We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!”
Review of River House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River House Hotel
Ranked #142 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Liskeard
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a great weekend break at the Riverhouse Hotel. Great location, friendly staff, great bar and live music. The rooms were clean but a bit small and could do with a decorate but if you are visiting Dublin you just need somewhere to put your head down. Yes there is a bit of noise in the rooms but hardly noticeable and you are in the heart of Temple Bar. We were offered a free breakfast on the first morning of fry up, toast and tea/coffee and the second morning we were only charged 6 euros each but well worth it. Give it a go, we weren't disappointed and the guiness was amazing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank honestholiday2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    60
    60
    74
    138
See reviews for
21
93
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This manager of this hotel should do either one of two things;

1. Fully renovate and decorate the entire place

or

2. Drop the room price to match its quality

Asking someone to pay more than 25euros a night to stay here is extortionate. I don't know if the manager/owner is keeping this hotel in this shape as they are getting away with it or they don't have the money to refurbish it.

A pleasant smile can only get so far.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Booked here as we were going to a concert & choose it because of its central location. Well we could of saved €200 & gotten a better nights sleep if we had stayed in the car! Our room was tiny & lob sided everything leaned to the left! There was Dirt on the walls. The most tiny uncomfortable bed. The hotel never got quiet if I got two hours sleep it was a lot! It has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. You have been warned!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetchillie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome.....that's where it stops. All very basic which is fine but I do expect cleanliness, plugs in the bathroom and pillow cases. Breakfast was extra so don't bother, non English speaking staff so whatever you received to eat bared no relation to what you ordered.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timlet1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Manager was lovely and the receptionist too, the night porter (male) was rude and unhelpful, heating in our room wouldn't go on and continuously asked if we had messed about with radiator knobs... Ehm no we didn't but your staff did and we had no heating for 3 days, no discount offered and by time we were offered another room it was too late as leaving next again morning. Breakfast food was lovely, breakfast staff were very nice, hotel was being refurbished and pleasant enough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just came back, after stayed for 4 nights at The Riverhouse hotel in Dublin. This Little 2 star hotel has a great location if youre Going to discover the Temple bar area, and also close to Grafton street and City centre. Bus 747 from the airport stops near the hotel.
The Hotel was old-fashioned, but clean all over, the staff was nice, friendly and helpfull. My room was a single room, and had all I needed, A bed, a Shower and breakfast. The room was clean, the bed good and the room warm and cozy. If I Had wanted a luxury suite, I would have taken a 5 star hotel instead. The breakfast was good with fresh made Irish or Continental breakfast at your choice, coffee, tea toast and marmelade.
Siturated in the midddle of the Temple Bar district, only a few houses away from Temple Bar Pub, makes the evenings somewhat noisy.
But cheap 2-star hotel, with a fabulos location, a warm bed to sleep in, a warm shower and good breakfast. if this is what youre looking for, the Riverhouse is absoloutly worth looking for

Room Tip: If you are against noise from the street, try to avoid the bach of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As Dublin has the Oldest Pub the smallest Pub THIS hotel certainly classifies as the WORST Hotel in Dublin.Everything from TV remote to intercom to the flush of the Toilet was broken.Noise rooms drunk and loud people in the hallway. Something the hotel does not mention. Dirty as hell. I would NOT recommend this hotel to ANYONE.

Room Tip: This Hotel needs a SERIOUS makeover to give it that Hotel feel and not a slum feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
403 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#134 of 151 in Dublin
321 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
566 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,138 reviews
The Central Hotel
#97 of 151 in Dublin
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Hotel

Property: River House Hotel
Address: 23 - 24 Eustace Street | Temple Bar Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your River House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Dublin
Riverhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing