you will not regret it. Have no idea what those who reviewed poorly were on??? Thank you all, I will certainly be back. Would have been full points only the shower wall and grouting in particular could have done with closer attention.

Room Tip: I don't know if I got lucky but stayed I a standard garden room street facing, no noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your wonderful comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel and I have shared them with all my colleagues. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a stay as much as you did and I am glad you felt so warmly welcomed and that you plan on returning soon. Thank you also for your feedback about the tiling in your shower which I have asked our Maintenance Team to follow up on.

We look forward to the occasion when you next stay and we hope that your visit then will be as memorable as this one.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The Merrion, simply the best.

Staff , friendly and well trained.

A hotel of real class and elegance combined with old school charm, and character.
Bedrooms are beautifully appointed , with a breakfast worth getting up early for.
Stay at this hotel, it will not disappoint.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nialled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to stay and also enjoy our breakfast offering in The Cellar Restaurant.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,272 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing