We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Modern Hotel in the Heart of Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Morrison, the first DoubleTree hotel to open in Ireland, is a great hotel with a great location. It may be a little hard to find (at first), simply because it fits in so well with it's surroundings ... there's no large "DoubleTree" sign ... but it's on the north side of the river Liffey, on Lower Ormond Quay (Street), directly across from the Temple Bar section (easily accessed by the Millennium pedestrian bridge). (The street along the river seems to change names on each block, so a GPS navigation system helps a lot in finding the right building).

The reception area is low key and modern, with soothing piped-in music (just the right mood after a long flight from the US). The rooms either face out onto the river and/or surrounding city, or into a nice interior courtyard. Our room was fairly large, with a king-sized bed, flat screen TV, mini-bar, and modern bathroom (with large walk-in shower). The bathroom amenities are the typical DoubleTree fare (Crabtree & Evelyn), with nice towels ... however they're a bit stingy with the towels (2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, and 1 face cloth) and the soap (only one bar of hand soap for a 3 day stay ... we asked for more, but didn't get it) ... but these are minor quibbles.

The room rate was high, but not unexpected for such a great location, but included the daily breakfast buffet (with the option of a hot breakfast cooked to order, since we're HHonors Gold members) ... one of the better hotel breakfasts I've had! They also have an arrangement for a lower rate at a parking garage ("car park") a block behind the hotel, which saves quite a bit. (Don't park in the top floor ... the local birds seem to have an affinity for the roofs of parked cars).

The breakfast restaurant is large, bright, and airy (two levels, and two stories tall, with TV projected on one wall ... cooking shows during breakfast time was a welcome change from the typical morning news broadcast, since we were on vacation) ... the décor was a bit unique, with one very large, very strange, humanoid sculpture apparently ready to leap down to the lower level, over a small table (where one or two people were usually enjoying their breakfast) ... you have to see it, but it does work with the surroundings!

Dinner (not included in the rate) is served in the separate Morrison Grill restaurant, looking out on the street and river. We ate there one night and I had the 9oz. filet ("fillet"), which can be had with your choice of Béarnaise, garlic butter, or peppercorn sauce ... pricy (€29), but excellent (they also have some more traditional choices on the menu ... i.e. Fish and Chips with minted peas ... at more affordable prices). Try to save room for dessert ... they have some excellent choices on the menu ... the "Apple Tarte Tatin" is delicious.

A good way to see the city and get an overview of the history, is the "HOHO" (Hop On / Hop Off) buss, which goes by the hotel every 10 minutes or so (the nearest stop is just a block or two east). You pay one fare for two days and can ride around the city, getting off and on at any of their many stops (if you want to go to the Guinness Storehouse ... which is great, but a very long walk ... this is a great way to get there).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,807 of 2,547 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a fantastic hotel located close to all amenities with good access to all tourist attractions. The rooms (Junior Suite for our anniversary) were large, well equipped, modern and very clean. All staff from reception to restaurant and bar were very helpful and polite and breakfast choices were amazing. Only problem was noise from deliveries early morning, this was quickly solved by the staff and we were moved to another room. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Daniel W,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post about your experience at The Morrison Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually improve our service.

I was so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary and that you enjoyed your room. A special Thank you for mentioning that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, I have passed on your comments and they are much appreciated.

I am delighted that we were able to resolve the noise issue for you in a timely and satisfactory manner and trust that you enjoyed your new room.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind Regards and Happy Anniversary!!

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're visiting Dublin and want to be in the center of the action, The Morrison is the place to stay. Funky rooms and funky decor and a great breakfast buffet. I've stayed here several times over the last couple of years and it's been better each time. The bar was the weak spot the first two times I was here. My last visit changed my mind entirely on the bar. The bartenders were great and the service was prompt. If it gets better on my next visit, it'll be five stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogaterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're looking for a god hotel in a great location then this is worth considering. The Morrison is well equipped with a great restaurant, bar and excellent facilities in the rooms. I've stayed here several times and It's a firm favourite any time I plan to visit Dublin. Most of my colleagues now book here as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Robert Y,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of The Morrison Hotel, we appreciate your feedback and are grateful that you and your colleagues continue to use The Morrison Hotel as your base while in Dublin.

I was delighted to read that you enjoy our restaurant and bar areas and find the rooms to be well equipped for your needs,

Thanks again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently spent 9 nights at the hotel. Our overall experience was great. The location is close to restaurants, shops and museums. I could walk to many places easily and quickly. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. I couldn't ask for better treatment. My only caution is that there are some tech related gadgets (open/close curtains, shower) that took a bit to find/figure out. Once I learned everything was fine! I will certainly choose this hotel if I ever return to Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank conniaugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed in The Morrison Hotel recently with my mum for one night and had a fabulous time. The hotel and rooms are beautiful, very modern and clean. We had steak for dinner and it was absolutely delicious and breakfast was the BEST we have ever had in any hotel. But above all every single member of staff was excellent, couldn't be more friendly or helpful. I cannot fault this hotel in any way. I have been lucky enough to stay in some very impressive hotels in Ireland and abroad but The Morrison is definitely one of the best if not the best!!! The location is also prefect for shopping, going out etc. Definitely worth a visit. Looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great hotel to stay at in Dublin! Staff was very helpful and the location is superb for pub crawls or seeing the local sites! If you need a change of venue for food the Italia Bar around the corner had great food and service. Portions are a little too big

Room Tip: Check out The Church Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blaine557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Blaine 557,

Thank you for your review of the Morrison Hotel.

I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location to be convenient for your needs, thank you also for mentioning that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

I do hope to welcome you back to the Morrison Hotel very soon,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,568 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,686 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £116 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing