We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for a Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Ranked #42 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location for a Hostel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here over St. Patricks Day weekend with a friend and we were extremely happy with its location. It is right by everything so I never needed to get local transportation because we were able to walk everywhere. One downside is there is only one bathroom for the entire room which made it inconvenient in the morning when everyone in the room were trying to get ready. There also aren't any lockers in our room to lock anything up which I didn't like. Also, on St. Patricks Day someone from the hostel came and banged on everyones doors multiple times screaming "breakfast time!" at 8am. He then proceeding to open our door, turn the light on, and scream again before just walking out of the room. Overall though it was a nice hostel because of its location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Ash_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi MariaA2612

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Globetrotters award winning hostel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Globetrotters Hostel.

St. Patrick’s Day in Dublin is one of the busiest days. The atmosphere is Dublin is great, no matter what the weather is like, luckily there was great weather for this years parade. And all our guests had a great time.

We are ideally located only 2 minutes walk to O’Connell Street, the start of the parade. We are an ideal base from which to explore Dublin, as we are within walking distance to a lot of the top Dublin attractions, shopping streets (Henry Street & Grafton Street) and there are many good restaurants located nearby.

All of our dorm rooms are en-suite. I can understand on this morning when everyone was trying to leave at the same time there would be a queue for the bathroom. I can say that a member of our staff would never bang on guest doors for breakfast. Breakfast is from 8am until 10am so there is absolutely no need for us to bang on doors. I can only assume this was an over enthusiastic guest that morning.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. Next time you come to Dublin BOOK DIRECT for best rates, guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Globetrotters Hostel.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters award winning city centre hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    55
    26
    11
    13
See reviews for
9
26
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I came to Dublin in April 2014 with my partner for 3 days. I picked the Globetrotters Hostel as I had read good things about it, and we were certainly not disappointed! The staff at the hostel are all so friendly and helpful, particularly as the agent we had booked through seemed to have messed up our reservation, but the staff were so kind about it and sorted us a room out in no time anyway. Our room was clean, and very different for a hostel room (we stayed in a double, private en-suite) as we had a four poster bed!! The only downside I had was the hot water was not very reliable. However I would really recommend this hostel to anyone. I will definitely return here when I return to Dublin!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSophster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi TheSophster23

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion of your stay at Globetrotters award winning hostel. Thank you for the lovely comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Globetrotters Hostel.

Our reception staff are always happy to help, they understand that a number of things can go wrong with a booking and they always try to help the guest resolve the issue.

We offer a number of different types of rooms in our city centre hostel, from large en-suite dorm rooms to more private en-suite double rooms, something to suit all budgets. Our main aim is to offer clean, comfortable accommodation that offers value for money, we are happy you found our property up to this standard.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. Next time you come to Dublin BOOK DIRECT for best rates, guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Globetrotters Hostel.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters award winning city centre hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Came to Dublin on a budget, we were expecting bunk beds in a dorm & were given two triple rooms. Basically this was as good as any hotel!
Rooms comfortable & very nicely decorated. Lovely big en suite bathroom & our own little balcony!! Amazing & wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Brilliant location too, highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SusieBerry82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi SusieBerry82

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion of your stay at Globetrotters award winning hostel. Thank you for the lovely comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Globetrotters Hostel.

We offer a wide variety room types in our city centre hostel, from large dorm rooms to more private en-suite double / triple rooms, something to suit all travellers. Our main aim is to offer clean, comfortable accommodation that offers value for money, we are happy you found our property up to this standard.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. Next time you come to Dublin BOOK DIRECT for best rates, guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Globetrotters Hostel.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters award winning city centre hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

As students, we can't afford the regular prices of hotels. A budget hostel is the perfect solution. I booked in Globetrotters because I heard good things about it from fellow travelers, and it certainly rose to my expectations. We slept in a dorm with 8 people, it was clean and had a nice shower. The public rooms are cosy and there is a fully-equipped kitchen. The staff was very friendly and always available to give some tips about Dublin. Good location, just a 10-minute walk to Temple Bar. Can't expect much more of an 18 euro/night hostel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rommy615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Rommy615

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion of your stay at Globetrotters award winning hostel. Thank you for the lovely comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Globetrotters Hostel.

Yes we are an ideal base from which to explore Dublin, as we are within walking distance to a lot of the main attractions, shopping streets (Henry Street & Grafton Street) and there are many good restaurants located nearby. Our reception staff are always happy to help guests with any questions they have, help them book tours or even recommend a good restaurant for dinner. Our reception is open 24 hours a day.

Our main aim is to provide clean, comfortable beds that offer value for money. We also offer guests free WiFi in public areas, such as our large dining rooms open to guests during the day and our private garden area. We also offer guests a number of computers in our sitting room to use.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. Next time you come to Dublin BOOK DIRECT for best rates, guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Globetrotters Hostel.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters award winning city centre hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I chose Globetrotters because of the location and the beautiful pictures I had seen of the building. When I arrived, I was not disappointed in the look of the place. On closer inspection though, the pictures on the wall and the mirror were cracked, the wooden beds were pulling away from the bare wall (no plaster behind frame) allowing a very cold draft to funnel right into the bed! When I took a shower, there was a leak in the pipe somewhere causing water to puddle into the carpet of the bedroom.
In fairness, I did report this and the problem seemed to disappear.
The shower had to be run for about 20 minutes before it would get warm enough and the room was icy cold.
There is a kitchen, but it was impossible to use because there were a number of men actually living at the hostel who were always standing around the kitchen and garden smoking and drinking beer. In addition, the kitchen was a pigsty and the toilet adjoining had no seat and stunk of urine. It seemed that in the evening, staff did not do anything to control what was going on in this area. The poor housecleaning staff would come in and try to keep it clean in the morning, but by evening there would be beer cans, cigarette packs and other garbage on the floor.
When I tried to use the laundry (which is located in an odd place in the garage), I put my clothes, soap and 6 pounds in the machine and discovered it just didn't work. I reported it to the desk clerk and was told that he had reported the machine broken a week before and thought it would be fixed by now. He did give me my money back, but now my clothes were not only dirty, but covered in soap and I nor anyone else knew where a launderette would be.
The staff were friendly and helpful always and housekeeping stayed on top of things.
I would never stay there again and would not recommend it. There are too many hostel all over Dublin to accept that kind of neglect.

Room Tip: Away from the garden and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaraBinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi ZaraBinx

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your stay at Globetrotters award winning hostel. I am sorry that you did not find your stay up to standard.

We have a newly installed kitchen with all facilities for guests to use, we do try to ask guests to keep this area clean at all times, to be respectful of other guests using the facilities and use the bins provided. We also have a member of staff who goes into the kitchen during the day to give it a deep clean.

We are a tourist hostel and do not have long term guests, usually the longest guest we would have staying would be around 1 week. We do allow guests to drink in the hostel as long as they are well behaved. Since there is NO SMOKING allowed in the building guests use the private garden to smoke.

Our main aim is to offer guests clean, comfortable beds that offer value for money. Your comments about the maintenance in the rooms has been noted and we will look into this.

We have recently started offering guests laundry facilities and there has been a couple of glitches setting this up, which have been rectified. I am sorry this happened during your stay. There is a laundrette open 7 days a week only a 2 minute walk from the hostel.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. All your comments have been noted and will help us to continually improve our product.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters award winning city centre hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed in the 10 bed dorm. Beds were comfy enough and clean. The bathroom was clean. Service was great, the staff are helpful and friendly, managed to book day tours for us for the next day even though we arrived at night. Tours leave just outside the hostel. Bus to airport is directly outside the hostel which is great, and the hostel is within walking distance to the city centre, temple bar etc. Dave was particularly helpful, he was so nice he even gave me a list of Irish movies to watch!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Jet713

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your stay at Globetrotters award winning hostel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Globetrotters Hostel. I will pass on your lovely commends to David.

Our main aim is to offer guests clean, comfortable beds that offer value for money. Thank you for the lovely comments and I will pass on to our cleaning staff.

Our reception staff are always happy to help guests with any questions they have, help them book tours or even recommend a good restaurant for dinner. Our reception is open 24 hours a day. Wild Rover day tours depart from directly outside every day and our staff can help you book tickets. The bus back to the Airport also departs from outside our door.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. Next time you come to Dublin BOOK DIRECT for best rates, guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Globetrotters Hostel.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters award winning city centre hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for three nights in a 8 Bed female dorm.
The Hostel is located in the city center, near all necessary busses or trams.
The room was nice, but quite noisy. Beds were ok, but some lamps over the beds were broken.
When we arrived toilet and shower were not working properly, but they were fixed after reclamation.
The kitchen was well equipped, but messy. And the dishwashing facilities were a bit disgusting. There is a big dining room, which was very nice.
Staff was friendly but not very helpful, especially regarding travelling advices.
All in all we would stay there again, since it was really worth price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Madeline007

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion of your stay at Globetrotters award winning hostel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Globetrotters Hostel and will return in the future.

Yes we are an ideal base from which to explore Dublin, as we are within walking distance to a lot of the main attractions, shopping streets (Henry Street & Grafton Street) and there are many good restaurants located nearby. We are also close to the Luas Line (tram) and the central bus station.

We have a newly installed kitchen with all facilities for guests to use, we do try to ask guests to keep this area clean at all times and use the bins provided. We also have a member of staff who goes into the kitchen during the day to give it a deep clean.

We have a large dining room which overlooks our small private garden. Guests are welcome to use this area during the day for meals or to sit and use the WiFi. Many guests like to have a cup of coffee in the garden, as long as the weather is good.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. Next time you come to Dublin BOOK DIRECT for best rates, guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Globetrotters Hostel. All your comments have been noted and will help us to continually improve our product.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, Globetrotters award winning city centre hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
O'Shea's Hotel
#88 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
North City Centre
Adelphi Guesthouse
Adelphi Guesthouse
#87 of 150 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
#25 of 106 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Spire Hostel
#17 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Property: Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Address: 46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Tourist Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing