We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel & Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel & Great Location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The rooms are clean and modern. The restaurant is very good, also nice bar for drinks later. The staff is extremely helpful & courteous. They will find restaurants for you, print out the menus, make the reservation, and get you a cab! The location is perfect because you can cross the street and walk over the bridge to the Temple Bar district. Also, behind the hotel a few blocks back, is The Church restaurant, which is awesome. Great experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from elevator, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnoodle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,578
    644
    105
    41
    9
See reviews for
371
1,095
99
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at The Morrison recently on a business trip to Dublin and although not directly responsible for making my travel arrangements - I am so pleased that they chose this Hotel! Wow what a find! This was a business trip and was ideally based for my meetings over the last three days in the city.

The Morrison is actually part of the Hilton group which is not apparent on first glance not that causes any issues - if fact quite the opposite – it’s good to know there is a big brand behind this property. If fact it becomes quite clear, quite quickly that the big brand / corporate style is not apparent and that this “home away from home” is a boutique, fresh modern Hotel with all the feeling of a local Dublin Hotel offering that warm customer service we come to expect from Ireland. Paul on front desk was a shining example of this hospitality and certainly deserves a mention.

Room - clean, light, airy, modern, big range on the toiletries that don't strip your skin off! Had room service dinner all nights which on average delivered in 20 minutes - try the steak baguette its wonderful – all dishes of a good quality and hot (so often they arrive lukewarm after a 40 minute wait).

Not being a breakfast person I cannot comment but did use the gym each night – good range of CV equipment and weights if you like that sort of thing and certainly not a “gym” in some Hotels which is a broom cupboard they cannot do anything with – housing a single exercise bike.

I will be back to this Hotel, if not booked via my company then certainly for pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonUpchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear JonUpchurch,

It was great to read your recent review of the hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor.

To know that the hotel met with your expectations and delivered so well on all aspects of your stay is very promising and heartening to read.

I have been sure to pass on your comments in relation to our team members and thank you for acknowledging their friendliness and hardwork.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again when next in Dublin and look forward to hopefully having to opportunity to do so.

Kind regards,

Marion O'Connor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Excellent hotel,luxurious, clean , in the midst of the buzz that is Dublin, close to restaurants, shops, great value, staff very helpful, loved the idea of getting a delicious cookie at check in.Room very comfortable

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Agnes749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Morrison for 1 night last month at the end of our short Spring Break vacation to Ireland. Although we were not in Dublin or at the Morrison long, we especially enjoyed our visit, including the hotel. The room was clean and well decorated with comfortable bedding and linen. The room had a modern look and lighting. Great TV too. Bathroom was nice and comfortable. We didn't do much else at the hotel and spend our time out on the town. The hotel is right on the river about a block down from the Ha Penny Bridge. Lots of shopping just north of the hotel and all of the downtown tourist sites in Dublin are very nearby. This was a great hotel choice for us. We really enjoyed it. Thank you.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 214 and would like to come back again soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pxisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear pxisright,

Thank you for your recent post to Tripadvisor and for pointing out the many positive aspects of your stay with us.

As you mentioned, our location is ideal for exploring Dublin on foot or via the many transport links on our doorstep and although your visit appears to have been short, I am delighted that you were able to do so much while still enjoying the hotel.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back again and thank you for having chosen us in the first instance.

Kind regards,

Marion O'Connor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Morrison is located very near the Temple Bar area and close to a hop on, hop off bus tour pick up and drop off site.
The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms large, the amenities very nice. The bed linens were great, and the bath towels were large and soft.
The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was excellent.
One complaint were the fire doors. They were closed at night and when anyone went through them, they banged shut quite loudly, so we heard that many times each night. Otherwise, there was no noise at all.
Parking was tricky -- the lot next door didn't open before we had to leave for our flight, so we had to find a spot on the street to park the night before we left.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Morrison in Dublin is now a Doubletree, but don't let this stop you from booking. It's not a typical Doubletree as in the USA. This property is nicely updated with efficient and friendly staff. Breakfast was simple, but good and included some ala carte menu items. The bar at night is a nice hang.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Blaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel...but the customer service, for a very friendly Ireland, was a serious disappointment. I try not to complain about stuff like this because I don't like to effect jobs. However, every time you asked a question, staff would roll their eyes or sigh. It was really obnoxious. Although I liked the hotel cleanliness and the rooms, I don't know if I would come back because it was so rude. It was like we were annoying them- when we just needed to check in and get a little information. Staff in the early morning-totally fine- very sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stpetegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear stpetegirl,

Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor. We were obviously very disappointed and concerned to read of your experience and apologise unreservedly for any aspect of your stay or staff interaction that fell below the standard expected at The Morrison.

I would ask kindly that you contact me directly on moconnor@morrisonhotel.ie or our Deputy General Manager, Paul Joy on pjoy@morrisonhotel.ie so that we may discuss your stay personally.

Many thanks in advance & kindest regards,

Marion

Marion O'Connor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,939 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing