We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, modern hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent 2 nights in this hotel - it's in an excellent central location, near shopping area and just over the river from Temple Bar. Modern, quirky decor, comfy bed, pillows not the best....
Really nice restaurant areas and bar with good food.
On the downside - difficult loo to flush, lacking hooks in bathroom

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    597
    98
    38
    8
See reviews for
338
1,001
88
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great hotel overlooking the river, very central to all the shops and attractions of central Dublin. Clean, pretty quiet, nice lounge. Very helpful staff comfortable large rooms. Good size gym, would visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clark_june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
dear clark_june,

Many thanks for your recent post on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope sincerely that we may get to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

With kindest regards,

Marion O'Connor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lawn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Upon arrival found out there is no FREE parking so we took the rental car back, area is not what I would call warm and fuzzy. Got to our room and there were purple lights highlighting the room. I thought we made a mistake and checked the bed to see if it was going to vibrate, it did not thank god. Only had one wash cloth to use and the air conditioner did not cool the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Kenneth A,

Many thanks for your review and details on your stay with us. I am sorry that overall you do not appear to have enjoyed your stay with us, and only wish we had known while you were with us so we could have attempted to remedy your concerns or queries.

Unfortunately we do not have a private car park at the hotel but have negotiated a 24 hour rate with the car park located 1 block behind us for all our guests.

In relation to the area, as many guests post here, it is a vibrant area, close to Temple Bar and one that acts as a great base for exploring the city. Our location is absolute city centre and as such has an urban feel to it - we think the hotel is still looking great, 1 year post refurbishment and sits in well with its surroundings.

The bedrooms do offer some mood lighting which can be switched off and adds something different and descriptive to the property - the rooms do of course offer standard LED and Halogen based lighting as well for functional purposes all of which can be seen on our website in the Gallery section.

Again, my apologies if the hotel fell short of the mark for you and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Marion O'Connor,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We loved the location of this hotel, just across the river from Temple Bar and many other great places to visit. The staff were friendly and our room was a nice size and very clean. We weren't in love with the contemporary style of all the furnishings, but it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 581janetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a Superb hotel ...I cannot fault anything ....
great location,great rooms,great food great Staff .....if I ever come back to Dublin I will be staying at this hotel ...across the river is temple bar area just walk across the bridge just off the hotel front and your there

Room Tip: ask for room on 4th floor away from street as I guess elsewhere could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripmonkey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Tripmonkey00,

Thank you so much for your very positive comments on your recent stay with us. Myself and the team were delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel, its staff, service and amenities so much and I hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.

With best regards,

Marion O'Connor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in an awesome location right across the river from the Temple Bar area. The rooms are very modern and clean. Breakfast is fantastic at the restaurant, a great start to the day.

However, it was the staff that made the hotel fantastic - I had a few problems on my arrival (airline lost luggage, lost mobile phone, etc), and the staff could not have done more to assist and help. They were extremely pleasant with my endless problems and questions - thank you :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank melamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear melamck,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us.

It was great to learn that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that in particular you found our team members to be so helpful and willing to be of service. The fact that they were able to assist you on matters and make your stay all the more comfortable is very positive and I have been sure to pass on your kind comments to all concerned, already.

With kindest regards,

Marino O'Connor,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I arrived at the Morrison at 9.30pm after travelling for much of the early evening. I checked in and went straight to the bar/restaurant for some much needed refuelling. I sat at the bar and ordered food and drink but was instantly deterred by the draft from the main door that was only a few feet away, I moved but could still feel the draft and more off putting smell the stale smoke from outside. I ordered ribeye steak, medium rare, fries and 2x pepper sauce....after the third attempt this combination was eventually delivered correctly....I complained at each failed attempt and eventually received my bill with 50% of the food removed.... no apology was given by either the manager or the stern faced waitress....in fact she seemed more intent on setting the tables for the following morning!! All in all absolutley terrible service....I will not return!! In fact wish me luck because im going to complain about my bill!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian48
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pauljoy2013, Assistant General Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Adrian48,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Morrison on Tripadvisor.

It is disappointing that your first impression of The Morrison Grill was not a positive one, especially after a long days travelling I can appreciate your frustrations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings in service which you experienced on this occasion.

I was delighted to get the opportunity to meet you on the second evening of your stay and I am very thankful for you to give me your feedback in person. Also, I am thrilled that you dined with us again on the second evening and your experience was far more positive and in line with the high standards we are proud to operate to.

I do hope that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Morrison at some stage in the future.

Best regards,
Paul Joy
Assistant General Manager
pjoy@morrisonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing