We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but no breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just few metres from City centre shops, lake away from the famous Temple bars. And good place to take good sleep. But no breakfast offered as part of the stay. We should pay for the breakfast which is more than 15 Euros.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Muthu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Mathu s,

Thank you for your reviw of the Morrison Hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you had a nice, quiet sleep.

Regarding the breakfast, we sell both room only and Bed & Breakfast options, your particular reservation was booked as room only and this is why breakfast was not included. However, if you are planning a trip back to us please note that breakfast at the discounted rate of €15.00 may be added to your reservation at check in.

We hope to welcome you back very soon,

Kindest Regards and thanks again,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,686 - 1,692 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in "a room with a view" - i.e over the Liffey and Temple Bar. I had expected a more spacious room, but that is my only "complaint". The Morrison is centrally located, it's recently refurbished, the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is great - what more can you ask for?
Next time in Dublin - we'll stay at The Morrison.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem more spacious than other double rooms, so if you can do without the view…
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lasse1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Lassee 1747,

Thank you for your review following your recent review of the Morrison Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly. I am sorry that the room was not what you expected but should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me so that I may assist in choosing a room more suitable to your needs. We have Deluxe rooms which may be more suitable for you.

Thank you again for your review, we appreciate your feedback,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had expected this hotel to be average, but it exceeded my expectations in all ways. The decor, service and staff were 5 star. The lounge was a fantastic place to meet friends before dinner or have a late night cocktail, and the breakfast buffet was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank freakquent-flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Freakquentflyer,

Thank you so much for your review of the Morrison, we appreciate your time.

I was happy to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations and as 4* hotel, to be described as a 5* is the highest compliment so thank you for that. I will pass on your review to the team as I am sure they will be delighted.

We hope to welcome you back very soon,

Kind Regards,
Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff very friendly, however could have known the local area/amenities better. Really enjoyed our stay, particularly the helpfulness (and free cookie!) during check-in. Did not eat in the hotel but the restaurant seemed busy and staff were trained for busy periods. Very pleased with our stay and would return :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JennaF92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear JennaF92,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your stay in the Morrison, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, the hotel facilities and the levels of service. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to us very soon.

Kind regards,

Jane Bridge
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Weekend away with the wife and would definately return to this fantastic hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and have everything you need (Even an umbrella in the wardrobe in case of rain, (very thoughtful!) Food was great both for an afternoon snack and breakfast had lots of variety. Location great and last but not least, the staff did everything with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Peter M,

Thank you most kindly for your review of the Morrison following your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular that you enjoyed the room and its amenities. We aim to make our guests feel at home and so we try to provide any amenities which we think may help with this, like the umbrella as we all know it rains a bit here!
Thanks for also mentioning that the staff were friendly, this is exactly what we strive for every day so we appreciate your comments.

We hope to welcome you back very soon,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I booked this as a birthday surprise for my partner. We loved it. Nice sized room which was comfortable.
Hotel is well located to everything in Dublin. Temple bar 3mins walk. Don't feel to bad if you don't leave the hotel as the bar is very nice and comfortable with a great selection of Craft beers, gin's and whiskey selection.
Staff at check in, check out and at the bar were brilliant, made feel at home from the min we got there to the moment we left.
My only tiny gripe was room cleaners knocking at the door at 9:45am to clean the room, so our very rare (we have two kids) lie in was cut short.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Justin L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your stay in the Morrison, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel. I am delighted that you chose our hotel to celebrate your partner's birthday. Thanks for your kind comments on the location of the hotel, our staff and the products and atmosphere in Quay 14, the hotel bar. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Jane Bridge
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel staff made a lot of fuss on arrival (cookie etc- which I really didn't want. The dinner snack was very poor and really over-pricede for what I got. I also felt that I was being rushed and the location of dining at the street entrance location was not conducive to eating - people arriving to book-in had to walk through this location. Also the front door was locked when I wanted to leave hotel and had to go to side entrance. All-in-all mostly fuss with little substance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Martin M,

Thank you for your review of the Morrison Hotel following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that you were underwhelmed by some aspects of your stay.

The warm Doubletree cookie is a core brand standard of Doubletree hotels across the world and as per most tripadvisor reviews, it is generally well received. We also offer complimentary apples as a healthier option should you prefer.

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your meal in our Morrison Grill, had we known of any issue our team would have worked to resolve it immediately for you, our restaurant is a essentially a grill and so has a very informal atmosphere, which again is generally well received , but I am sorry it was not what you were expecting.

I would be delighted to discuss any of the above further should you so wish,

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon and hopefully change your views of the Morrison,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,561 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £116 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing