We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, superb service, huge bathrooms!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and could not have been more pleased. Although it has an unassuming entrance, inside is lovely. Our room was cheerful and the bathroom was frankly the largest we have encountered in European hotels, as well as nicely appointed. Dublin in January was chilly but the common areas of the hotel all had lovely warming fires burning throughout the day and night. Service was impeccable - waitstaff in the bars and downstairs restaurant were friendly and helpful. The doormen were very knowledgeable. The hotel location can't be beat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerLilyBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,079 - 2,085 of 3,449 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel last week after a long haul flight. We were exhausted, but we got an early check in. What a luxury!!! We have stayed here several times before including the night before our sons wedding so we knew what to expect but this time surpassed our expectations. Thank you to the Merrion Hotel for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following you recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your generous comments about the Hotel and I have shared them with all my colleagues. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a stay as much as you did.

We are honoured to be your hotel of choice when visiting Dublin and I hope it won’t be too long before we have the opportunity and the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is by far the best hotel in Dublin, the Conceirge, Reception and Restaurant Staff are truely a pleasure to deal with. They are so professional, couteous and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will be back. The food was exceptional, everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel throughout your stay. Your words are so kind and I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great boost. They all join me in thanking you for sharing your appreciation with us.

I do hope that it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Merrion.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just spent another fabulous weekend at Merrion. My husband and I make an annual trip to this hotel and we are never disappointed. The staff are outstanding and the hotel itself gorgeous. Nothing is left to chance and all staff go out of their way to be helpful. We look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share you and your husband’s experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed at The Merrion as a surprise for my significant birthday and I was certainly not disappointed! We did a few laps of St Stephens green before we found the very understated hotel but when we realised we had arrived we were greeted by a very calm gentleman who took over everything and our perfect stay began. The room was charming - we were overlooking the gardens. As it was a special birthday I received champagne, chocolates and cake - all lovely ! We ate in the 2 Mitchelin star restaurant which was lovely - we had the tasting menu - fantastic !

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulsteron2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and honoured that your partner chose the Merrion to celebrate your birthday.

I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I recently visited Dublin for a Saturday night to visit and have a nice meal, as it was January the weather was not good but I stayed in The Merrion Hotel in Dublin which was excellent. The rooms are very well equipped and all the facilities are there that you need. it is not cheap but it is a 5 star hotel and you are probably better off getting a suite for a family than as a single person like myself. Good bars in the hotel and a lovely pool spa etc so would be good for a few days visit if you have the time.

Room Tip: Annex was quiet where I stayed in a Standard Queen Room as they called it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review posted recently.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your visit to us here at The Merrion and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This is one of those prestigous, quiet properties with lovely, well-furnished rooms that says "old world luxury" from the first stop at reception. Rooms with all the bath & bed accoutrements, spoiling you. Library and fireplace rooms perfect for tea and reading. Wonderful pool - however, the spa needs updating. It is feeling tired compared to other more updated properties in Dublin. A wonderful splurge that is quite pricey but worth it for a getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soul_Encounters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us which I was pleased to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for the feedback about the Tethra Spa which is currently under review.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,160 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £216 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing