We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best room, nice hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Ranked #51 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Best hostel room I've ever been.
We got a clean and comfortable room with kitchen, bathroom and TV.
About 7 minutes walking from the temple bar. Easy to get to and from the airport by bus.
There is a lift but we had to climb some stairs.
The breakfast (included) was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lu_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2008

I stayed in this hostel with 9 friends and we booked out the 12 bed mixed dorm so we could all be together. It is a great looking hostel with nice decor inside, friendly check in staff and good information and amenities. The rooms were also cleaned daily which was nice. However the toilet/bathroom area was not so nice. The toilets were tiny and you could lean back and see eachother through the cubicle and the shower had no lockand the curtain was a little bit see through. Luckily it was a group of friends so it wasnt so bad. This was the only fault i found with the hostel though i must stress this. And i am sure that the other rooms were probably ok. On a good note the breakfast was amazing! they had a choice of everything and as we had full days ahead of us we all had huge cooked breakfasts with toasts, soda breads, tea, coffee, fruit, juice, scones etc. Something you rarely find in other hostels. It was laso in a really good location, just off of the main street with a supermarket round the corner and a pizza takeaway!

I must advise that what ever you do, you have to visit the Brazen head, the oldest pub in ireland. THe staff are friendly andwelcoming, they do good food and live traditional music. Also the whole place is covered in bank notes that people have written on and stuck on the wall so it gives you lots of reading material! They have notes from all over the world and it gives it a nice atmosphere. Also the Guiness brewery is a great experience and fantastic views over Dublin from their sky bar. (and you get a free pint of Guiness) Student discount too!

Had a really nice stay here all in all, perfect for students!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JailbreakJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

First impression is awe with the amazing wall murals, red & black theme and character features intact...LOVELY! The main lady on the desk was kind and very helpful, but not the unapproachable cranky old guy. For the price they charge I would think they could re-grout or at least scrub the shower to remove all the old black mildew. The closet floor was wet. The many wall lights over the beds need to have individual controls for reading when others want to sleep. I don't get the hype about the breakfast. Yes, it's buffet style with the usual cereal & juice plus fruit cocktail out of a can (no fresh fruit). Then you have the typical English/Irish? breakfast - sunnyside up? eggs dripping in oil, greasy bacon, deep fried (previously frozen) "hashbrown" triangles, bland sausage, tomatoes, canned baked beans and cold toast. The brewed coffee was good and when it was available, the unfiltered apple juice was deluxe, as was the fresh brown bread. The fruit scones (raisin biscuits) were giant and not very tasty. After a few days of the same meal it was just plain boring. But then, that's an American woman's point of view! My teenagers quit eating breakfast after the 2nd day. On the other hand, the quilted floral toilet paper was lush! And free wifi was a bonus. Overall, we had a much better time staying our first two nights at the posh Royal Marine Hotel in Dun Laoghaire. It was less expensive per night with free gym, pool, sauna etc. and only a quick train ride into Dublin. EVERYTHING in Dublin is pricey and I now know why they say it is the most expensive city in Europe! Not an especially good place to take teenagers unless you have a lot of money for shopping, they enjoy history or are old enough to drink.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Del-Mac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We arrived in Dublin on a rainy afternoon, and were looking forward to resting our tired heads. We arrived at Globetrotters at about 1, so we could not get into our room, but the room was ready by 2:30. We had a double room with a shared bathroom. The room was comfortable and quiet. The tv helped us wake up from our nap and was nice to have. The breakfast was wonderful, the best i have seen in a hostel/townhouse. We stayed here one night and moved to another hostel the next night, this hostel was much better!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mengiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

This hostel is in a nice Georgian building near Connelly station and not too far from O’Connell St. The neighbourhood is not the best but it’s not too bad.
As for the hotel there’s fast check-in, friendly and helpful staff. I had a 6 bed female dorm room but I hated having a top bunk as it was a little too high. The bathroom was good but the water was lukewarm; not good if the weather is too chilly.
You will be disturbed by the noise from the rooms above especially around 10pm and 7am as the party crowd are coming and going. There’s not much padding on the floors so they can can be a bit creaky.
Breakfast at Globetrotters is a must as you get a good Full Irish breakfast. The dining room is large so there is plenty of room but there are crowds sometimes.
For a good scenic off the beaten path route to Dublin take the 41 Airport bus right in front of the hostel. Make sure it is the 41Airport and not the 41C (does not go all the way into the airport). If you take this bus make sure you leave in good time to get to the airport as it is a 50 minute ride and probably longer at rush hour.
I would say this is a good place to stay if you want to visit Dublin on a budget as the city is quite expensive and I would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mayday2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

First of all, the hostel itself was gorgeous inside and out, the beds were comfortable and the rooms downstairs were modern and very up to date. My travel buddy and I had basically had a trip from hell losing our credit cards, debit cards, my laptop was stolen, we missed tours, YOU NAME IT. it happened. The staff here was wonderful and very helpful. it was the best hostel i have ever been - The staff "DAVE" even helped me find a western union to receive money the morning before my departure to Rome- and showed me to the bus stop to get to the airport- Stay Here, it is great, SAFE, and very good location.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank claire8608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

stayed here with a group of girlfriends in March during the 6 nations (Ireland Wales weekend). the hostel was full but it didnt stop the front of desk people being really friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was crazy due to sheer numbers but the staff did a fab job of serving people as quick as they could.

The room we had we in the roof of the building and is basically an apartment with a walk in wardrobe! we all loved it!

We had a great stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 124 in Dublin
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Egali Hostel
#13 of 124 in Dublin
163 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 124 in Dublin
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Address: 46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Tourist Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing