We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FELT LIKE HOME IN THIS B&B”
Review of Inn on the Liffey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Liffey
Ranked #43 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I can say a lot of good things about 'the Inn on the Liffey' ... such as a wonderful, nice and respectful staff, a very 'laid back' atmosphere, excellent breakfast in a cosy diner room served by a truly amiable and beautiful girl (she's a real sweetheart), great location, the inn has a very 'international' feeling .. you can speak French, Portugues and even Russian at the counter .. Cherry on the cake for the gay travellers is that you have free access to the sauna (which is old and run down, that's true .. but nobody says you have to make use of it! It's free .. anyway). Dublin is a city I left with mixed feelings ... there's a lot of aggressivity and public drunkenness in the Streets. You have to be really carefull. I was agressed in broad daylight by a beggar (an Irish beggar!) because a took a pic on a bridge where he and his mate were lying on the pavement. It was not a nice experience and I was really Lucky that a shopowner offered me shelter ... I have never ever seen before so much drunk people in high Streets and public spaces as in Dublin. Don't know what's happening there, but it's quite shocking .. it really is! Anyway, I had a great time because there are a lot of good things also .. like staying in 'the Inn on the Liffey' .. or visiting the castle and strolling through Phoenix Park ... Thank you very much to the staff of 'the Inn' for your extreme kindness .. you are great!! By the way, when I left someone told that the old tv-sets are bound to be replaced by flatscreens ... nice :-)

Room Tip: room 37 is perfect for the solo traveller and I was in room 21, a double room, which is also very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Londenlover68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here on two different occasions, I believe I got a better room on the second occasion. The location is perfect right smack bang in the middle of the city center. The rooms had everything you would need for a short stay. The view over the liffey was nice. The shower cubicle was extremely small in both rooms, and quite difficult to regulate the temperature of the shower. They appear to be renovating the hallways at the moment so there is a smell of paint. one of the bulbs didn't work in one of the bed side lamps. The Breakfast was not great, but was serviceable, I felt the whole thing was microwaved, and tough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

I read many of the reviews of the inn and really wondered. I am not sure what standards some of the other reviewers used but this place is fine.
The staff are great - very accommodating and helpful.
The inn while older is fine. The rooms are fine, too. Very clean and comfortable, maybe not the size of a Hilton-type room....but am I paying for space I don't use or for what I need to be comfortable.
It is a close walk to most of the sights of Dublin.
The full Irish breakfast is great, and included in the price.
I say the Inn is worth consideration and I would definitely stay here again.

5  Thank hrdmapl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very nice and friendly staff. Location of the hotel is very good right in the center of the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was quite rich.
The only downside is there is no lift so you have to climb so many stairs with your suitcase.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blitzistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My first time at the inn was made very pleasant by the friendly staff. The rooms are small but very clean and well kept. This was the last week in august and as I had two different bookings over the course of a week I had a double room for the first part and a single for the second. Both were fine. If you can request a room at the back it would be best as the front room had street noise from the open window. The full buffet breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food. Location is excellent as it is right across the river from Temple Bar where you spend the evening. It is close to all major sights. A good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Away from street is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank singlevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I am a crossdresser and I am shocked at one of your reviews from some American.I visit this B&B often as I can express my self.
I find it upsetting that some bloody Yank can criticise CDs and even goes on to say it is all old people who frequent the sauna.
I must remind this guy that according to Irish law it is forbidden to discriminate on age and rightly so.
I stay there maybe 3 times a year and have been for 10 years or so when I am in Dublin.He goes on to criticise the colour of the rooms.
What a plonker for if he pays what I do 65€ what does he want the Ritz?
I have always found staff friendly and helpful the place clean and a brilliant breakfast with free Wifi and all in the heart of Dublin.
There is no way of pleasing some some people and all for 60 or so Euro,and I think people who discriminate on age and cross dressing should not be welcome in this establishment.
I bet the staff are glad to see the back of him not so long ago people thought the way he now thinks about Gay people

Disgusted

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hungarianlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Have stayed at Inn on the Liffey many times over last 10yrs. My latest was a 4 night stay in March 2013.
I have never before written a review, but I am so annoyed to see the unfair negative reviews on this site, that I have been moved to present my views.
The en-suite room was warm, clean, nicely decorated and pleasantly furnished.
Staff are friendly and helpful, and breakfast is superb. Dining room warm and pleasant.
Only negative is the gay sauna (free admission) which is past its sell-by - but like gay saunas the world over, if you hit the right time, you can have horny encounters ... or maybe you'd rather pay 23 euros to go to the BoilerHouse sauna, or 10 euros to sex shop cinema, where you're still not guaranteed to 'score'.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you want from your stay - they will advise an appropriate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Tipperary House
#10 of 150 in Dublin
306 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#21 of 150 in Dublin
679 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#55 of 150 in Dublin
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Glen Guesthouse
#115 of 150 in Dublin
377 reviews
Egans House
#26 of 150 in Dublin
460 reviews
Durban Residence
#52 of 150 in Dublin
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Liffey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Liffey

Address: 21 Ormond Quay Upper, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £60 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Inn on the Liffey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Liffey Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing