We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Dublin”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Correns, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Dublin”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have been lucky enough over the years to stay at The Merrion Hotel, Dublin, Ireland on a few occasions and in my opinion, it is the best hotel in town. The location, style, ambiance, staff and the food is absolutely superb .... can't wait for my next luxury trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your really nice review and thank you for your support over the years. It’s greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again, sooner rather than later!

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,660
    378
    100
    34
    20
See reviews for
578
1,609
101
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This beautiful facility is well located and beautifully furnished. If you are not comfortable in more formal surroundings, you might choose a different hotel. The rooms are beautiful, the bar is wonderful and the breakfast is outstanding. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all the wonderful things you said about the Hotel and the service whilst you visited here last week. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greystones
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for my wife's birthday.I bought a package that included dinner and breakfast in the cellar restaurant.I wouldn't normally spend that amount of coin on a night away but seeing it was a special occasion I went for it.Can't fault the place.Best hotel I've ever stayed in.The meals were extraordinary.5 star bliss.Will definitely return.Worth every penny

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _jfitzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

So glad the birthday treat for your wife was a success. Thank you very much for sharing your experience online. I hope we don’t have to wait a whole year before seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

From the time my wife and I arrived, the staff at the Merrion were friendly, attentive, accommodating, and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better experience our first night in Ireland. If we return to Dublin, this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We were so pleased that you and your wife chose us and hope that we will get to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely nights stay in the Merrion! From start to finish I couldn't pick a fault! All the staff were so attentive and helpful. The hotel very kindly upgraded us to a junior suite in the main house! Wow! It was fantastic lovely bathroom and massive bed! Breakfast was delicious.

Can't wait to return to the Merrion again soon!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SLR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Hotel. In particular I was glad to read that you enjoyed the upgrade as we have just refurbished all of our Junior Suites. You’d never know your luck when you come back! I hope that is soon.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed 2 days - my wife and 2 daughters - in this tasteful hotel.
Interconnecting beautiful rooms with a view on the parterre garden were perfect.
We had delicious snacks on the garden terrace while the elegant drawing rooms with antique furniture and quality art works are ideal for Art Afternoon Tea near the open log fires.
Outstanding food .Very kind staff.
We loved everything about the Merrion.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our rooms and the view on the parterre garden .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was lovely to read how much you and your family enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews. We greatly appreciate you taking time to do this, hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed at. From the warm welcome from every member of the friendly staff to the immaculate, well equipped rooms, everything was 'just right'. Superb location within a short walk of major attractions. The free WiFi a welcome change from the pettiness of many supposedly top hotel groups who charge for this now essential service. Sorry to check-out and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words on Trip Advisor last week. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope you get to come back soon. You will be pleased to hear that we are investing even more in our Wi-Fi facilities as well.

Kind regards,

Peter MacCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,834 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,800 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing