We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seven star steal”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“seven star steal”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

There was a special offer for B&B in this 5 star hotel with a surprise 4 (really 6 or 7) course tasting menu in the attached 2 Michelin star Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud. The hotel was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful without ever seeming fawning. The pool and gym were excellent and the spa looked good, as was breakfast. The meal in the restaurant was superb, perfect service from knowledgeable staff, the Maître d' checked if we had allergies or dislikes before the meal, as it would be a surprise, and other people on the same package got different meals, so it was quite individual and the highest quality.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,663
    380
    100
    34
    20
See reviews for
578
1,611
101
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rep Of Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Having stayed in many quality hotels around the globe, The Merrion is definitely up there with the best.The staff were nothing short of excellent and their attention to detail was second to none.It would be difficult not to stay at The Merrion on any other visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I just loved everything about this hotel. The Doorman was so lovely and sweet throughout our stay and all the staff were really brilliant. We had a room overlooking the garden and it was hard to leave it after the 3 days. We ate in the downstairs restaurant - The Cellar which has really cool vaulted ceilings and the wine bar next door still has the original stone work which I love. The food was fantastic and I couldn't get over the prices, it was so cheap! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SastaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I have nothing but good things to say about The Merrion, it was excellent. We travelled with our 22 month-old daughter and the touches the added for her made me a fan forever. There was a tiny robe and slippers for her in the wardrobe as well as a range of baby toiletries and a beautiful cot made up for her. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The bed was enormous and our room overlooked the gardens. Finally, breakfast was delicious. We'll definitely stay there again, loved it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trp_advsr_mmbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Lovely hotel and fantastic service in the centre of Dublin. Great hotel for a weekend break or business in the city, quite pricy but worth it for the quality

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We know now the Merrion Hotel Dublin for years and it is always a pleasure to visit this superb Leading Hotel of the World. This time around we had a invitation to the Leading Hotels of the World Showcase of fine Hotels from Europe and Africa. The Showcase was presented to Leaders Club Members only and was held in Nr. 24 of the Merrion Hotel - this is the Ballroom section of the hotel. We have met with representatives from many Member Hotels incl. the Puente Romano in Marbella, The Gleneagles in Scotland, via the Halkin in London ( see our review from our stay at the Halkin in April 2009 here at Tripadvisor - see our profile ) to the Royal Mansour and the superb Westbury Hotel Dublin ( newly renovated at it' s best! ) and many other hotels to tend to at this very special event. We had the pleasure to be greeted by the Leading Hotels of the World Head of Sales for UK, IRELAND, SCANDINAVIA and SOUTH AFRICA Mr. M. Saleborn who is usually based in London plus many Members from around Dublin and Ireland. We also had received many information about the Merrion Hotel and all the other hotels plus many goodies incl. Key-rings, Brochures, Insider Tips, plans, travel planning and in-room product samples of shampoos and body lotions from the hotels featured at this very well done event at this stunning hotel in Dublin! We also had canapees plus Taittinger champagne, fine wine, salmon and orange juice on offer. The event was on for three hours and the time was super fast! That is always the case when people meet up who sincerely appreciate hotels around the world and talk about them in a meaningful way. Also happy congratulation' s to all members of the Leader' s Club who have won free nights at many hotels at the Raffle during the evening, Well done! As said earlier we have appreciated the Merrion Hotel for years now incl. drinks at the Nr. 23 Bar, Snacks at the Cellar Bar beside the Cellar Restaurant and we even had fine traditional afternoon not so long ago, we can very well remember this in the Drawing rooms and the Nr. 23! The service is always sublime and the building in itself was constructed out of fully restored Landmark buildings and comprise the historic wing and the newer garden wing plus a superb courtyard garden and 2 Michelin fine Dinning at Patrick Gilbaud Restaurant plus the Tethra Spa! The location is a powerful one incl. the office of the irish prime minister which is oppoite the hotel located plus many other government offices! Also only a few minutes from the Merrion Hotel is the famous St. Stephen' s Green Park - one of the finest inner-City Parks in Europe plus the very well known shopping street named Grafton Street is also only a short hop from the hotel plus pubs, shops, Brown Thomas - the most famous department store in Ireland - and the Trinity College, the National Gallery of Ireland and Temple Bar are only within 5 to 20 min. strolling or leisurely walking distance from the Merrion Hotel in the heart of Dublin which comes highly recommended for a visit or stay. We hope in the future we will attend more Leading Hotels of the World events because this is a optimal way to celebrate our Leaders Club Membership for a superb future and beyond. So do not forget to FLY!STAY!EXPLORE! MORE! and be open to explore the world local and global!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples FL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The Merrion Hotel lives up to its "Leading World Hotel" status with both quality and price.

The beds are some of the most comfortable for nights of restful comfort. Rooms are agood size. The gardens and sitting rooms are excellent for business meetings and privacy. The location is most suitable for government meetings and business.

The hotel is not well situated for vacationers with long walks required to historic landmarks and the river area. The price is quite high and I am sure that one can find better value for their money in other parts of the city.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravlerNaplesFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,812 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing