We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel in great location with Amazing Staff”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel in great location with Amazing Staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had one night in Dublin and so checked into the Merrion. What a fantastic welcome, we also got upgraded room. The room was great (and bathroom) staff superb, and the cocktails excellent. It was so good that we checked back in again 2 days later!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LammyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. Your feedback is extremely heartening , very encouraging and we are honoured that you chose to check back in again with us two days later!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,735
    393
    104
    36
    22
See reviews for
600
1,658
103
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was our best experience in Dublin. Beautiful lobby, tea rooms, and breathtaking outdoor gardens were only the beginning. The rooms were tastefully decorated with colorful pastels and had elegant bathrooms. They were also very quiet and comfortable after busy days.
The pool and exercise areas were fragrant, clean and provided extra amenities like hot tea and fresh fruit. The bar and one of the restaurants that we used within the hotel were very pleasant. The great service, guidance and attention to details made it like a dream. We had some trouble getting reservations, but our overall enjoyment was beyond what we expected. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room with a view of the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Another fantastic stay at The Merrion. The service and atmosphere is world class. Cannot beat the convenient yet quiet location near St Stephens Green. Staff were very helpful with email queries before our arrival. My wife loves the elegant rooms in the Main House. Be sure to have the breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armstrongscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Title says it all - well located , high quality service and superior product - luxurious and quite old world meets new world glamour.
I can't fault a thing with this hotel - we were in Dublin for a wedding at a hotel around the corner and decided to stay here to be away from the wedding madness and what a good decision. This has to be in my experience the absolute and unquestionablly BEST hotel in Dublin.
The room is very elegantly services and while our room was not huge the space was very well allocated. The accessories in the room from toiletries to slippers to bathrobes were all of a very high quality but it's the small things that really impressed the most. A can of starch with the ironing board - simple and genius , a tall shoehorn - much better.
My only regret was not doing the walk around the hotel on the first and not the last day as I may have both ahead a dri in the basement bar and even gone for a swim if only I had known.
The only negative , and I do realise its a different market of us visitor and business people in the foyer but the price of a coffee and muffin seas more than as little excessive there ..... I went to th delightful corner cafe and had take out instead
Otherwise delightful and I will be back

If this helps click 'helpful' :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the absolutely wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us so comprehensively.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments. I must say it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did and thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post it; we all greatly appreciate it. Your words are extremely encouraging and have given the entire team a big boost.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As soon as we walked into the Merrion my partner and I were made to feel like royalty. I'm not the type of person to want to stay at such a fancy place but we decided to treat ourselves on our one night in Dublin and we are so glad we did. The hotel is perfect in every way. Our room was grand and comfortable. The bathroom was draped in marble. The bed had the most comfortable mattress and linen. The hotel has lovely gardens where you can enjoy some high tea. And the best part is the art collection throughout the hotel. Painting after painting was historic and inspired. The Georgian building sits in front of the Irish Parliamient Buildings and the area is really chic. There are amazing pubs and coffee shops within walking distance to grab a Guinness or some local fare. The spa also was quite lovely.....small but lovely. But the stars of the Merrion were the individuals that run it from the spa attendant to the concierge. The level of service was incredible. It's a very pricey experience but even if you can go for just one night I would recommend it. The historic buidling and area are simply brilliant!!!!

Room Tip: Have some tea in the gardens or find 30 minutes to walk the hotel and take in the amazing art collec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanquerochicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at The Merrion and for your feedback.

I have shared your wonderful comments with all the team here who join me in thanking you. We are all genuinely delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The gardens and afternoon tea were our favorite aspects of this hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room was a nice size, especially for European standards. The bathroom had heated floors and towel rack, with great amenities.

The staff is very accommodating and professional.

We appreciated that it was on a fairly quiet street for peaceful sleeping, but close enough to walk to all the shopping areas along Grafton Street, as well as the Temple Bar area and museums. The tour buses are all available just a few blocks from the hotel.

Wifi was great (and free) in the room and public areas - and even worked well in the outside garden!

We recommend the location for couples, families and also noticed a lot of business people in the hotel as well, enjoying meetings while at afternoon tea.

Room Tip: We did arrange for a garden view room, and had a view of an alley instead - the only disappointment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your recent visit to Dublin.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your visits to all the sites in Dublin. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon and when that occasion presents itself we will be sure to note your preference for a Garden View and we have noted accordingly on your profile.

Thank you again for kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We only stayed one night in the Merrion, and enjoyed it very much. The welcome from reception and efficiency of checking in was excellent. Our room was upgraded and we were very happy with the room and the bathroom. Our whole experience was positive and I can recommend it very highly. Hope to stay again should we return to Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us here at The Merrion.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted to read that you plan on returning to stay with us in the near future. I only hope that stay then is as memorable as your last.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,947 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,972 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing