We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need sleep? Then avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Maitland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Need sleep? Then avoid this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Though good location, the beds at the Morrison were one of the worst I have experienced. Very hard mattresses along with flat hard pillows. I travel a lot for business and a comfortable bed is critical. Won't be coming back

Room Tip: If a good mattress and a good night's sleep is important during your travels, might want conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xmaskid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    599
    98
    38
    8
See reviews for
341
1,003
88
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Morrison is a great business hotel with a touch of luxury and conveniences. The hotel is centrally located and close to major attractions, bars and restaurants. A lot to do if you have time.

I'm in Dublin for business. The office is about 20 mins from downtown. Dublin has great transportation i.e. plenty of taxis and public buses, so it was an easy commute.

Booked this hotel per recommendation from my colleague in Dublin. I really liked the bar. It is a great place to unwind and to catch up with work emails. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Deat ChristineC,

Thank you most sincerely for your review of the Morrison, we appreciate your feedback as it is our most valuable tool for continuously improving our hotel and service.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us after being recommended by your colleague, in particular the bar area. We work hard to create a warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere which is what is needed after a day in the office.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and thanks again,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

There was a glitch with our reservation, so one night was spent in a sister hotel. The manager did everything he could to accommodate us for the glitch. Upgraded our rooms, included breakfast & wrote us a lovely note to apologize. The upgraded rooms were wonderful! Nice Jr. suites and very clean & comfortable. The hotel & room is modern. We really enjoyed our stay here! Breakfast was really good too! Parking is in the garage across the road, BUT the hours are a bit strange, so take heed. We checked out on a Sunday around 7am to drive to airport & the parking garage was closed until 9am. Normally you have to pay a fee to get someone to come down & open the garage to let you out, but this poor manager that had already done so much to make our stay nice, made sure they got someone to open garage for us & waived the fee for us. He even sent us on our way with a tin of their wonderful cookies. We would stay here again, it's in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCowanAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Trendy and quirky euro chic decor updates this well located hotel on the River Liffey directly across from Temple Bar via the Millennium or Ha' Penney pedestrian bridges and walking distance to most places you'll want to go. A car is not needed or recommended. The river acts as a buffer from the bustle on the other side. Great breakfast spread available to all and even better when comp'd for Hilton Honors gold/diamond members. The property exudes big city boutique hip rather than old world charm. As long as the latter isn't a prerequisite, if the Morrison fits in your budget, you'll be happy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Deasr mke_60,

Thank you for your review of the Morrison Hotel, It was a pleasure to read.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that in particular the location was convenient for you and also that the new decor of the hotel is to your liking. I was also happy to read that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast as Hilton Gold/Diamond member and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our kitchen staff.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We met here for lunch who where staying here, we ate at the bar at lunch on sunday.The morrison burger was great but our service was slow. The bartender seemed to be more interested in chatting with her friend at the end of the bar.
This is our only fault with the hotel, everyone we encountered where friendly. The duty manager that evening was extremely helpful with directions and information on how to get to the airport.
We decided to give the bar another try as our friends wanted to watch the soccer.
The 2 bartenders on duty where quite busy but made sure we got menu's but after our lunch earlier we only wanted appetisers.
I think one of the Bartenders called Garry recommended we have the steak skewers.
Boy did they hit the spot cooked to perfection, we decided to have a cocktail after a few minutes. The other bartender asked if he could help with our decision, he asked our spirit base but my wife wanted something sweet and me something with rum.
The 2 guys both made us cocktails which where amazing and all served with a little humour and a smile which was lacking from our first time in quay 14 this prevented us from giving a 5 star rating. Unfortunately we didn't stay but we would thoroughly recommend this hotel bar and a special thanks to the 2 guys in the bar who really gave us a great end to our final night in Dublin.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coozy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Coozy1970,

Thank you so much for your review of your experience in our Quay 14 bar.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your cocktails in the bar that evening and I will be sure to pass on your regards to the 2 bartenders on duty that evening. I will also pass on your compliments o our chefs as they will be happy to hear you liked their steak skewers in particular.

I would also like to take this opportunity to convey my apologies for the below par service on your first visit to the bar, I assure you this is not our usual high standard and will look into this further to ensure it was a once off incident, thank you for letting us know as guests feedback is our most valuable tool for continually improving our service and indeed to see where we fell short of excellent customer service.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Morrison Hotel in the very near future and thank you again,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked the Morrison through booking.com for the Garth Brooks concerts in Dublin at the end of July. The rate I paid was non-refundable. However when I contacted the hotel after the concerts were cancelled they had no hesitation in refunding the payment.
I certainly intend to stay at the Morrison the next time I visit Dublin. I do not intend to purchase tickets for Garth Brooks ever again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at the Morrison for a concert in Dublin. Really enjoyable stay, on check in was given warmed cookies to enjoy in the room with a cup of tea which was a nice touch!! Location is perfect, walking distance from everywhere and just a few doors from the Jevis car park, the hotels affiliated car park. Didn't have evening meal here but did have breakfast the following morning and it was beautiful, loads of choice from the full Irish buffet, breads, meats cheeses and then a menu with made to order choices also, decor was stunning, very modern and clean, I would easily stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Áine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Aine O,

Thank you for your review of the Morrison, we appreciate your feedback as it is our most effective tool for continuously improving our service.

I was delighted to read that you particularly enjoyed our breakfast restaurant, Halo. We are very proud of our extensive offering at breakfast and the quality of the food, I will pass on your comments to our kitchen and Halo staff. I was also happy to see that you liked the new modern decor of the hotel since its refurb last year.

Thanks again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,754 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing