We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, charming, love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Ranked #42 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute, charming, love it!”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Stayed 7 nights in the non-hostel part of this establishment, in a single ensuite called "Captain Swift." The room was clean, there was sunlight from a narrow but tall window, and the room as well as the bathroom were decorated with character and charm.
Breakfast was wonderful and among my favorites in my year of traveling.

If you go on "Paddywagon Tours," (which I recommend) the meeting place is a small alley right next to the hotel. The tours leave early in the morning, so that was a plus.
It's a bit of a walk to O'Connell street, and long walk to Grafton Street, Temple Bar, etc (you can take buses from O'Connell street).

The Irish people are some of the friendliest on the planet, for some reason :);
maybe God just loves them more!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alittlebitofthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    55
    26
    11
    13
See reviews for
9
26
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Good location, close to downtown and easily walkable to most attractions. Staff most helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmiss61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

i stayed for three nights in the "townhouse" which is connected but different from the hostel. the common areas and dining room are shared with the hostel so it was loud a couple of the nights i was there. it's close to o'connell street but the area seemed a little rough at night was there were other hostel on the street and it was close to the train station. my single room was very clean and comfortable, there's free WiFi and the irish breakfast was delish!
overall a good budget option in dublin.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephhatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Pretty nice stay here. My sister and I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm, though we had booked a 12 bed mixed dorm; they moved us at check-in for no extra cost, so though it wasnt what we had booked, it worked out okay. People at the front desk are quite friendly and helpful, and check-in was quick. Security is good, you HAVE to show your pass every time you enter the building, and all the doors are done by key-card.

Internet is free, and although there are only two terminals in the building, I never had to wait more than 10 minutes to use it.

Breakfast is great, the best hostel breakfast I've ever had. they have eggs, bacon, sausage, toast with 2 types of jam and honey, porridge, various cereals, tea, coffee, apple and orange juice, fresh fruit, different fruit and nut breads, tomatoes, and beans. So lots of variety, and all for free.

The rooms are alright. Bunkbeds are nice and high, so the person on the bottom can actually sit up in bed. The lockers are drawers under the beds, which can make it a bit awkward if you need to get into it when other people are around; theres not a lot of space then. The waterpressure in the shower is not great, and hot water is extremely hard to come by! In the evening, at least, it is always lukewarm at best. But things were kept quite clean, which is good. The floor squeaks something awful though, so even if you try to be quiet, you end up waking people up.

Location was decent. Off a main street. Only a 10 minute walk to Temple Bar district for the nightlife. We never felt unsafe at night.

On the whole, it was better than the average hostel, one i would recommend, even if just for the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I stayed in the Globetrotters/Townhouse for 4 nights during St. Patrick's Day weekend by myself. One would think it would be a noisy, drunken environment but it was quite the opposite. The front staff was great. I checked in about 6 hours early but my room was ready. This was especially nice because I had taken a red-eye from New York and needed a nap. My room was pretty small but it didn't matter since I only spent time in the room to sleep. The bed was comfortable, the linens were clean and soft. The view in my room was of a parking lot, but I wasn't expecting anything. The wifi didn't work from my room so I had to go to the lobby to use it, which wasn't a really big deal but I prefer to have wifi access in my room while traveling.

The hotel is very clean with a bit of a rustic charm. Most of the other lodgers were young Europeans in town for St. Patrick's Day but they were all extremely nice people and not noisy. The free breakfast buffet every morning is awesome. They have cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, Irish sausage, eggs, toast, you name. it. On the morning of St. Patrick's Day, there was a traditional Irish band playing while we ate breakfast and the hotel staff served little shots of Bailey's!

The hotel is located on a street with lots of other hostels and it is within quick walking distance of O'Connell street and The Abbey Theater. The hotel is not close to Temple Bar but you can walk to it in 10-15 minutes. If you are coming from the airport, definitely take the bus because it is cheap, quick and Busares is literally a block away from the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again. The price is good, the location is excellent and I especially liked the breakfast.

Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellygobraugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I had to wait forever for the water to heat up. After waiting so long and not wanting to waste water, I just grit my teeth and took quick, cold showers. Otherwise, I thought it a bit more expensive than the other hostels nearby, but it's a cozy place and the staff are friendly and helpful. Also, it's a high security building. I have no complaints about cleanliness as the rooms and bathrooms were kept clean. One thing that stood out was the full Irish breakfast. It is to die for. I don't think I've stayed in a hostel with such a great breakfast buffet as Globetrotters has.

A decent and quiet location, although inside the hostel can be a bit noisy. I had no concerns with regards to safety in the neighborhood, but the area seems to empty out at night. Computer with Internet access in the common room and enough places to find a comfy spot to relax. Steps to O'Connell St and just minutes away from Temple Bar. You are close to shops and transportation. The bus to the airport stops right in front of the hostel, and Busarus is nearby.

Other than the shower situation, I was impressed and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramercy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Best hostel room I've ever been.
We got a clean and comfortable room with kitchen, bathroom and TV.
About 7 minutes walking from the temple bar. Easy to get to and from the airport by bus.
There is a lift but we had to climb some stairs.
The breakfast (included) was ok.

  • Liked — The room was great
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
O'Shea's Hotel
#88 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
North City Centre
Adelphi Guesthouse
Adelphi Guesthouse
#87 of 150 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
#25 of 106 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Spire Hostel
#17 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Property: Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Address: 46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Tourist Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing