We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Brooks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brooks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Location is excellent. Restaurant very good - we had pre-theatre menu and breakfast. We were not fortunate enough to get a re-furbished room but the decor was ok (Laura Ashley type). However plumbing in bathroom left a lot to be desired. No exaggeration -it took 10 minutes for tap or shower to run hot. That included second person in bathroom!!! Also plug in sink would not stay open. Window was not closing properly so was draughty and noisy. Pianist in bar was very jazzy and not at all seasonal for Christmas. On checking out we had been charged for having eaten dinner twice instead of once! However we would use hotel again but request a better room.

Room Tip: Ask for a re-furbished one. Ours was not and had a draughty window letting in street noise and it to...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reykern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,347)
There are newer reviews for Brooks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,514 - 1,520 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

Very friendly and welcoming! They took excellent care of us. Room was typical size for Ireland, but was warm and well equipped. The location is great located in the middle of most of Dublin's sights. We also had dinner at the hotel which was excellent. If you're staying in Dublin, we highly recommend this hotel and will use them again the next time we're there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors if you want a quieter room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panton507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stopped one night at Brooks to rest after our transatlantic flight before traveling onward to visit family in Derry. We were hoping for a good night's sleep, but we did not get it. We were given a first floor room facing Drury St. Brooks Hotel is in a great location - easy walk to Grafton Street. But this also meant a lot of late night pedestrian traffic passing by. We were kept awake by street noise, and noise from the Brooks bar (including the piano playing which we could hear clearly in our room) until 3 am. The bed is comfortable. I was surprised to see this hotel still has old-fashioned televisions, but no one goes to Ireland to watch TV, right? The staff was friendly, and the rooms were clean. If you are in Dublin to stay out late and experience the night life, this is a great place to stay. If, like us, you need some sleep, this might not be such a good choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors that don't face Drury Street!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheeldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Brooks Hotel in Dublin was a pleasant surprise. I was a little worried about it. The photos I saw online weren't the most flattering and while guidebooks didn't say anything negative, they don't exactly endorse it either.

But, other than trying to park in this part of Dublin, the Brooks Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The people at the reception desk were warm and helpful, the concierge was incredibly helpful, going well beyond what we expected from him. The rooms were on the small side, but beautiful. The beds were among the most comfortable we've ever come across.

The location is ideal. It's a short walk to all of the major sites in Dublin, making this a terrific home base.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobB009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Disorganised staff, cold toast, full irish breakfast lacking enthusiasm and crispness. Will still come again and again, but a wee bit more due care and attention required on cooked breakfasts is required! Porridge has got worse over time! Sorry to be a bore!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ferretIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Another annual trip to Dublin with my wife and again the great atmosphere of this extremely well situated hotel. We usually eat in the city but this weekend each and every Dublin restaurant in the city center was overbooked. It was a pleasure to dine in the hotel itself. Nice music and excellent food. See you next year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardoNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Lovely hotel, food v good, bar and lobby area spotless, great service, room was a little dated but spotless nonetheless. Location excellent, highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrabaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
3,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel

Address: 59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#15 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £149 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing