We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location--just across the river from the Temple Bar area and walking distance to most of the downtown attractions and to the hop-on hop-off city tour bus. The management and service were outstanding. We were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite and it was very nice and comfortable. The hotel is a nice size and is quiet.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, probably best to be on the 3rd or 4th (top) floors since there is some occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swayne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Swayne86,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us here at The Morrison, we appreciate your comments.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for mentioning that you found the service to be good from both management and staff. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. I am glad we were able to offer you an upgrade to one of our one bedroom suites and delighted that you liked your room.

I do hope to welcome you back in the near future and thanks again,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,755 - 1,761 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is right across the river from Temple Bar so there is no shortage of restaurant and pub options within a short walk. Also, the Jervis shopping mall is less than 2 blocks away and has a grocery store in the lower level. The rooms are very modern, the beds are very comfortable, and the staff is cheerful and helpful. The room had all the basics you would expect from a Hilton Doubletree such as air conditioning, coffee maker, refrigerator, and a safe. We had a river view room and had no issues with street noise. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twofromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed before in this hotel and it a good quality place to stay for business or pleasure. A brilliant location and somewhere I would stay again. Food is good, bar expensive, rooms comfortable and modenr the shower is great. Breakfast had a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank JanetteIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Jeanetteisleofman,

Thank you most kindly for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I was particularly glad to see that you enjoyed your room and found it comfortable and that you enjoyed the breakfast offering.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for returning to us and sincerely hope to welcome you again very soon,

Kindest Regards and thank you again,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Just great! Very modern and comfortable rooms. Great location on the north bank and a 2 minute walk to temple bar district. Friendly staff. Great breakfast buffet. Didn't eat at the Morrison grille restaurant for dinner so I can't comment on that. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ajwick737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful location close to major sites but quiet. We walked everywhere. Large rooms with modern look, comfortable bed, plenty of nice towels and toiletries. Robes in room. All staff were very nice and front desk greeted us warmly when we arrived and gave good recommendation for lunch restaurant. Breakfast very good with lots of variety. We had choice of buffet or could order from menu. Nice hotel bar next to lobby. It is just across the River Liffey from the Temple Bar area, but not noisy and crowded like Temple. Several good restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Our room faced a building with a courtyard in between and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Bay2,

Thank you for your lovley review of The Morrison Hotel, it was a pleasure to read.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found, in particular, the staff to be friendly and the location to be convenient for your needs. Thank you for also mentioning that you enjoyed your breakfast in our Halo restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Morrison for 8 nights on a recent trip to Dublin. We had a wonderful stay. Although it is part of the Doubletree chain, the hotel reminded me of a boutique hotel.

Room:
The stylings were sleek and modern and the room was very clean. The room was a nice size by European standards. We had a king bed, which was very comfortable. The shower was always hot. The room had air-conditioning. Ours did not work right one of the days, but it was promptly fixed after we brought it to the staff's attention. We did not have any issues with noise and felt the room was fairly quiet.

Location:
This is a perfect location for seeing the sights of Dublin. It is directly across the river from the Temple bar area. It is also an easy walk to the Jameson Distillery, St. Patricks's Cathedral, or Trinity college.

Service:
Everyone we interacted with at the hotel was helpful and pleasant. I was especially impressed that housekeeping cleaned our room every day, even when we were only gone a couple of hours in the afternoon. We did not eat at the restaurant, but did have drinks in the bar. The bartender was very friendly and even made me a special cocktail.

We would definitely stay again at this hotel!

Tips: the leprechaun museum is a block away but I would not recommend this for anyone other than families with younger children. The hotel has 24 hr room service and the room has a mini bar. If you are looking for a cheap late night snack, there is a papa john's right across the river in temple bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hefjosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Upon arrival staff were very friendly & extremely helpful & informed us we had been upgraded to a deluxe room. While appreciative of the "upgrade" I'm not quite sure what the difference could have been. The view from room 212 is what looks like an abandoned building. But we didn't book it for its views. We stayed here 2 nights and the location was great but did get a little noisy when the bars emptied out. The hotel has a boutique feel to it & is very clean. I was very happy with the hotel, staff but the bed & pillows in my opinion were not very comfortable. All in all great hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lindsaymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,572 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,689 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
625 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £117 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing