We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive! ”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Morrison for two nights 13 & 14 Dec.

The hotel is very modern. However the rooms were a little less deluxe than we expected, given the price that we paid.
Our room was nothing fancy, contemporary, Impeccably clean but we felt that it did not reflect it's price tag and The minibar prices were extortionate!
The room we were in (128) is a side room and the street noise could be heard clearly all night, not a room for light sleepers!
Breakfast was good. Lots of variety and cooked very well. Staff were also friendly.

The hotel would benefit from better signs indicating the entrance/reception to the hotel as from the front it just looks like a bar/restaurant.

Overall not a bad experience just a little on the expensive side!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wardy185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Wardy185,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback as it is the best method of continually improving our service and product.

I am sorry that you found our hotel to be on the expensive side, as you may be aware, our rates are based on occupancy for the particular night and depend on demand, unfortunately your stay was during a very busy period for us here.

Regarding the street noise, as a city centre hotel we are aware of outside noise and are currently working on each room individually to re-seal windows and ensure minimal noise disruption. I do hope it did not hinder your sleep too much.

I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast in our Halo restaurant, we are very proud of our breakfast offering and I was pleased to read that you found the staff friendly also.

Thank you again for your post and we would like to wish you a very Happy New Year,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    620
    100
    39
    8
See reviews for
353
1,051
95
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in a Friday. Got room 330 which is a 1 bed corner suite, 5 windows, huge bath, dining table sofa and 2 LCD TVs. Comp prosecco on arrival was lovely and jumped straight into the tub for two. Nice Crabtree and Evelyn bath products. Also a rainfall shower. I loved the purple cubes and the feel of the place. Watching the sun come up over the liffy wasn't bad either.
Will definitely make this the only place I'll stay on my return trips to dublin. Excellent location, really superbly placed. Busy road in front so u need to be on the 3rd floor or back/side if hotel to keep noise down, not a problem for us.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsounding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Sweetsounding,

Thank you most sincerely for your lovely review of the Morrison Hotel, it truly was a pleasure to read. I am so glad you enjoyed your room, 330 is one of our one bedroom suites and as you mentioned in your review has lots of amenities and special features, including the 2 LCD tv's, large bathroom and rainfall shower. It was also nice to see that you like the decor of the hotel since our revamp in February of this year. Our aim was to create a modern vibe in the hotel without compromising on comfort. We are continuously working hard to ensure that the rooms and hotel in general are maintained to a very high standard.

Thank you so much again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

Merry Christmas from all here at The Morrison,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed at the Morrison Hotel for 5 nights in November-December. The location near the Millennium Bridge just across from the Temple Bar was great. It was easy walking distance to just about everything in Dublin. Hotel and restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful with our travel questions. We arrived at 7:30 AM after an all night flight from the U.S. I am a Diamond Member and they provided us free access to the breakfast buffet. The Morrison has an ideal location just across the River Liffey. I would not recommend getting a river view room due to the traffic and noise on that side of the hotel. Our room looked out onto a courtyard which made it very quiet and comfortable. The heating/cooling controls and light switches were a bit confusing. No temperature reading on the heating/cooling system and took a while to figure out the what switch controlled what. But we did figure it out. Strongly recommend the hotel and hope we can stay there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear James C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your experience at The Morriosn Hotel In November, It was a pleasure to read.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we are very lucky with our positioning in the city, central enough that we are within walking distance of almost all attractions and shops yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of city centre to enjoy a good nights sleep. I was also pleased to see that you found the hotel and restaurant staff friendly and helpful, we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and I am glad you noticed our efforts.
Regarding the heating/cooling systems in the bedrooms, I am sorry you found them confusing however should you come back to visit us again please do not hesitate to ask a member of our staff to show you to your room where we can demonstrate how to use anything you had difficulty with.

Again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

This is my first stay here and it is a good hotel in an excellent location. This was a business trip for one night.

Staff are friendly and the rooms are of good size. Wifi is free in the rooms which is great.

The bathroom needed a touch up as sink kept blocking and rust in the bath tub.

Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Connecttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Connecttraveller,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and the time it takes to write a review.
I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be friendly and that the location was convenient for you. We are very proud of our location as it is very central to the city yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Templebar.

Just to touch on your comments about the bathroom in your room, we underwent renovations earlier this year and are continuing works to make sure every room meets our high standards. We are currently running a maintenance programme whereby our maintenance team works on one room per day to ensure everything in each room works and is presented up to The Morrison Hotel standards,

Many Thanks again for your review and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kindest Regards and best wished for the festive season,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a very nice central location, a short walk across the river liffey from the Temple bar area and its excellent nightlife. The hotel is very welcoming and staff are very helpful. The rooms are superb. Very bright and warm with nice decor. All expected amenities are in the room. Breakfast buffet was very good with plenty of choice. Free breakfast and internet is offered to hilton gold and diamond members, which is a bonus.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear MarkB,

Thank you most kindly for you review of the Morrison Hotel following your recent stay. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff welcomming and friendly. We pride ourselves on offering the very best in customer service and giving all our guests a warm Irish welcome as we want our guests to feel at home. This is reflected by the amenities that we offer complimentary to our guests, including wifi, toiletries of the highest standard, hairdryer, ironing board and iron etc. Full unlimited access internet is given to our gold and diamond members however we do offer complimentary wifi to all of our guests up to half a megebite. I was also happy to see that you found the location to be good, we are very central in the city and within walking distance of most visitor attractions and shops the city has to offer.
It was nice to read that you enjoyed your room also as we underwent renovations earlier this year and strive to provide modern, clean comfortable accommodation.

Many Thanks again for your feedback and best wished for the festive season,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had our Christmas party there this year. Well impressed. Music on entry, plenty of food. And to the chef that invented the Christmas pudding ice cream - hats off. Only thing that was slightly annoying, at 1:30 on the dot the music stopped and the bar closed...bit early!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Andy P,

Many thanks for your review of your Christmas party held at The Morrison Hotel recently. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the event. I will pass on your compliments to the chef regarding the Christmas pudding ice cream as I am sure he will be very happy to hear, I will also pass on to all staff involved in the organising of the function as we strive as team to provide a great customer experience.

With regards to the music finishing at 1:30, unfortunatly due to licencing laws we are unable to extend this time however I do hope this did not affect your experience and I do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards and Happy Christmas,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Recently stayed four nights at The Morrison in late November/early December 2013. I must admit that my expectations were exceeded by this hotel. The greatest strength of this hotel is the location. It is located along the River Liffey across from Temple Bar. There are many different restaurants and pubs all within a five minute walk. Transit is also easily accessible with the Luas stop just a minute away. Along with the location the accommodations were terrific. We stayed in a Jr. Suite with a King Bed. The design of the room was incredibly unique and comfortable. We were on the first floor and didn't hear any noise from the street level. We were in the back of the property along a non-busy street. If you can request this location, I would certainly recommend it. Finally, every staff member we encountered was incredibly friendly, efficient and welcoming. Every request from arrangement of a taxi to entering a wake-up call was met with a smile and no fuss. Each time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back of the property are above a very quiet street. If an upgrade is available to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Chiil1974,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of the Morrison Hotel following your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to read and I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I was especially pleased to read your comments on our staff, we continuously strive to provide the very best in customer service and to ensure a enjoyable and welcomming stay to each of our guests. I will happily pass on your kind words to our staff as it is always nice to hear good feedback from guests.
I was also glad to see that you enjoyed your accommodations, the decor of the hotel is modern and unique however it is also warm and comfortable.

Again thank you for your review and for your recommendation,

Kindest Regards and a very happy Christmas to you,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing