We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in perfect location!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Merrion! Called and booked 2 rooms directly with the hotel and the receptionist was very pleasant and friendly. Took no time at all and a confirmation email was sent to us immediately. Better price than the Westbury, Westin, and other hotels so it was an easy decision. The location is absolutely perfect, and the hotel is stunning. Staff was very welcoming, helpful, and accommodating. Had delicious afternoon tea in front of the fire. Our rooms were well-appointed and immaculate, though the blankets were a little thin. We had a very good dinner in the Cellar and drinks at the Cellar Bar. O'Donoghue's right around the corner was our favorite pub in Dublin. Would definitely stay at the Merrion again and recommend it to family and friends! Perfect place to end our Ireland adventure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed our Art Afternoon Tea which is always a favourite of our guests.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you have another memorable stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,097 - 2,103 of 3,569 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed in numerous hotels in Dublin when on business, this time I was booked into the Merrion.

A very unassuming frontage belies the large efficient friendly and comfortable hotel that is the Merrion. Spread across numerous properties around a block in Dublin centre, but the ability to move inside the hotel makes this all seamless.

Warm welcome taken to the room and shown what one needed to know, the standard great, even a Bose Wave sound system - perfection.

We ate out that evening so I only sampled the food at breakfast where the welcome was very friendly and the service outstanding good explanation fast and nothing too much trouble.

Check out was a breeze despite being busy around half past eight.

One regret with my stay - it was only one night!

Room Tip: Any room would be good, I had one on the third floor at the bank overlooking the garden - out sandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit to The Merrion.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again for a longer stay and enjoy more of the facilities on offer here at The Merrion.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Only here for one night, but we loved it. We were upgraded (always a nice feeling). The room looked over the garden and was wonderfully quiet. Bed was very comfortable, and huge bathroom. The public rooms are lovely, and a great place for a quiet drink or pot of tea.

The best thing, though, would be the staff - they are solicitous while being warm and friendly.

I am so looking forward to a longer stay...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Feline_charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent stay with us which I was pleased to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Every one of my colleagues’ endeavour’s to provide our guests with as comfortable a stay as possible and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable time.

I am delighted that you are looking forward to a longer stay and we are looking forward to the privilege of welcoming you back.

Thank you again for your kind words,

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I'm Irish but now live abroad but visit Dublin a lot. I had never stayed in the Merrion and usually stay in the Shelbourne or the Fitzwilliam. To be honest it didn't live up to the glowing reviews here. Check in was very nice. Room was ok - faced a brick wall and some sort of gym. Common areas - eg around the lifts etc. are a bit shabby. Pool nice but small and the gym area was full of locals early in the morning. The hotel seems to sell gym memberships to the public. Breakfast was ok. I was in a hurry which I explained to the staff and they did serve me very rapidly.

Service in the lounge area was appalling on the other hand. each time I asked for a glass of wine it took about 20 mins to arrive. The place was not exactly packed.

The service was very good overall but I really don't understand the rave reviews of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lawchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, which I was disappointed to read.
Firstly, with regards to the room type, we have many different room types available, some of our rooms have city views and others look over our gardens so it may have been that you were in a room with a view of the city. I am pleased to advise you that we are approaching the end of a refurbishment programme within the hotel and all public areas shall be reviewed in due course.

With regards to the Tethra Spa we do have public membership available for our external guests of The Merrion but I can assure you that it is very limited as the comfort of our Hotel residents is always to the forefront of our minds.

I was concerned to read your feedback regarding the service you received in our Drawing Rooms and I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at generalmanager@merrionhotel.com to elaborate on the issues you had so we can prevent them from reoccurring.

I am glad that you enjoyed the overall service in The Merrion and I do look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I took a belated honeymoon to Ireland and spent our first night at the Merrion Hotel. They upgraded us to a suite and we got five star treatment the whole time we were there. The room was amazing - it was so beautiful (and clean). The service was great with one of the managers coming to greet us when we arrived. We got one of the hotel packages, which included champagne on arrival and dinner at the Cellar Restaurant. I think the only negative would be that the restaurant's food was probably a four out of five (my beef carpaccio was a bit bland. It could have had some parmesan cheese or be a bit more salty), but the breakfast there the next morning was also amazing! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanuckKiwi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are truly honoured that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the feedback which I have taken on board.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon, possibly to celebrate your 1st anniversary!

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Unfortunately, we had to check out today. The Merrion Hotel, it's staff, it's rooms, it's character, it's experience, it's warmth, it's style - all 5 star.

We live in Dublin, and checked in for one night for a special occasion. We enjoyed the hotel so much, we booked for a second night the next day - and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahnwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you.

I am delighted that you decided to extend your stay with us. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and you have as an enjoyable stay as the last.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for a week in January on my own. A truly wonderful hotel.

check-in quick and easy. polite if not quite 'friendly' staff generally. Rate was very good.

Had a room in the new part of the hotel just about overlooking the garden. was a bit dark as in a corner on ground floor. but it was winter too. room itself was in Excellent condition. Great amenities, tons of towels comfy bed, nice shower. TV was fine though tended to turn itself off sometimes. wifi was ok. can't remember if included or not. breakfast was excellent, but did get busy on the weekend (which, to be fair, they warned guests about which was a nice touch). lovely sitting areas with fires and amazing art collection. had club sandwich in lobby bar/area - was fine but bit pricey. downstairs in the Cellar bar was ok but with so many 'real' irish pubs near by you'd be bonkers to be down there for too long/often.

location excellent. minutes from most of the sites, restaurants, pubs and shopping. taxi's always going past. staff at front door were pleasant and helpful.

only small thing is i don't think its terribly child friendly (like under-10s). its an adult hotel, quite quiet and reserved and lots of steps etc. if you want somewhere for that, Four Seasons is much better equipped in my opinion.

but overall, one of the best hotels i've stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WharfTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and you found the location convenient.
We welcome guests of all ages and please accept my apologies if you felt that we were not child friendly as this was most definitely not our intention. We do love to welcome younger guests and we have special children's amenities, including our Miss and Master Programme with cutlery designed especially for our younger guests.

I do hope that you shall return to the Merrion in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,709 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £216 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing