We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant weekend had by my wife and I” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant weekend had by my wife and I”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel was excellent could not have asked for more helpful or polite staff, the roof was first class. The bar was brilliant getting to enjoy a few cocktails with my wife while listening to live music. We will definitely be staying there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Andrew L,

Thank you very much for your review of The Morrison Hotel.

I was so pleased to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning that you found the staff to be helpful and polite, we, as a team, work hard to ensure excellent customer service and so I will pass on your comments as I am certain everyone will be delighted to hear them.

It was also lovely to see that you liked the bar and the music, we have live music in Quay 14 every weekend so hopefully we will see you back there again very soon.

Thank you again and Kind regards,

Marion O Connor
Guest Relatiosn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,448
    584
    98
    38
    8
See reviews for
334
995
87
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for 3 nights over the new year period and were extremely pleased with our choice. The hotel is not only perfectly positioned for exploring the heart of Dublin, it is also sleek and stylish without being pretentious. We found the reception staff to be warm ,friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was situated overlooking the courtyard (206), it was a good size, clean, comfortable and also quiet...the only slight niggle if I were to comment was the lack of a mirror near a plug in order to style hair...but that really is being picky! The shower was to die for, so powerful and plenty of hot water, good for waking me up in the mornings!
The food and drinks available in the bar were of a good variety and both equally tasty! Again, the staff were impeccable and ultra friendly.
If you want a hotel that is good value, in a perfect position with friendly staff, then we definitely recommend the Morrison. We hope to book there next time we visit Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Sarah J,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of the Morrison Hotel, it was a pleasure to read and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.

Your comments about our friendly and attentive staff have been duley noted and I will pass them on to the front desk and restaurant staff as I am sure they will be very happy to hear them. I was also glad to see that you found the location convenient and central, we are so close to almost everything the city has to offer and I hope you got to see and do all that you had planned to on your trip to Dublin.
Regarding your mention of the lack of a mirror near a plug in the guest room, we are aware of this issue and are currently working towards a solution. Hopefully it will be resolved very soon and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your review and your time,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Morrison was a comfortable accommodation in Dublin with a great location. We had quick access to Temple Bar, the hop on hop off bus tour, Trinity College and the Ha'penny Bridge. The room was nice but somewhat smaller than expected. Breakfast was not included but was a nice spread with a lot of options. I would have no problem returning to The Morrison.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixieAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Trixie AD,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to opst about your experience at the Morrison Hotel Dublin.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be convenient. We are very lucky with our location as we are very central in the city, within walking distance of most attractions and shops, yet in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Templebar.

I am very sorry you found the room to be smaller than expected, I can assure you all our rooms are an approved standard size but hopefully we will see you again very soon and you can try out one of our deluxe rooms or suites.

Thank you again,

Kind Regards,
Marion O Connor
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Superb hotel. One of the few 5 star hotels that is actually a 5 star hotel. Staff all very helpful and professional. Room was perfect, slightly more road noise from the front elevation room we had than I would have liked, but did not detract from the overall experience. Breakfast was superb and all offerings were of the highest quality.
The evening meal we had within the restaurant was top class as well.
Would highly recommend as a base when visiting Dublin as everything is a walk away including the popular Temple Bar area and shopping centres.
Did not make use of the gym or swimming pool so can't comment on as was too busy enjoying the sights and attractions of the City.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, select rooms towards the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Phil H,

Thank you so much for your review of the Morrison Hotel. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments were most kind.

We are in fact a four star hotel but we are delighted you thought the hotel and its staff were up to five star standard, a compliment I will be passing onto all our staff.
I was glad to see you enjoyed your breakfast in Halo also, we are very proud of the quality and variety offered at breakfast so thank you for mentioning this and also for giving the Morrison Grill a great review too.

I do hope to welcome you back in the very near future and thanks again for the time it took to write your review,

Kidn Regards,

Marion O Connor
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

stayed at the recently refurbished Morrison for four nights and found the staff to be helpful in every way. They changed my room when I requested it because of noise, they gave directions repeatedly for shopping, sightseeing, using public transportation, etc. They could not have been nicer. The room was large and beautifully decorated, the public areas also great. Breakfast buffet was extensive and had anything you might want. The location for tourists is superb. Right on the river and within walking distance of all areas of the city. If you want to use the LUAS, it is only a block from the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel has many private parties that can be noisy late at night. If you are inclined to go to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Clabbers,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Morrison Hotel. It really was a pleasure to read.

I am very sorry that you encountered some noise issues during your stay but am delighted the issue was resolved quickly and efficiently for you. I do hope you enjoyed your new room and that you had a relaxing and quiet stay there.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast offering which we believe to be extensive and of the highest standard.

Thank you for your comments about our staff, we are continually working to offer the very best in customer service and was so glad to see that you found everyone helpful. Our front office and concierge are always on hand to offer advice and recommendations, we also offer 24 hour reception so there is always someone here to help.

Thank you again Clabbers for your time in writing a review and I do hope to welcome you back very soon, wishing you and yours a prosperous New Years from all here at The Morrison,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were able to check in very early, about 10 am. Breakfast was delicious. Room has thoughtful touches, such as an umbrella, which came in very handy. The location is great, you can walk to most of the attractions from the hotel. The bed is VERY COMFY and the hotel and rooms are spotless.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear 264bwy,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of the Morrison Hotel, It was a pleasure to read.

I am so glad we could facilitate an early check in for you, we do not guarantee rooms until 3pm however if we have rooms available before this time we of course are more than happy to check guests in early. It was nice to read your comment about our breakfast offering which we are very proud of, we strive to provide a wide selection of the highest quality foods and I am delighted you enjoyed it.

It was nice to read that you enjoyed the rooms as well, in particular the beds, we offer king size beds in all guest rooms and all are fitted with mattress toppers to ensure maximum comfort. I do hope you had a good sleep during your stay.

Thank you most kindly again and i do hope to welcome you back in the very near future, Happy New Year from the Morrison Team,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I liked the hotel, despite it being somewhat pricey for visiting during the off season. We were unhappy to find that our room was setup with two twin beds instead of the queen we requested. We waited in the room for hotel staff to re-assemble the bed into a queen. The location made it very easy to get around Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sipari_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Sipari traveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Morrison Hotel, we appreciate customer feedback and take your comments onboard.

I am very sorry that your room was made as a twin for your arrival, all of our rooms have king beds provided with most of these having the option to be twin or double, it is however an easy issue to solve and I do hope that the situation was quickly rectified for you.

I was glad that you enjoyed the location and I do hope that you got to enjoy all that Dublin has offer. We are very lucky with our location being so close to all shops and attractions.

I do hope to welcome you back very soon and we would like to wish you a very happy New Year,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing