We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Luxury for a Nice Price”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We would not have chosen the Merrion except for a winter deal offered on their website. We have stayed in 4-star hotels, but for this trip we were traveling lighter. Our room was very comfortable with plenty of space to relax and get through our jet lag. Our room overlooked an alley - but we weren't in our room much during the short days of winter. The free wifi was unexpected. We had an overpriced breakfast that we didn't repeat during our 4 night stay. We had a nice dinner followed by drinks in the bar on our last night - this experience was a much better value. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the location was fantastic and we had no street noise. I only made it to the gym once, but the facilities were more than adequate. We would return - knowing that we would have a reliable experience without the gotchas normally associated with luxury hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BallGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,155 - 2,161 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had a delightful 5 night stay at the Merrion this December. It is expensive for a vacation but we felt the location, ambiance and outstanding service was worth the cost. Prior to our trip, we had a number of email communications with the concierge team who were very helpful in making restaurant and tour reservations for us in advance. During our stay, we continued to rely on the staff for additional recommendations for activities and restaurant choices and their advice and help was outstanding. They clearly made us feel like our trip was their top priority and we never felt like we were competing with other guests for their attention.

I also have to mention that our dinner in the Cellar and afternoon tea in our room was delicious and again featured great service. In fact, every single person we dealt with from housekeeping to bellboys to desk staff was friendly, caring and professional.

We walked everywhere on our trip to Dublin and found this hotel was well situated for walking excursions.

Overall, we recognize that the Merrion is by no means a budget conscious choice for a hotel but we felt the experience was well worth the price and we would stay there again without any hesitation.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PatCT202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the online review of the hotel after your recent stay.

It goes without saying that we were genuinely delighted to read all the nice things you said about it.

Perhaps we will have the privilege of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and with that in mind, if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

In the meantime and once again, thank you very much and I hope you have a great Christmas.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed at The Merrion for 4 nights in November and had a wonderful time.
All member of staff were very attentive and friendly, especially Sarah from room service who took such great care of me! When she heard on the phone I had a cold: she brought me some cloves and honey, a delightful person!
As I was alone on business I used room service a lot, food was excellent and delivered in a very timely manner.
Had dinner at the bar once also which was perfect.
Our meeting rooms was very cosy and our breaks were just delightful.
I really hope that my company will send me again to the Merrion.
And also a wonderful location and very knowledgeable Concierge and super friendly bell boys!
Thank you!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TitAnnick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the online review of the hotel after your recent stay.

Thank you in particular for all your kind comments, not least for room service and we all hope that your cold has improved.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back at some point in the not too distant future. In the meantime, I hope you have a lovely Christmas.

Once again, many thanks.

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel was wonderful with warm friendly staff which made our weekend very special. The NO23 bar is excellent with a extensive choice of drinks. The location of the hotel is perfect for shopping and eating out.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post an online review after your recent stay.

I was delighted to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your anniversary celebrations here and hope that we will have the privilege of having you celebrate many more.

I hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Having read all the reviews I was expecting something special along the lines of Dromolond or the Cliff House etc.
To summarise it is just a standard hotel with alot if pomp.
Rooms are very plain, disappointingly so.
Hotel staff are good.
Bar staff are not, to the point of being rude and incompetent.

In summary it is in no way a special destination and I could only recommend it as a typical over night hotel from my experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank petermulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post an online review after your recent stay.

I was very sorry to read how disappointed you were with the hotel. I was pleased to read that the hotel staff were good but concerned to read that parts of it were not. If there are further details you would like to share with me, I would be delighted to hear from you and I can be contacted directly at the hotel at generalmanager@merrionhotel.com

I hope the experience will not deter you from revisiting us in the future and I hope that you have a happy and peaceful Christmas.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Really enjoyed my short stay at the Merrion. The hotel is classy and comfortable and is well located. The hotel is very clean and quiet and seems a popular spot for morning or tea-time business meetings. The staff was very courteous and professional. My room was really clean, quiet and comfortable and the hotel gardens are beautiful. It caters to the business traveler and somewhat of an older clientele. Everything about my stay was top notch and I will try to stay here again on my next visit to Dublin.

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebibond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the review after your recent stay.

Thank you also for all the very kind comments therein.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are travelling back this way, as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I just had my 3rd stayed at this fantastic hotel during the last years. It is a " must "to stay there if you have tried it once. Superb service, always smiling staff, nice rooms, great morning swimming in the pool and enjoyable and luxurious treatments in the spa. And of course the Afternoon Tea in front of the open fire. This time we had not booked before arrival and could not get a table during our 3 days stay. It was because Christmas coming up. So remember to book your Afternoon tea, a " must " as well. Looking forward to the next stay at The Merrion Hotel, we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the review after your recent stay.

I was delighted to read that it was your third time to stay with and all your kind comments about my colleagues are greatly appreciated.

I am sorry that we could not get a table for you for afternoon tea when you were here. We will do our best to ensure that that does not happen again.

We hope to welcome you back soon and in the meantime have a great Christmas.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,189 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £214 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing