We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Horrendous”
Review of River House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River House Hotel
Ranked #140 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Horrendous”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed in one of their apartments at this hotel this weekend and although it was described as basic nothing could have prepared us for how absolutely vile this hotel is. It smells of what can only be described as a mixture of urine and vomit and upon arrival at our room the door had literally, at some point, been kicked open and was held back together with glue. The inside was even worse. There are huge holes all over one wall, the toilet comes away from the wall by a foot every time you sit on it, the shower doors did not shut therefore they spray water throughout the room and to top it off you couldn't get in one bathroom as the carpet was ripped to shreds and blocked the door. There are very questionable stains on every wall and even on the ceilings and there is mould growing up the netting and curtains. Even better the hotel seemed to think it was appropriate to charge an extortionate amount for the privledge of staying here and were utterly rude when we complained. The ONLY thing this hotel had going for it was the location. Photo's to be uploaded asap!

Room Tip: Go to Blooms instead! Cheaper and very clean, better located and polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    60
    59
    70
    135
See reviews for
20
87
41
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Great location if going to see a show as its smack bam in temple bar! Price was ok for a cheap ish night out in dublin city! But nothing was clean the carpets really need to b updated r just a good clean! Walls were filthy on way to room and in room! Bed wasn't the cleanest or the bathroom which there were dirty towels given to us! Yeh it was a great price but i was definately afraid to walk around bare footed!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACOB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Good location but my box room that wasn’t the cleanest. And they don’t like you bringing back visitors either. Under no circumstances will reception (which is open 24 hours) allow non-guests upstairs. They need not be so concerned about non-paying guests staying though – seriously, that bed wasn’t even big enough for one person and even if there was enough floor space, I don’t think anyone would want to take any chances by sleeping on it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepdrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed for one night and was surprised to find such a good value hotel in such a great location. Rooms were a bit jaded looking and the tv's need to be upgraded but other than that it was a fantastic hotel. If you want a good valued hotel that gives you a bed for the night and great location look no further. There is a pub under you so expect noise but if you are in Dublin you need to be out for the nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd-jackdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Great Location, kind and helpful staff, good breakfast! I spent 2 day there and will surely return to this hotel! value for money is the best ever!
PS - here we talk about Temple Bar District and a hotel with a Pud under the rooms, it's quite clearly explaned on the website, if you don't like this combitation just don't complain after having staying!

Room Tip: as there is a pub under, if you'd like to have some sleep ask rooms from 3rd floor, but I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Literally one of the worst places I've ever seen in my life. I booked a room for my brother for one night. Should have read other reviews first because it was terrible. Here's a few things about it

1. Door in room did not open correctly on arrival
2. Tiles broken in the bathroom.
3. Horrible black scum in shower
4. Valance on bottom of bed was filthy dirty.
5. Asked for a non smoking room, room stunk of smoke.
6. Drawers in room had marks on them
7. Bed was extremely uncomfortable, had springs coming out of it.

My brother had one of the most uncomfortable nights of his life here. Never again.

Room Tip: Just pick somewhere else completly. Not worth it for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toomanymuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I lucked out as I was at the back of the hotel. So even though it was after a football match the noise on the street was not unbearable. I had a good night sleep. The room was so-so. It was kind of tight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel. The staff is friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Mercantile Hotel
#113 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#133 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#79 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
The Central Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Hotel

Property: River House Hotel
Address: 23 - 24 Eustace Street | Temple Bar Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your River House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Dublin
Riverhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing