We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star start to finish”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 Star start to finish”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I recently stayed here with a group of old friends who were meeting up for a mini reunion from all over Ireland and abroad. We wanted to treat ourselves a little and be close to city centre restaurants and bars. It was my second time visiting the Merrion and I'm happy to say it was every bit as good as I remembered. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. When our numbers changed to include an extra friend, a cot was provided without fuss. The very spacious bedrooms are bright, airy and meticulously kept. We very much enjoyed the swimming pool and cocktails on the terrace. My only(minor) criticisms are that the layout is a little awkward to navigate, particularly when tying to find the pool from the main hotel area and that the selection of beers on the bar menu is limited and uninspired (one of our group is a beer nut and was disappointed that only the usual susoects were on offer). Otherwise, a real five star experience in the heart of the city

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nl2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your feedback on the selection of beer we offer here at the hotel, please be advised that we offer a craft beer selection, both draught and bottled, in our Cellar Bar along with other main stream brands. Our cocktail bar No. 23 offers a more limited selection of beer given the emphasis on cocktails and spirits there.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to stay with us soon and if I can be of any assistance in that regard please do not hesitate to contact me directly. In the meantime, thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,702
    390
    102
    35
    22
See reviews for
591
1,635
104
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great European charm in a lovely hotel. Great location to sights, music, restaurants, shopping and the hop on hop off bus. Loved the room and big bathroom. Cozy sheets and comforter. Very comfortable hotel with a Michelin starred restaurant.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a side street, so it's not as noisy as some. I had a room in the back and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jawtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The service was 5 star from start to finish. It was an excellent way to finish our girls weekend as we were made feel extra special! The food and cocktails were delicious but the extra mile the staff went was really what made the experience, especially our waiter phil. He was friendly and helpful and we were never left waiting or looking for help as he was there on hand at just the right times. Finishing touches such as iced strawberries for our prosecco and over all presentation and service was just perfection. A really enjoyable experience...we were made feel like valued customers and really made our weekend! Special thanks to Phil.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to our Cellar Bar for brunch.

I was delighted to read your wonderful feedback and I have shared your comments with all of my colleagues including Philip who was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much . It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys their experience as much as you did and I am glad you felt so warmly welcomed.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back again in the near future

Thanks again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at The Merrion on on a Saturday in July, the hotel is great from the time you meet the front door staff to being checked in, we a had a king room in the Garden wing, the room was a great size and truly a 5 star room. The hotel itself is immiculate and the decor is great, the gardens are worth a short explore. We didnt try the health suit so we cant comment. The only downside is Breakfast, when we booked we wernt given the option to include it in the rate, we knew the cost €29! per person however expected something special at that cost, breakfast is served in the cellar (not the prettiest part of the hotel), we were sat at our table and the server was more interested in pointing out the cost than anything else, she was fairly abrupt which set the tone, we both order full irish as we were hungry, full irish arrived, it is the first time that I have seen 1 sausage, 1 piece of bacon, 1/2 a mushroom, 1/2 a tomatoe, a piece of some sort of bread, and two poaced eggs called a breakfast, it wouldnt have filled a child. The eggs tasted of nothing and my wife wouldnt eat hers and asked for scrambled egg, they didnt take the plate away they left the poaced eggs which wernt wanted and brought a side plate with scrambled eggs (which my wife said were nice), a man asked if everything was ok with Breakfast, I commented on the size of Breakfast however that was that. When we returned to our room we had a knock and two staff brought in coffee and buckfizz, it was 10 in the morning so we had the coffee.I would have preferred not to be charged for Breakfast however that clearly wasnt an option. We checked out and again the staff were atentive. Overall a great hotel however please avoid the breakfast as it dosnt fit to the rest of the hotel experience.

Room Tip: Dont buy water in Hotel before you retire for the evening as the turndown service provides this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean67c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your experience at breakfast in our Cellar Restaurant which I was disappointed to read. It is very apparent that you did not receive our usual levels of attention and care and for this I would like to apologise. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager along with our Executive Chef and they join me in hoping that we will have the opportunity of restoring your faith in the breakfast experience at some point in the future.

I am glad that on the whole you had an enjoyable experience and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and again I hope that it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquard, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Merrion was an absolute bliss to stay at.
We travelled with an 8 week old infant , and our every need was taken care off.
Attention to detail, is what the Merrion is all about. We arrived to a room with a
baby crib, a baby gown as well as an entire baby range of toiletries.
The staff are incredible and were empathetic to us as young parents.
The Patrick Guilbaud was also exceptional, with service and quality of food worth their Michelin stars.
One of the best hotel experiences we have encounterd on a global scale.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashankPillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the absolutely fantastic review following you and your family’s recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read you lovely comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel. I have shared your feedback with my colleagues and they are very pleased that you appreciated their attentive care so much.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again and that your visit then will be as memorable as the last.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The understated elegance of Georgian Dublin still survives at the Merrion Hotel. Standards of service are simply outstanding from the smallest detail of room service to the wonderful Art Tea (an absolute must). What a pleasure it is to see the simply outstanding collection of Irish art spaced around the hotel along with historical artifacts and photos. Take a stroll in the lovely garden and pay your respects to the James Joyce statue before venturing out into the Georgian surrounds that await you.

As others have noted the rooms provide for an outstandingly omfortable stay. Everything one is likely to need is provided to ensure guest comfort.

The hotel has a connecting door to the wonderful Michelin two star Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud' (see separate review) but as all great hotels the residents bar is able to provide excellent bar food for hours after a return from a night discovering th city.

Our only negative was the standard of breakfast provided. Not nearly as good as we had experienced in other Hotels in Ireland. Hot Irish breakfast plates were placed on our table while we were still eating our cereal and the fried breakfast was very disappointing in comparison with far cheaper establishments.

Overall the Merrion is clearly a five-star experience and Dublins finest hotel. We would have no hesitation in staying there again. We would however take breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you can afford to stay at The Merrion have no fear as you are guaranteed a superb room and truly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azeuro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review posted recently and for your detailed feedback.

Thank you for the feedback about your experience in the Cellar Restaurant at breakfast, we are continually striving to improve on our guest experience and the amenities and services we offer and your feedback is vital so as to maintain this. We listen to our guests and I want to apologise to you for the shortcomings you experienced which I have shared with the relevant management here at the Hotel.

However, I am very pleased that your stay with us was a memorable one and both my colleagues and I appreciate your very kind comments which are very encouraging indeed.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you're looking for a great hotel in Dublin, this is the place!!!! The service is spectacular. The rooms are comfortable. A/C works great, free WiFi. The restaurants are great. The spa is great. It is centrally located to great food, pubs and shops. Trust me, this is a hotel you want to stay at!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLSMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, Director of Sales at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Garrett Power
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,899 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing