We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£527
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Joanne H
County Meath, Ireland

Top marks, you can’t beat the Merrion

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Dec 2017
From check in to check out our stay at the Morrison Hotel was beyond our expectations.. The staff were friendly and helpful , you got the feeling they enjoyed their job as the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. We stayed in room 301 which was a balcony room with a garden view. The Christmas lights in the garden and around the hotel added to the romantic and cozy feeling throughout the hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very big and pristinely cleaned. The stationary was all of a very high standard and the little extras just add to the feeling of luxury and pampering. We ate in the new restaurant with a garden view (very romantic), the menu catered for all tastes with some very tasty vegetarian options. The restaurant staff were professional but not over the top like in some other 5star hotels. The service was excellent and couldn’t be faulted. I looked around to see if there was any areas that hadn’t paid attention to detail but couldn’t find anything. All the staff are immaculately groomed wearing uniforms that fit and were just as clean and perfectly turned out as the rest of the hotel. I’m afraid I didn’t get time to try any of the spa treatments. If I am lucky enough to go back and try one I will certainly write a review 😁. This hotel has earned its stars, treat yourself and try it out.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 5 Jan 2018
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review and for taking the time to share your experience with us so comprehensively.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments. I must say it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did and thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post it; we all greatly appreciate it. Your words are extremely encouraging and have given the entire team a big boost.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£239
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£256
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £256
0.5 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
£127
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£208
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £208
1.0 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£248
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £248
0.6 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£169
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
£148
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.4 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior TL DCC
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £152
  • Expedia.com
    £154
0.5 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £173
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £319
  • Booking.com
0.9 miles from The Merrion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dublin
Reviews (4,873)
Filter reviews
4,873 results
Traveller rating
4,194
481
122
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,194
481
122
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar bar garden room art collection the main house art tea understated elegance patrick guilbaud afternoon tea public rooms beautiful hotel national gallery turn down service five star hotel grafton street trinity college meriton concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,334 - 1,339 of 4,873 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We were given a warm welcome when we arrived. Very courteous doorman & bellboy. Then we were personally shown to our room by the front desk manager & all about the room explained. The impression of the staff was that there was nothing that was too much to ask for! Friendly & engaging.....felt very welcome here in a "homely" way. Superb experience.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank Una C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you have another comfortable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Excellent service. We got in quite early and the staff worked hard to get us into a room well before the 3pm check in. A warm, beautiful, relaxed, well run hotel. My wife had a great massage in the spa with Anchall.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jls57300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read.

I appreciate your positive feedback which I have shared with all the team here.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

This was our second visit to the Merrion. Just as good, if not better than our last visit as the new Garden Room Restaurant is a great addition. We love the location, the understated elegance, the friendly staff and the attention to detail. Will definitely book in again when we are next in Dublin

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us over the festive period which I was delighted to read.

I have shared your kind comments with all the team here. Your feedback is extremely heartening , very encouraging and has given us all a big boost.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Recently visited the Merrion Hotel for afternoon tea which was delightful from start to finish, the staff and service was impeccable and we were put right beside a very toasty fire that was regularly topped up with crackling logs to eat our way through three plates of delicious treats - I loved the Mulled Wine Tea it was so fragrant and very drinkable.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MollieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review following your recent visit to our Drawing Rooms for Afternoon Tea.

We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience and thank you for your encouraging feedback.

With best wishes,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Fantastic Hotel. BUT you are a 3 class citizen if they are doing afternoon Tea in the Hotel. You cant go for a drink in your own Hotel.So be warned if they are doing afternoon Tea don't stay there.. ... ...

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank ronand961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay and your feedback.

I am somewhat surprised at your comment about Afternoon Tea as we do have a dedicated area, Bar No. 23, reserved specifically for residents during this time. Perhaps your timings coincided with periods that this was occupied with other residents which is unfortunate so I am truly sorry about that.

We do hope that you will stay with us again and please do let me know if I can be of any assistance in that regard.

With best wishes,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews