We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super cool”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Cool hotel in the middle of temple bar. Spent a weekend here recently and loved it. It's my new favorite hotel in Dublin.

Rooms are small but great and our bathroom was large. No bath but that didn't bother us.

You can do the tourist trap stuff within seconds of the front door but the hotel bar is cool with a dj on the Saturday night we were there.

Price was low for a hotel in this location of a big city. I can't fault it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank solomonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    609
    99
    38
    8
See reviews for
346
1,030
93
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location of this hotel is great - you are within walking distance to everything. The beds and pillows felt like you were sleeping on sand bags. We requested the pillows to be switched out but they were no better (our ears actually fell asleep they were so hard) - in all fairness we requested no feathers because of allergies. They added an extra charge to our bill that was unexpected: a donation to a charity that "they" supported (but we were to pay for?). They removed the charge when I requested it to be taken off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumbygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHGRM, Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Gumbygirl1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Morrison on Trip advisor and letting us know of your time with us. Having read through your review I am disappointed that you found some aspects of the hotel and your stay to be underwhelming.

I am sorry that you found parts of our bedding to be uncomfortable, all of our beds are to The Hilton Worldwide specification and as such it is seldom to hear this feedback. I hope that it didn't cause you an uncomfortable nights sleep.

In The Morrison, I can categorically assure you we do not charge guests for to charities we support. We have never done this. All charities we support is funded fully by the hotel and no guests are ever asked to contribute and with that it would never be on a guests bill. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss this with you over the phone or via email so I can review your bill to see what extras were on there and reassure that was is stated in the review is not correct.

Please let me know which is preferable for you and a time that is suitable. My email address is pjoy@morrisonhotel.ie or via phone +353 1 8872400.

I look forward to hearing from you and hopefully I will get to speak to you in the coming days.

Best regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Can't say enough about this hotel! Third time to Dublin and first time at The Morrison. Would never stay anywhere else! The staff was incredible , hotel was clean and centrally located to everything. What made it even more special was that we got to stay in the Penthouse! Awesome stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked The Morrison Hotel as a surprise birthday present for my girlfriend for two nights.

Before we even arrived, the staff were more than happy to help me with arranging to have a bottle of bubbly and chocolates delivered to the room as a surprise. All it took was a couple of emails, they originally offered to go to the shops and buy a box of chocolates, however, I opted to have the in-house kitchen provide a plate of chocolates, which turned out they gave them to us on the house!

The room was amazing. I comfortable king size bed, tv, safe, robes, slippers all the things you would expect from a hotel of such a standard. The bathroom was massive. I would say I have stayed in hotels where the whole room was smaller than the bathroom we had in The Morrison.

The only minor thing (and I say minor, its really just a spec of a thing) the TV was at a right angle to the bed, so watching the TV in bed at night wasn't all that comfortable and would be best suited in front of the bed. However, the room did have a massive panoramic window in front of the bed, so they would have had to bolt it to the ceiling at an angle. Like I said a minor thing but really isn't anything against the room or the hotel!

The staff, from the maids to the bar/restaurant staff to the front desk staff. All were a delight, friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to ensure you had a good stay. They booked our taxi's, recommended restaurants (we went to The Church - amazing), sights etc, you name it they helped!

I would highly recommend this hotel and if I head back to Dublin, will most definitely look at staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polish1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'd echo all the other positive reviews - this is a great modern hotel in an excellent location with lovely and efficient staff. It's within easy walking distance of just about everything, but far enough away from Temple Bar (the main party area, if you haven't read your guide book yet) to let you get a good night's sleep. Breakfast was particularly good - buffet with just about everything Irish and also an a la carte menu. For business users there's free wifi in the rooms (serviceable although it's not superfast).
One more thing folks: Dublin is full of the global chains like Starbucks, McDonalds, etc, but just don't - go to Bewley's on Grafton Street for coffee (same price as Starbucks and with a gorgeous period feel) and just about any pub for a decent lunch. I'm missing Dublin already!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarrySandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear BarrySandall,

Thank you for your review of the Morrison Hotel, we appreciate your time in posting about about your experience with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for your needs. Just a short walk from all major attractions yet far enough away from the noisy Templebar.
Thank you for also mentioning that you found the staff to be helpful, our team works hard to ensure the best of customer service so they will appreciate your kind comments.

I do hope to welcome you back in the near future and thanks again,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked The Morrison Hotel as a surprise birthday present for my girlfriend for two nights. Before we even arrived, the staff were more than happy to help me with arranging to have a bottle of bubbly and chocolates delivered to the room as a surprise. All it took was a couple of emails, they originally offered to go to the shops and buy a box of chocolates, however, I opted to have the in-house kitchen provide a plate of chocolates, which turned out they gave them to us on the house! The room was amazing. I comfortable king size bed, tv, safe, robes, slippers all the things you would expect from a hotel of such a standard. The bathroom was massive. I would say I have stayed in hotels where the whole room was smaller than the bathroom we had in The Morrison. The only minor thing (and I say minor, its really just a spec of a thing) the TV was at a right angle to the bed, so watching the TV in bed at night wasn't all that comfortable and would be best suited in front of the bed. However, the room did have a massive panoramic window in front of the bed, so they would have had to bolt it to the ceiling at an angle. Like I said a minor thing but really isn't anything against the room or the hotel! The staff, from the maids to the bar/restaurant staff to the front desk staff. All were a delight, friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to ensure you had a good stay. They booked our taxi's, recommended restaurants (we went to The Church - amazing), sights etc, you name it they helped! I would highly recommend this hotel and if I head back to Dublin, will most definitely look at staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Polish1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Polish1610,

Thank you most kindly for your very nice review of The Morrison Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel staff to be helpful with your queries, recommendations and directions. We strive to give excellent customer service and I am glad this was extended to you and your partner.

I was also happy to see that we were able to help with organising some drinks and chocolates in the room for your partners birthday, I do hope you both had a great celebration with us.

Thanks again for your reviw and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Clean, unique, modern, well maintained, courteous staff and primo location. Judging by the other reviews, it also sounds consistent in its quality. Restaurant breakfast was surprisingly tasty for a hotel restaurant, with a focus on locally sourced ingredients and a large screen showing a cooking show (that's a first!). Great value for the price. What more could you want?

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing