We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Luxury with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

I found the hotel Merrion in Dublin on line and booked online and since I was traveling with my 21 year old son, I booked a family plan with 2 rooms which included daily Irish breakfast. The hotel had a spa and a pub; but what I enjoyed most was the high tea every afternoon. The staff are wonderfully efficient and super friendly; the food was top notch, the linens and the furnishings were the best and the bathrooms with robes and slippers was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auroraboryalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,585
    370
    98
    33
    19
See reviews for
563
1,566
97
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

From upon arrival to departure the standard of service and hospitality was second to none.Friendly and professional staff who made you feel welcome and made our stay a "home from home" experience.
Our room was a beautiful traditional room,with a stunning marble 4 piece(stand-alone shower,which is always nice)bathroom.Mini-bar was fully stocked and everything from the linen.matress,furniture,carpets was all of the highest standard and pristine.The view from our room was over the fantastic manicured gardens and was uplifting to say the least.
The Merrion has a wonder collection of art in it's homely reception and public areas.The Drawing Room with it's peat-burning fires and warmth was so cosy and homely that it was hard to drag yourself away to go out and explore the city itself...it really is THAT good!
We ate several times in the hotel.breakfast was a fantastic array of fresh fruit,sumptious hot choice menu,and anything you could wish for to make your mouth water and set you up for the day ahead.We also has an evening meal in the Cellar Restaurant and again,the food,service and price were all excellent.
The hotel itself is situation only 2 minutes walk from the thriving hustle and bustle of St Stephens green and the main thoroughfare of Graftons Street,where all the chic shops and boutiques are,yet the street on which the hotel is situated is like a calming oasis,..quiet,nearly traffic-free and safe.
Having experienced other so-called "5 star" hotels and been let down or disappointed each time,I can honestly say that The Merrion truely deserves every one of its 5 stars and can't wait to return asap.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5startraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Such a treat. A 5 star hotel in every sense of the word. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and its pure luxury without being flashy. We enjoyed our too-brief stay enormously.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinroundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
261 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Recommended to us by a friend we trust in hotel matters, we found this hotel exactly to our taste. The service was impeccable, friendly, smiling and discrete. Unlike so many city centre hotels, the public rooms were buzzing with folk coming in for tea or drinks into comfortable, beautifully furnished spaces with a traditional peat burning open fire. The garden area would be lovely on a nice day. The hotel's collection of antiques and paintings (from 18th-20th centuries) was worth visiting the hotel for alone. Breakfast was pricey but I fear that was the rotten exchange rate. We found our room very comfortably furnished with lots of space, ample marble bathroom and the telly was quite large although we didn't watch much. (Someone below commented that theirs was small so must have had bad luck there.).

The heated pool was almost empty but almost perfect for a quick dip before dinner at the end of a busy day. All in all a great place and we shall certainly return when and if we are next in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Booked this hotel as a treat as I always wanted to stay there. I was not disapointed. It is probably the best hotel in the city. Great location, beautiful surroundings (the gardens are an oasis) .. pure luxury!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0b_Mcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

I was very torn when deciding where to stay for the weekend and prayed that I had made the right decision. Perhaps we got off on the wrong foot after our delayed Ryan Air flight got us in at 1am to be greeted by the night staff. Not the friendliest bunch but we were tired so I thought I'd have a good night's sleep and realise I was over-reacting the next morning.

Wrong - no good night's sleep as the bed was hard and we got woken up the next morning by house keeping moving / scraping the furniture above us. What's more the hoovering didn't let us get back to sleep. The flatscreen TV in the room was very small (about 20inches, slightly bigger than a laptop screen) and the batteries had gone in the controller. The bedside lightbulb had gone too.

Plus point - the bathroom was spacious with a good shower and although there were Merrion's own toiletries, you feel that you deserve a luxurious brand such as Molton Brown for the amount you pay to stay here. They did, however, have this in the Tethra Spa but without a jacuzzi and chairs by the pool it wasn't really worth spending much time here.

Unfortunately breakfast was not included in our 3 for 2 offer (which a few of the 5 star hotels were offering at the time) so it cost us a lot of money considering the Pound was so weak. All in all not the best experience but maybe I was expecting too much.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsOnHolidayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Stayed here for a package deal which included dinner for two in the Patrick Guilbaud Restaurant next door. The hotel is the former residence of the Duke of Wellington and I can confirm that the facilities are somewhat more salubrious than a stable (for those of you who know the famous quote).

Since the hotel is a converted Georgian town house, it is a bit creaky in places - but I saw when I was there that they were getting ready for a major refit. I found the front office staff to be somewhat haughty and they had to be pressed for information - perhaps they get too busy and don't have time for a customer orientated approach. The rooms were OK - I would say Holiday Inn standard, but we had to ask for a change of room due to noisy neighbours, this was accommodated, though we lost our no smoking preference.

Since the resturant meal was part of the package I will mention it as well. Patrick Guilbaud is reportedly the only Two Star Michelin restaurant in Ireland - but I was able to compare it with a non rated but comparable haute cuisine restaurant called Frangipani in Kuala Lumpur (mentioned in Frommer's Guide as probably the best French Restaurant in South East Asia). I am sorry M. Guilbaud, but Herr Bauer of Frangipani wins hands down. In both places I chose the tasting menu. At Frangipani the flavors were beautifully contrasted and teased the palete, there was a gradual build up of suspense before the main course was delivered. Service was genuinely friendly and attentive. The wine list was exceptional. I did not find any of this at Guilbaud's. Of course the prices in Dublin and Kuala Lumpur can hardly be compared - but if you were to fly from London to KL on Air Asia X AND have a meal at Frangipani, then the cost is roughly the same.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing