We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had our wedding reception on 21/09/13 in this beautiful hotel. From the moment we met the event manager, (James) we knew we had made the right decision. He put us at ease and was always available to answer questions and offer advice. The wedding fair we attended earlier in the year was very helpful as we were able to view the venue as it would look on our day and we also got to sample food and wines.
This hotel décor is modern and yet very comfortable. It suited our taste. The rooms were fabulous and luxurious.
The food served at our reception was incredible and everybody commented on how good it was.
What stood out for us and our guests though was the staff. The staff at reception right through to the waiters during our meal were so professional and friendly. They were so attentive throughout the day and indeed into the early hours of the morning. All our guest commented on how friendly and efficient the staff were.
The breakfast the next morning was wonderful. A fantastic choice of hot and cold foods. We lingered for quite a while getting more coffee and snacking as guests arrived at different times for breakfast and again the staff made sure we had all we needed.
I would say to anyone thinking of booking this hotel to just do it. It is in a great location and central to all the sites in Dublin. For anyone thinking of having their wedding reception here, ring James and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    597
    98
    38
    8
See reviews for
338
1,001
88
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had our wedding here and were delighted with the hotel and everything that they did on the day.

The food was amazing - even when serving 150 people at the same time. The staff were great to deal with and accommodated any requests from us or our guests.

The rooms were stylish and very comfortable and the breakfast the next morning provided anything you could want for breakfast.

A number of our wedding guests complimented us on the quality of the hotel and the food as well during our wedding.

Overall a fantastic hotel to stay in and we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb10102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My family checked in on October 3rd, 2013 early after an overnight flight from Chicago. With my Hilton status, we were upgraded to the Penthouse Suite. The views over the River Liffey and the Temple Bar area were beautiful. A nice balcony wrapped around the floor to ceiling windows. The staff at the hotel were remarkable. They all interacted very kindly with my six year old son, making him feel very welcome. The included breakfast was delicious, from the buffet to the custom You absolutely won't find a better hotel in terms of location, hospitality or accommodations. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room or spend the money to book the Penthouse. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Morrison for 3 nights and an additional one night earlier this month. Our King room overlooking the liffey river provided a nice view, was very quiet, sleek, free wifi, internet at reception, modern bathroom with a deep/steep bath/shower, ac which was somewhat noiser than it should i be, a safe, and very comfortable but hard bed. Luas ltram on Jervis is a short block away and the aircoach stop is a 10 minute walk to the near top of OConnell Street. Hotel has a very nice early l bird dinner special with excellent quality. Otherwide, you may want to eat at Elephant & Castle in Temple Bar. All this cones of course at a price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great location right beside the River Liffey and 2 minutes walk to Temple Bar where there are lots of great pubs full of character and welcoming locals. Be careful what bars you go to near the needle, things can be a bit rougher at that end of town.

The hotel has recently been refurbished. Bedroom very nice but funny bathroom layout with insufficient space for towels!

Perhaps it was down to newness of staff following the re-opening but breakfast was chaotic due to coping with a big party of conference goers.

Food and service in the restaurant was excellent. Reception staff were very attentive and supplied the standard Doubletree warm cookie on arrival

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaPacMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The room as modern but comfortable and very clean. Bed was most comfy and the room was quiet. We had breakfast/brunch included and it was wonderful. The desk staff was most helpful in pointing me in the direction of a nice department store to replace the lipsticks and lotions I had lost on the trip over. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsaTradition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Bad experience. Was given a room without an outside window. No fresh air, no natural light. Only window looked into a kitchen/dining area that was very noisy at all hours. Horrible treatment considering price paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing