We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights after reopening from renovations and the rooms looked fantastic and was good value for money.
Great location, everything is in walking distance.
Staff were also very friendly.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,436)
There are newer reviews for The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,185 - 2,191 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stay in Dublin every week for work at the moment and thought it was about time I gave this new renovated hotel a chance. I stayed here pre-renovation and thought it was rather average so I was looking forward to assessing the new version.

I have to say that I am incredibly impressed with the changes. The rooms have been kitted out beautifully, with great furnishings and incredible televisions. Fantastic personal free wi-fi service and some really nice little touches. I also really like the bathrooms which feel large and clean.

Some colleagues ate in the attached grill restaurant a couple of nights ago and remarked that it was the best steak they'd had in Dublin.

Overall I'm very impressed - clean, comfortable, quiet and a good location. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The Morrison has been a highlight in Dublin for years. The perfect comfortable and stylish destination. I returned post 'renovation'. The rooms have been done up in the worst way imaginable (unless you are a 5 year old girl). Rather than holding on to the previous design whoever they've brought in to do it got carried away - it's cheap and tacky. Comfortable sofa's replaced by plastic 'pleather' silver sofas; the rooms lit by neon boxes. It's trying to be something it's not. Beyond disappointing. Not at all geared towards business users. Ideal for a cheap 'hen do'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

In the hotel bar at 11.15pm we asked to order food and were presented with a menu with no vegetarian options so chose fish and chips. The waitress took our order then returned to tell us that food was only available as room service, and an even more limited selection at that. We said fine to put it on our rooms but we'd like to eat in the bar. They said no - their concern seemed to be that other people in the bar would then want to order food. But if they were hotel residents then why would it matter where they ate their food? And if they weren't residents, surely they could be told food was for residents only?

Also, the patisserie at breakfast were, if not exactly stale in the sense of being hard, then certainly not fresh. And the apples in the fruit salad had turned to mush from having been in there much too long.

Everything in the room was good though and the wi-fi was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mymiddlenameisdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at The Morrison during the first week of March. Hotel is located on the Liffey River and short walk to Temple Bar area. Hotel has had a complete renovation and is beautifully decorated. We had a king room and it was very spacious and comfortable. All of the staff members were great, so friendly and helpful. Kerry and Rob at the front desk really went out of their way to help us. Dinner at the Morrison Grill was great and breakfast was equally good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiedero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I have stayed at the Morrison several times for business and have always enjoyed their breakfasts. The breakfast is made to order and have never tasted eggs so good! The selection of fruit and other breakfast items are very good as well. The rooms are modern and very clean. Parking is in a car park to the rear (special overnight rate of €12.00 euros). Location is fantastic, right in the city centre, walking to just about anything. The staff were extremely pleasant and professional. If it's within your budget, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for girly weekend in dublin. Thin walls so the girl crying and screaming at 2.30am till 3.30 am woke me up and then impossible to get back to sleep until the tantrum was over. Thought about ringing down to reception but didnt want to wake my sleeping friend! Didnt really want to knock on the doir either as you never know what you will encounter! Great cocktails made by skilled bar staff. lovely rooms with lots of stylish touches. Breakfast service could be improved. Overall a good trip and would use the hotel again maybe if there was an offer on.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleurdelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £176 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing