We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible attitude, worse rooms, no atmosphere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Ranked #38 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible attitude, worse rooms, no atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Please don't stay here! There are so many great hostels in Dublin- I would recommend the Generator ( which was sold out on my second trip to Dublin. The top bunk in my room had about a foot between the bunk a beam over you head and the ceiling was probably only a foot higher! The "lockers" we're not lockers as you couldn't lock your padlock onto anything- just a small drawer. No breakfast, and te attitude of the staff was the worst tht I have had.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hi Adam A

We do not offer a FREE Full Irish Breakfast with our €12 beds.

We focus on providing comfortable rooms, informative front of house staff and value for your money. Please make sure to LIKE Our Facebook Page as we have a FREE Draw right now that could see you enjoy a stay with The Townhouse Dublin absolutely FREE.

As well as delivering on our own products and service we work closely with other businesses in the area to ensure that our area is welcoming and that our local attractions such as Custom House Quay, Samuel Beckett Bridge, Gardiner Street Church and so much more are enjoyed by our guests.

We really try hard to deliver on customer service, our location right in the heart of Dublin is a key selling point, however, we like to think that our dedicated Tourist Information Desk and experienced staff are equally important to our local and international guests.

I hope you have taken the time to enter our fabulous FREE Draw on Our Facebook page, this draw could see you enjoy a stay at the Townhouse in Dublin City Centre absolutely free.

As you will know we have day tours leaving from our doorstep each day to such wonderful places such as the Giants Causeway and Cliffs of Moher, you will be back before 9pm, in plenty of time to enjoy a pint in one of our local Traditional Irish Pubs.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our website to enjoy special offers and see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep up to date with what is going on in Dublin and Our area in particular.

Please keep up to date with Dublin by visiting gardinerstreetdublin.com

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters Tourist Hostel and The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    55
    26
    11
    13
See reviews for
9
26
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at Globetrotters for three days in August, and we had a great experience. The staff was incredibly kind and friendly, and very helpful in everything that we needed. It didn't have that corporate feel that some other hostels have, it was very homey and welcoming. It was quiet, clean, and the showers were really nice! I would strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieRau32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Jackie

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review of your stay at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel in Dublin City Centre. We look forward to your next stay and until then, safe travelling and God Bless.

We focus on providing comfortable rooms, informative front of house staff and value for your money. Please make sure to LIKE Our Facebook Page as we have a FREE Draw right now that could see you enjoy a stay with The Townhouse Dublin absolutely FREE.

As well as delivering on our own products and service we work closely with other businesses in the area to ensure that our area is welcoming and that our local attractions such as Custom House Quay, Samuel Beckett Bridge, Gardiner Street Church and so much more are enjoyed by our guests.

We really try hard to deliver on customer service, our location right in the heart of Dublin is a key selling point, however, we like to think that our dedicated Tourist Information Desk and experienced staff are equally important to our local and international guests.

I hope you have taken the time to enter our fabulous FREE Draw on Our Facebook page, this draw could see you enjoy a stay at the Townhouse in Dublin City Centre absolutely free.

As you will know we have day tours leaving from our doorstep each day to such wonderful places such as the Giants Causeway and Cliffs of Moher, you will be back before 9pm, in plenty of time to enjoy a pint in one of our local Traditional Irish Pubs.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our website to enjoy special offers and see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep up to date with what is going on in Dublin and Our area in particular.

Please keep up to date with Dublin by visiting gardinerstreetdublin.com

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters Tourist Hostel and The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed at Globetrotters for two nights with my wife in July and enjoyed our time. The staff were friendly and helped guide us toward the attractions we were looking for. The rooms have an older Victorian feel to them but were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycat108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Hi Happycat108

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel Dublin City Centre, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodation was to your satisfaction.

We like to think that while our accommodation is comfortable and welcoming, it is also friendly and a home away from home, rather than a sterile environment that lacks real character.

We really try hard to deliver on customer service and your review confirms that it is paying off, our location right in the heart of Dublin is a key selling point, however, we like to think that our dedicated Tourist Information Desk and experienced staff are equally important to our local and international guests.

Please make sure to LIKE our Facebook page as we have a FREE Draw there right now.

We are only a few minutes’ walk from Temple Bar and our accommodation prices are about 20% cheaper.

In our Townhouse Hotel we have just launched our August-Get-Away, Staycation Packages Dublin including multi-night discount, FREE Full Irish-Breakfast, Discount vouchers for most major Dublin attractions, including Dublin ZOO and so much more…

I hope you have taken the time to enter our fabulous FREE Draw on Our Facebook page, this draw could see you enjoy a stay at the Townhouse Hotel in Dublin City Centre absolutely free.

As you will know we have day tours leaving from our doorstep each day to such wonderful places such as the Giants Causeway and Cliffs of Moher, you will be back before 9pm, in plenty of time to enjoy a pint in one of our local Traditional Irish Pubs.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our website to enjoy special offers and see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep up to date with what is going on in Dublin and Our area in particular.

Please keep up to date with Dublin by visiting gardinerstreetdublin.com

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel and Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here two nights in a private room for two, so I can't speak to the group rooms. Small, cozy room but clean. You share a WC with everyone else, but rarely had to wait for the shower/bathroom. Issues with getting hot water, but that seemed to be a trend in Ireland. Everything in good shape and I never heard people in other rooms are in the hallways while we slept. Breakfast staff seemed a bit disorganized, and wasn't free - one major bummer. Good location for airport bus and Red Line - right by Busuras but station. Free wifi too!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi AdrianM

Thank you for your kind review of Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel Dublin City Centre, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodation was to your satisfaction.

We like to think that while our accommodation is comfortable and welcoming, it is also friendly and a home away from home, rather than a sterile environment that lacks real character.

We really try hard to deliver on customer service and your review confirms that it is paying off, our location right in the heart of Dublin is a key selling point, however, we like to think that our dedicated Tourist Information Desk and experienced staff are equally important to our local and international guests.

Please make sure to LIKE our Facebook page as we have a FREE Draw there right now.
We are only a few minutes’ walk from Temple Bar and our accommodation prices are about 20% cheaper.

In our Townhouse Hotel we have just launched our July-Get-Away, Staycation Packages Dublin including multi-night discount, FREE Full Irish-Breakfast, Discount vouchers for most major Dublin attractions, including Dublin ZOO and so much more…

I hope you have taken the time to enter our fabulous FREE Draw on Our Facebook page, this draw could see you enjoy a stay at the Townhouse Hotel in Dublin City Centre absolutely free.

As you will know we have day tours leaving from our doorstep each day to such wonderful places such as the Giants Causeway and Cliffs of Moher, you will be back before 9pm, in plenty of time to enjoy a pint in one of our local Traditional Irish Pubs.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our website to enjoy special offers and see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep up to date with what is going on in Dublin and Our area in particular, last week we played host to Michelle Obama as President Obama was attending the G8 Summit in Fermanagh, Ireland, we hope she enjoyed her Dublin.

Please keep up to date with Dublin by visiting gardinerstreetdublin.com

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel and Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville
Level Contributor
180 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

CHARMING hostel right inn the busline from the Dublin airport. Cost to hostel was 2.60 erous. Quick check in. Staff gave lots of. Ideas where to go to hear Irish music and have some local beer. I was craving Thai food for dinner. Staff told)) me of a great restaurant 5 minutes from hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi Karen K

Thank you for your kind review of Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel Dublin City Centre, we have a long tradition of focused customer service and our dedicated front of house team make us very proud with their attention to detail and customer satisfaction. We like to think that while our accommodation is comfortable and welcoming, it is also friendly and a home away from home, rather than a sterile environment that lacks real character.

We really try hard to deliver on customer service and your review confirms that it is paying off, our location right in the heart of Dublin is a key selling point, however, we like to think that our dedicated Tourist Information Desk and experienced staff are equally important to our local and international guests.

Please make sure to LIKE our Facebook page as we have a FREE Draw there right now.

We are only a few minutes’ walk from Temple Bar and our accommodation prices are about 20% cheaper.

In our Townhouse Hotel we have just launched our July-Get-Away, Staycation Packages Dublin including multi-night discount, FREE Full Irish-Breakfast, Discount vouchers for most major Dublin attractions, including Dublin ZOO and so much more…

I hope you have taken the time to enter our fabulous FREE Draw on Our Facebook page, this draw could see you enjoy a stay at the Townhouse Hotel in Dublin City Centre absolutely free.

As you will know we have day tours leaving from our doorstep each day to such wonderful places such as the Giants Causeway and Cliffs of Moher, you will be back before 9pm, in plenty of time to enjoy a pint in one of our local Traditional Irish Pubs.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our website to enjoy special offers and see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep up to date with what is going on in Dublin and Our area in particular, last week we played host to Michelle Obama as President Obama was attending the G8 Summit in Fermanagh, Ireland, we hope she enjoyed her Dublin.

Please keep up to date with Dublin by visiting gardinerstreetdublin.com

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel and Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I've stayed in better hostels but it's been about 10 years, so maybe I've gotten pickier. The location was decent and the wifi was good and worked well in the room. A friend and I had a 6 bed dorm to ourselves, which was nice. At one time, this hostel offered free breakfast (according to a hostel book I have) but doesn't anymore. I'm not much of a breakfast eater, so this didn't matter. However, it wasn't very clean. The mattresses had stains on them that looked like blood stains. This made me worry about bed bugs. My friend's bunk also had stains on the sheets and she had to request clean ones. I never saw any actual bedbugs (and I checked closely) but I didn't sleep very well because I was worrying about them. the bathroom was also very moldy. Also, the bunks are very high. I'm a fit person but had a hard time climbing in and out of them. The staff was friendly and it was a quiet place to stay. and thankfully, I don't think we came home with bedbugs but I wouldn't stay here again. Unfortunately, I've yet to find a good place to stay in Dublin. Stayed here May 14 and 15, 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Hi Jennifer S

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion of Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel, this week we have received a Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor. Breakfast is not included in our €12 room rate, however, we do open our kitchen so that guests paying hostel rates can prepare their own food, this is normally 3pm – 9pm. Breakfast can be purchased in our modern open plan dining area.

We have Day Tours departing outside our door each day, tours to Giants Causeway, Cliffs of Moher and back in Dublin before 9pm. Staycation packages launched last week by our Townhouse Hotel.

This week Facebook have again named Our Townhouse Hotel next door in the Top 20 Hotels in Ireland and we have only been able to do that thanks to the feedback from guests, we view all feedback as a positive contribution to improving our customer service. Always Book Direct on Our website to avail of any special offers. LIKE us on Facebook to enjoy our FREE draws for fantastic prizes. Great Draw at this time on our Facebook for Wax Museum, Accommodation and so much more, we reward our friends with great prizes.

We are continually improving our products and services in order that the guest experience can be as good as it can be. We are a city centre Tourist Hostel that is in close proximity to all major attractions and venues, as you will have seen we have provided our Tourist Information Desk which is manned by informative staff, our Japanese Garden offers a welcome retreat when the weather is kind, our free Wi-Fi and computer facilities help guests to stay in contact with friends and family, and we now have daily tours leaving from our door step so that guests can spend their time enjoying all that is good about Dublin and Ireland. Please Book Direct on Our Website on your next visit to enjoy any special offers and please LIKE us on Facebook or Twitter to stay up to date with our special offers and fantastic free draws for short breaks and special treats.

Please also see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep you up to date with what is going on in Dublin and our own area. Please always Book Direct to ensure that you avail of any special offers that we may have from time to time. We have a fantastic FREE Draw on our Facebook site right now.

Whatever you are doing in Dublin, stay with Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, Your comfort is Our motivation.

Best Regards

Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel and Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel, Dublin City Centre, Ireland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We (a group of 7) stayed in the Globetrotters for 3 Nights. The location is very good (close to city centre, next to Tesco), the staff is superb, very helpful and friendly. The hostel is very clean, cheap, has a nice design and very fair prices (internet, food etc.). There is free WiFi provided.

The only slight issues we had with our room (Dorm I) were:

a) the room was directly underneath the dining hall/kitchen. Which had wooden floors. So from early morning you were awoken by massive trampling and creaking ceiling from above...earplugs helped.

b) The bathroom/toilet vented into the room, no window or fan. That means for 8 people in the dorm it turns into a sauna when people take showers and is rather unpleasant when people use the toilet....

c) We only had one power socket. For 8 people, in these times, there should be more power sockets to charge our phones. We gave them to the reception for charging instead, however, this is not ideal....

Again, it was very clean and cheap and I can only recommend it...from peeking into the other rooms it looked like we just got the worst one by bad luck :).

Room Tip: Avoid Dorm I :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Hi The Only Alex

Today we have received a Certificate of Excellence 2013 award from TripAdvisor, thank you friends and thank you TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind opinion of Globetrotters Tourist Hostel.

Staycation packages launched today by our Townhouse Hotel, discounts on many major attractions and so much more.

We have Day Tours departing outside our door each day, tours to Giants Causeway, Cliffs of Moher and back in Dublin before 9pm.

This week Facebook have again named Our Townhouse Hotel next door 18th Top Hotel in Ireland and we have only been able to do that thanks to the feedback from guests, we view all feedback as a positive contribution to improving our customer service. Always Book Direct on Our website to avail of any special offers. LIKE us on Facebook to enjoy our FREE draws for fantastic prizes. Great Draw at this time on our Facebook for Viking Splash Tour, Accommodation and so much more, we reward our friends with great prizes, another FREE Draw starting in a few days’ time.

We are continually improving our products and services in order that the guest experience can be as good as it can be. We are a city centre Tourist Hostel that is in close proximity to all major attractions and venues, as you will have seen we have provided our Tourist Information Desk which is manned by informative staff, our Japanese Garden offers a welcome retreat when the weather is kind, our free Wi-Fi and computer facilities help guests to stay in contact with friends and family, and we now have daily tours leaving from our door step so that guests can spend their time enjoying all that is good about Dublin and Ireland. Please Book Direct on Our Website on your next visit to enjoy any special offers and please LIKE us on Facebook or Twitter to stay up to date with our special offers and fantastic free draws for short breaks and special treats.

Please also see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep you up to date with what is going on in Dublin and our own area. Please always Book Direct to ensure that you avail of any special offers that we may have from time to time. We have a fantastic FREE Draw on our Facebook site right now.

Whatever you are doing in Dublin, stay with Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, Your comfort is Our motivation.

Best Regards

Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel and Globetrotters Award Winning Tourist Hostel, Dublin City Centre, Ireland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Adelphi Guesthouse
Adelphi Guesthouse
#92 of 161 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
#26 of 105 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#27 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
The Spire Hostel
#17 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Property: Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Address: 46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Tourist Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing