We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Ranked #54 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Considering the higher price and great reviews here, i was expecting a nice stay at globetrotters. But... Not so much. This place has skimped on providing some very important amenities.. Im not sure if they are trying to cut costs or what, but it really left a sour taste in my mouth.

There is not a single outlet in the dorms. Wifi doesnt work in the rooms. And the worst thing are the lights - guests have no control over them and they dont go out until after 11pm! And if you arrive back late or need to go to the bathroom... Sorry, too bad for you. They also snap back on bright and early so if you are looking for a sleep in you are out or luck. The walls and floors are paper thin so expect to hear everything. One bathroom for 8-10 people as well. No lockers to keep your stuff, just some broken drawers beneath your bed.

This place is clean, the beds are comfy enough and breakfast is included but its
Just not worth the price. We found a much cheaper one down the road that provided much better than this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canaussie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Hi Canaussie79

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write an opinion piece in relation to your stay at Globetrotters Hostel City Centre Tourist Accommodation Dublin Ireland. As you will have seen from your stay, we have gone to great lengths to make our products and services the very best in Dublin, we have provided for your convenience a Tourist Information Desk which is manned 24/7 by informative staff, we have provided FREE Wi-Fi and Computer Zone, we have provided a nice relaxing lounge area and other rooms for socialising with friends, however, we do realise that our products and services need to be constantly updated and reviewed and that is why we say Thank you for taking the time to offer a comprehensive opinion piece on your stay at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel Dublin City Centre Ireland. Please make sure to Book Direct on Our website and LIKE us on Facebook to stay up to date with our FREE draws and Special Offers for your next visit.
Muriel O’Connor, Globetrotters Hostel, Dublin, IRELAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

PRO

staff
breakfast
rooms
interior (both rooms and the whole hostel)
cleanliness
building
location
service
room service

everything gets a 5/5

This building is really authentic and beautiful. You won't guess that when you see it from the outside. But once inside you see that it once was a noble apartment house. The rooms have vistorian style (wooden garnish moulding on the ceiling and walls, awesome chairs and lamps and mosaic floor in the bathroom.)

The hostel has nice rooms, floors, lobbies, breakfast room, a chinese garden, free Wifi in the ground floor, many small stairs. Its really cozy and homely.

CONTRA

The room we had (206) was on the street side so it was a little loud because the windows are some original ones.

One morning we had no warm water for 2 hours or something.

SUM IT UP

I really can recommend this hostel, which feels more like a Hotel .. our twin room had a TV, hair drier, a safe, several lamps, many towels, water glasses and a water boiler and mugs for tea (teabags and sugar included). And all that for a awesome price. Two persons for 4 night = 180EUR. In the center of Dublin. Awesome.

We plan on coming back in spring because we know a good stay :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not located to the street side if you don't want the noise form outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan_berlin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments and delighted to hear you will be visiting us again in Spring.
Sincere apologies for your lack of hot water on one of the mornings of your stay - I can assure you,
you will have plenty on your next visit. Again thank you for your comments.
From all at The Townhouse/Globetrotters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed with a group of young adults at the hostel. The girls shared a 10-bed-dorm, the boys fit into another one and I had a private room/no ensuite bathroom.
First, the good part: The hostel has a lot of atmosphere, great communal rooms, wi-fi excellent, dorms are crowded but good beds with drawers (though only 1 shower per 10 beds!), I slept terrific in my bed, and often the staff was helpful with information, and the hostel is in walking distance to anything you might want to see.
Now the downside: Cleanliness and staff friendliness: Everything seems to be "quick, quick, quick" or "no time". The floor in the dorm's bathroom was never!!! in 8 days done. My bathroom never had toilet paper (I have to admit I stole from the other bathrooms), the waste basket in the bathroom always overflowing with everything that is in there, the shower was mostly cold or there was no water (2nd floor only). For two days it was clogged and nobody cared - nothing was done about it.
There was not enough dinnerware/no pans/no stove/cutlery for us and we had to improvise a lot - the hostel claims it provides self-catering facilities, but you have to be very dedicated to pull this through.
The staff was sometimes nice enough, but more often outright impudent, especially to my students - they treated them as 3rd class citizens. No knocking at the door and waiting to be called in, constant reminders about everything, e.g. how they had to wash the dishes (we didn't have a problem with that, but they seemed to anticipate problems and had to act on that).
Mentioning anything that could be understood as being close to a complaint didn't help at all - nobody cared (and this is not only my experience but that of other guests as well - I overheard some conversations) and, in one incident (I'll graciously spare the hostel any explanation here) led to being screamed at (and I mean this literally!) and I felt as if I was under attack. I have never been treated like this before!
When checking the Internet again, I could find a lot of people complaining about the staff - if there is complaining, then this would be the reason. For me the management doesn't endorse the idea of customer-friendliness, they react as if personally threatened and don't look for a solution but negate the problem. And if the management doesn't show the staff how "it's being done" you can imagine how they will fulfill their duties (in the sense: the customer is never right, and they will succeed because the management supports them).
I will definitely not come back to the place, inspite of the positive aspects. They could do so much better...

Room Tip: stay in a bedroom with ensuite bath, then you will have the least problems - you will be their "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettina64291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We booked a room here after a tour, as the hostel we originally planned to stay at was rubbish. We booked a double private room with shared bathroom. Our room was actually in the building next door but they are both connected inside, with 2 separate reception areas. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and cosy and quiet (except for the Spanish ladies in the room opposite who spent half the night talking in the hallway!). It had a double bed with a sink and tea/coffee facilities and a tv, towels provided and a good heater (which we didn't need). The wi-fi worked in our room. The shared bathroom was clean but the shower was terrible - the whole bottom filled up with water (well over my feet) and it was basically cold. There was a good selection for breakfast downstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKateWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Thank you for your comments. I do apologise your shower was not such a good experience but we are now in the process of remodeling all our bathrooms in the Townhouse side. I hope we will see you back with us again sometime in the future and again your comments are much appreciated.
From all at The Townhouse/Globetrotters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I booked a 10 beds male dormitory room, and the second night after midnight i saw a girl coming to the room ... She Was there untill i left the hostel.. this can be not professonal .. for me was ok a girl whit 9 guys... but can be a problem for girls if they book the female dorm and then a guy sllep there... :-)

Except this... Everithing ok
They dont provide lockers in the dorm but youc an ask to leave your Important thinkgs Upstair and anytime you have to ask for them.

every time you get in you have to Buzz... but it mean that the Hostel is safe because you also have to show a card that they give to you...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iLoveTravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have booked for 3 nights of private double bedroom at Globetrotters Hostel in our recent trip to Ireland. The spacious double bedroom with ensuite was overlooking the beautiful courtyard and away from the busy street. In my opinion, it was underrated to call it a hostel. It is definitely better than lots of other B&B which I had visited in this trip.

Besides, the hostel was located within walking distance to main tourist attractions e.g. Temple Bar (10 minutes) and Trinity College (10 minutes). The bus stop to the airport was just a stone's throw away too!

The only inconvenience that I had was the wifi connection was extremely slow and you could only access to the internet in the lounge area.

Nevertheless, I wil definitely consider this "hotel" again in my next visit.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the courtyard rather than at the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flick_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

First night in Dublin. We had a very nice welcome. Our dorm rooms are tidy and clean and big, so you have a bit more privacy than in other hostels. There are also public comupters for free use. Globetrotters is located perfectly for reaching all important points in Dublin and only five minutes from Busaras. The only negative would be that there's no free breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tintinn9920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,728 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,064 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Address: 46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Tourist Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing