We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day treat”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mother's Day treat”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband treated myself and daughter to a night here while up Dublin at a concert. I cannot say enough about the attention, politeness and taking care of you from the moment you step out of your taxi or car. Every member of staff could not do enough for you and everyone of them looked pleased to be seeing to your every need. We ate in the restaurant and the quality of the food was excellent. Cannot wait for a return visit. Also as it was a mothers day treat they upgraded us to a suite - a little bit of heaven in Dublin

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewht40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at The Merrion.

We are all genuinely delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay so much and I do hope that you enjoyed the concert.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,696
    389
    102
    35
    22
See reviews for
590
1,633
103
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our second stay at The Merrion and as returning guests we knew what to expect and were certainly not disappointed.

From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were efficient and friendly, yet always professional. We were fortunate to stay in the most amazing room (392) overlooking the Irish Government buildings on the third floor. The swim in theTethra Spa pool, the delightful afternoon tea and the Champagne in our room all added to a most magical and relaxing stay. Breakfast (full Irish of course) in our room on Sunday morning which was delivered on it's own table was just heavenly.

We have decided after staying at many fine hotels that The Merrion is by far in a class of its own and we can't wait to return (although next time, it will be for at least 2 nights as we just didn't want to leave).

If you are looking for the perfect romantic escape, then The Merrion is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatandSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the Tethra Spa and our Art Afternoon Tea. I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you.

We are truly honored that think so highly of the Merrion I do hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Sixth stay here. Used to come for glamorous breaks with boyfriend/ fiancée and now we return with our young children. Used to drink champagne until the small hours in the bar, now we are in bed asleep after an in-room movie. The only hotel I have ever stayed in that caters for everyone in a professional and seamless manner. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and we are honored that the Merrion is your hotel of choice in Dublin and it is so lovely to read how you return to the Merrion throughout different stages of your life.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Merrion and I just hope it is not too long before you return.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful stay again at the merrion. Understated opulence with wonderful staff. All the staff can't do enough for you to make your stay special.

You really do feel like you are staying at your home in Dublin.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Watties2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for a birthday treat,what a treat it turned out to be.Staff who do it as it should be done without exception,evening meal in the Cellar restaurant which would rival any of the best in Ireland (a hidden gem).Room was luxurious and well appointed,with a box of chocs and bottle of Baileys compliments of management as a birthday gift.The treatments in the Spa are magnificent and delivered with understated elegance,the Spa itself is a little on the small side and needs an enlarged thermal suite but this is only nitpicking as you don't stay in citycentre hotels for the Spa.Pricewise it is at the upper end of the scale but if you feel you're worth it the Merrion won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Get a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience in the Cellar Restaurant and also the treatments in our Tethra Spa.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed for one night only and whilst this hotel is at the top end of the price scale, the staff made such a difference. From the barman in the 24 hour bar, to the ladies on reception, to the doormen and car parking valets, every member of staff was fabulous. Nothing was ever too much trouble. If it was raining we got handed a brolly on the way out the door, if we needed the car brought around to the front of the hotel, it appeared. The staff are what makes this a charming experience - many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevescnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. We are all genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon and I only hope that stay is as enjoyable as your last.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Two couples met here for a night away. We availed of the hotels great 7 star steal offer and enjoyed B & B and a magnificent tasting menu in the infamous Patrick Guilbauds restaurant. A bottle of Mumm Champagne awaited us on arrival and we left with the Sunday newspapers. Such a wonderful art collection...outstanding! The location of the hotel in the heart of Dublin caps it all off. We toured the Taoiseachs office and Cabinet room on the Saturday morning, which is right across the street from the Hotel. An amazing break that left us all feeing refreshed and looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: We mentioned we were celebrating a birthday and there was a decorated dessert left in our room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret17294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our Art Collection which is always a favorite of our guests. I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon too!

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing