We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Favorite Hostels Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Ranked #46 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Hostels Ever”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We came back three times during our travels in Ireland. Free wifi (and it's actually good), free bbq during the week, very affordable beds, friendly staff, delicious breakfast and a great location (near the bus station and a lot of great things to see.) I would be happy to make it my hub hostel again.

Room Tip: We actually preferred the largest mixed dorms in the basement - cheaper and never full when we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AccentJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    55
    26
    11
    13
See reviews for
9
26
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

You know how you psych yourself up for a hotel room to be smaller/ crappier/ generally more depressing than the pictures you saw online? Well, that DIDN'T HAPPEN with Globetrotters! Our room was actually better than we anticipated: cosy, warm, spacious and with a realllllly good shower. We were in Dublin for a few days at the last minute and needed somewhere reasonably priced to stay - and while the word "hostel" had our expectations pretty low, it was easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in, and much more like a guest house. Old school vibes, friendly staff, free wifi in the computer area, great full Irish breaky! We stayed in a twin ensuite room but the $ was still really reasonable. Plus walking distance to everything including the airport shuttle bus. Top marks guys.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank friggen_awesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights in this hostel and I was not disappointed by the reviews had read before. We slept in a mixed dormitory wich was comfortable enough. The staff was very friendly and helpul. The breakfast is a good surprise (buffet like in a hotel). Moreover, this hostel is located just next to one of the bus stop which go to the airport and it's not too far from Temple bar. Complete service for a really reasonable price. I will definetely recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supercame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights on a last minute trip. Check in was nice, we got there early and dropped our bags in luggage storage. Upon entering the dorm, I was immediately hit by a strong musty odor. The rest of the hostel did not smell this way, just the dorm. Beds are bunk beds, which the front desk assigns. There is very little room anywhere to put your stuff. One bed had a drawer u could put a lock on, the top bunk did not. Beds are close together. Now the worst part, the bathroom. There was a door to the bathroom/shower and sink. You could lock the toilet area, but there was no door for the shower/sink. The door to the bathroom area did not lock. So basically you have to shower and dress and hope no one walks in on you and no one can use the toilet while someone is showering. Shower did nor drain at all. You would be standing in 4" of water and then it would overflow to the floor. Also, I stepped in a pool of urine in front of the toilet. Breakfast is full Irish breakfast. I'm not a huge fan, but was convenient. No wifi in dorm room. You can get it in the breakfast area. Hostel is 5 min walk from bus station, 10 min walk to Temple Bar area. I think there must be better hostels in Dublin, but price was good here.

Room Tip: Not dorm E
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kari46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Amazing rooms! We had a private two bedroom room with a huge onsuite bathroom. Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Loads of computers with free internet, free full Irish breakfast, very secure enterance. Had the best time! Very quiet, I would not change one thing about it. Great location.

Room Tip: I loved the private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssims2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I thought this was a pretty good hostel. I stayed for 5 nights in a mixed dorm. It wasn't too crowded and the beds were okay. Bunks were a little shaky but I appreciated the small shelves built into the wall and the personal lights for reading, etc... The bathroom wasn't great-the toilet had some plumbing issues and the shower door didn't lock. However, for 14 euro a night its hard to complain. Especially with the free breakfast which was buffet style and very good. The staff was helpful and there were computers that could be used as well as wifi however the connection was somewhat slow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwengetsglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed at Globetrotters for two nights and had an amazing experience. The beds were comfortable, pillows plush and the room clean. There was also complementary soap and shampoo in the bathroom, not to mention hot water! The full Irish breakfast lived up to our expectations. The location is central, staff friendly and free computer and Internet access. A highly recommended hostel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Spire Hostel
#17 of 118 in Dublin
117 reviews
North City Centre
Adelphi Guesthouse
Adelphi Guesthouse
#84 of 149 in Dublin
290 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 118 in Dublin
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
The Pillar
The Pillar
#80 of 118 in Dublin
77 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 118 in Dublin
687 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#26 of 149 in Dublin
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Property: Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Address: 46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Tourist Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing