We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly good service”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mainly good service”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a good hotel in a great location. The service from concierge, reception and the lounge area is excellent. We have stayed here before and enjoyed it just as much then. The only issue (still) is the Cellar Bar where we waited ages to get served. Not great when you have just arrived from the airport with 2 hungry teenagers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanjaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your feedback about the Cellar Bar.

I would be grateful if you would contact me directly on generalmanager@merrionhotel.com to elaborate more on the delayed service in the Cellar Bar so we can address the issue and prevent it from re-occurring.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you,

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,703
    390
    102
    35
    22
See reviews for
591
1,635
104
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently spent a night in the gorgeous Merrion Hotel and had a really lovely time. We had lunch in The Cellar bar which was very nice and reasonably priced. Our room was beautiful and there were some lovely, unexpected touches when we arrived in our room. Dinner in the Cellar restaurant was delicious with a wide selection on the menu. The wine suggestions were very helpful and the overall atmosphere and surroundings were very pleasant. Breakfast was also very enjoyable with a wide selection to choose from. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house have a lovely view over Government buildings on Merrion Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinGurl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your visits to our Cellar Bar and Cellar Restaurant which are always a favourite of our guests.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon too!

Thank you again for your kind words, they truly mean a lot to us all and we appreciate you sharing them with us.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Every time I stay at The Merrion, I feel like home, great location, ambience, service, and above all a discrete environment. The feeling is like being in Pole Position. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to all my Special friends and contacts, cause is a Special place.

Room Tip: Garden Wing for a special experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Costa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a lovely, classy, and very elegant hotel situated on a quiet street in the center of Dublin. During a 2 week trip to Ireland with another couple, we spent several days at The Merrion on both ends of our trip. The staff is friendly, helpful, and makes the experience wonderful. We loved the hotel so much that we returned early from other parts of Ireland to stay there. The bar is wonderful and through Stuart, we had lessons on Irish Whisky. Staff recommendations for restaurants were great although the hotel restaurant is very good also. We had a delicious breakfast every morning sitting in front of a fireplace. This is a quiet, lovely hotel with large modern (marble) bathrooms and very comfortable surroundings. Our friend used the spa facilities and said they were very good. Would have written this review earlier but we returned home to family illness. We are planning to stay at The Merrion as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked an inside garden and this was a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoTravelersOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the absolutely fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team and facilities here at The Merrion. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I was delighted to read how you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and I do hope that your family member has recovered fully from illness.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Came in from birr monday night by train good doorman bellman concierge and housekeeping constant internet problems wait staff slow and four star not five hotel is overpriced for what it is
But front desk and concierge five star
Bateso

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bateso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Have just returned from another short stay with my wife at The Merrion. The whole experience was first class. A three course dinner and breakfast were included in the package and these were excellent. On arrival at the room a cheesecake with a 'Happy Birthday' written in chocolate were waiting for us. This accompanied by the fact that the duty manager Mr Murphy went out of his way to introduce himself on the morning of our departure, congratulate me on my birthday and ask us all about our stay just indicates that extra mile that the hotel goes. A special thank you to the Cellar Bar manager who sorted us out with cocktails (also included in the package) even though my 'retro' request wasn't on the menu! Wouldn't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesR_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently following you and your wife’s recent stay and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with Brian Murphy and the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I am glad that you enjoyed the Cocktails in the Cellar Bar.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again for another memorable stay.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at The Merrion. What a wonderful gem of a hotel. Excellent location, central to everything and practically next to the lovely St Stephens Green. The welcome on arrival is very warm and friendly and the receptionist personally escorts you to your room. All the public rooms and bedrooms are beautiful, with every home comfort. Fantastic mini bar, outstanding room service menu (24 hours) complimentary mineral water which is topped up throughout the day. Evening turn down service with even more mineral water etc. the hotel was recommended by a friend who stays here and now I know why.
We enjoyed afternoon tea, two courses, the second course being 'The Art Tea' which is just wonderful. The chef creates 3 pastries based on a choice of 3 pieces of the hotels private art collection. The waitress asked if we were celebrating anything resulting in complimentary champagne and a personalised 'happy birthday' plate being given as it was my wife's birthday. Very nice touch. ( we had also received a beautiful desert 'happy birthday' plate brought to our room, on arrival) Most definitely spoiled !

We didn't leave the hotel much as we enjoyed the lovely surroundings so much and felt very relaxed there. Beautiful pool and spa area, we enjoyed two fantastic cooked breakfasts and dinner in the Cellar restaurant and drinks in the cellar bar. The hotel is immaculate and very well maintained. There is also a lovely garden terrace.

The thing that stands out most about The Merrion, is it's staff. They are so very friendly, pleasant and helpful in a professional and discreet manner. Nothing is too much trouble. They are exceptional and most certainly play a major role in making this hotel such an enjoyable place to stay in Dublin. We will most definitely recommend The Merrion Hotel to friends and family and hope to return again soon.
Thank you all for a wonderful stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephenrodgers119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the absolutely fantastic review following your recent stay with us which I was pleased to read.

My colleagues and I were delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your words are so kind and I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great lift.

We are genuinely honoured that you chose the Merrion to celebrate your wife’s birthday and I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,890 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,906 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing