We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of River House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River House Hotel
Ranked #143 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Room 201 was dirty and was in need of many repairs. The sheets were clean, but the mattresses were truly like sleeping on box springs. The door lock was damaged and very difficult to lock & unlock.
WORST OF ALL - there's a bar just below the rooms. The loud music and cigarette smoke from the bar and the street continued until 4am, then the street cleaning and product deliveries began about 8am. The weather was unusually warm and they had no fans, so we had to leave windows open until we went to bed. Even with the windows closed, it was like the party was in our room. I wouldn't wish this place on my worst enemy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    54
    56
    64
    132
See reviews for
18
83
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

No WiFi. Outrageous in 2014. Room tiny. Tv and radio didn't work. Collapsed mattress. No shower door. Toilet broken. Toilets and area downstairs smelly. Good location. But that is all. Cheap and nasty. Don't go there unless you are on an extremely tight budget.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cardiff
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here after having spent two nights in much nicer hotels outside the city centre, and wanted to be a bit more central for our last two nights in Dublin.

The location is faultless - on a relatively quiet street in Temple Bar - so we got what we wanted, but nothing more.

The room we stayed in was in the 'back building', accessible by walking down a corridor that smells like wee, past the sad-looking bar and up a flight of stairs. On the second floor we had no trouble with noise from the bar but could hear people talking as though they were in the room with us. The room itself was pretty small but not unclean, and there were tea/coffee making facilities, which is always welcomed.

The lack of wifi in the hotel is pretty annoying; I've come to assume that it's a basic facility in city-centre hotels now so we had to go out looking for some free wifi just to figure out what time our flight would be (brought that on ourselves though I suppose!).

Didn't try the breakfast as there weere plenty of places nearby offering delicious ones, and we would have had to pay extra anyway.

Stay here if you're going to dump your bags, look around the town and come back when you're ready to crash.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the back building - walking past the bar when it's being cleaned and the smel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBlunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I tend not to write reviews and ignore others until I have begun here myself.
This is the second time I stayed here and I have to say it has improved a lot since the 1st time! I thought the place was a bit of hole the first time but wasn't bothered as we were out all day and just wanted to get our heads down. However they have done the place out a bit. Yes the rooms are small but perfect for a lads/girls weekend! The bar down stairs is great and tbf to the staff they were pleasant enough and put up with our antics and also were kind enough to stash our luggage on the day we were flying whilst we sunk a few pints!
All in all at 50/60 a night it is prefect for lads weekend and at the end of the day if your taking your missus to Dublin go somewhere nicer you cheap B******s! ;)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cainedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

There are other hotels near with a far better deal for your money. Its location is great as Temple Bar if for going out, but don't expect anything special. No wifi in 2014 seems so insanely weird and pretty pointless for young people. And you could hardly open the window, which was held up by a phone book. I doubt the owners care at all about that though as the pictures are way too old. However the cleaners in my room did a good job and was the only good thing.

Room Tip: Get a room on top floor as it is far away from the bar right next to the 1st floor and you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked a room on this (hotel) for 151 euro for one night, the price seemed reasonable to me from the photos that the menager put on line but when I entered in the (HOTEL) I realized that it was a (HOSTEL), and also very poor in hygiene, style, services and all the pictures in the Hotel web site and on lines was false. they showed me the room only after I paid and was a Disaster... At that point I asked for my money back but the manager did not want to listen to me and compensate for that..I tried to find a solution but She was very close and She did't wanted to give my money back, I sacked for a different room and She would not listen my request... finally a Call the police and the Booking.com Customer care and only after 2 Hours the manager refund me... after all that unfortunatly my week end was destroy.

Room Tip: in this hostel, there are no good rooms, the pictures on the internet are false, very poor hygiene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luigi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The most fabulous location with quaint rooms which suited our needs perfectly (get ready and sleep)! Clean and a fantastic nightclub 'mares' attatched! Loved it and will be going back! Would highly recommend it to groups of friends/hen do's and stags as you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyBeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#135 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
The Central Hotel
#91 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#85 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Hotel

Property: River House Hotel
Address: 23 - 24 Eustace Street | Temple Bar Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your River House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Dublin
Riverhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing