We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY ROOM,GREAT SERVICE, GOOD LOCATION”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVELY ROOM,GREAT SERVICE, GOOD LOCATION”
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Stayed at the Merrion with my 18yr old daughter. Had a garden wing room which was very spacious and comfortable. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating and we really enjoyed the use of their great infinity pool. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPHampshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,726
    393
    104
    36
    22
See reviews for
600
1,651
103
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

After a terrible experience staying at an hotel in ballsbridge for the weekend of the marathon iin 2008 i decided this year to pay the bit extra and stay at the merrion, and to sum it up without goin on to much it was the best spent money EVER!!! Only 2 mins from the start line and two mins from the finish fantastic location, if you are running the marathon then u will not get any better hell if your goin to dublin full stop stay here yes it may be a little more expensive but your worth it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinehill493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Utter bliss from the minute we walked through the front door! can't praise it highly enough!

Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandraD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Absolutely fantastic stay at the Merrion. Despite booking the 'Sterling Saver' - a great deal on their website under Rates and Reservations - we were never afforded anything but first class service. From the Concierge, to Reception and the Restaurant, this is a fine example of 5 star luxury.

Cannot praise highly enough and would recommend to anyone visting Dublin; it's location (just 100 yards from St Stephens Green) is fantastic for all sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jags_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalajoki
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2009

My wife and me came first time to Irland from Finland. I was a little bit worried about, how we will manage. When we came to your hotel all the worries were gone. We got very friendly wellcome. A friendly girl guided us to our room and told everything we needed about the hotel. The persons in reception liked to give us all the information about Dublin we needed. Especially we enjoyed the relaxed and quiet atmosphere in your hotel. We recommend your hotel to everybody, who likes luxury and especilly for them, who travel first time in their life to Ireland.

Mauri and Pirkko Siipola
Kalajoki
Finland

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maursi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The Merrion Hotel in Dublin is one of my favourite hotels in the world! Complete luxury in the heart of Dublin City. Although right in the centre you feel transported to a world away from modern life where you can really relax and feel special. You can do as little or as much as you like.
Staff are fabulous, very kind, friendly, efficient and helpful. Food is lovely, modern Ireland at it's best, marrying traditional with international.
Rooms and suites in the main house are beautiful. Suites in the garden wing also are. Rooms in the garden wing least attractive.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsRania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjw1976
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2009

You would find it hard to find a better hotel anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjw1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,936 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,957 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing