We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with a great location”
Review of Brooks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brooks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classy hotel with a great location”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The staff here makes the stay memorable. The rooms a very clean and modern. The hotel does have a snug feel, but the lobby and bar are spacious. The breakfasts are excellent as well. Try the scones and homemade bread. We would definitely stay here again when we come back to Dublin.

Room Tip: lower rooms are good to quickly access the stairs and head down to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opihiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    685
    126
    51
    11
See reviews for
342
1,062
111
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Truly pleased we picked this hotel, i knew we would be happy for its location but it was its own style that made it more special. Being a boutique hotel we were not disappointed with our rooms either, it was spacious and comfortable. Liked the little extras in the room for added comfort if required it, like the pillow menu ( for a better sleep if you have a pillow preference). We even had some cookies waiting on the table for our arrival.
Breakfast was great with both hot or cold food to decide from and the staff were very attentive in making sure you had everything you wanted for breakfast.

The hotel is literally 2 minutes away from Temple bar area and Trinity Collage, which is why we booked the hotel and there are plenty of shops around the hotel as well. Really could not pick a fault with the hotel and would happily recommend or return should I re-vist Dublin in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Beautiful clean and very cheerful lobby/reception, i reckon the christmas tree added to the nostalgic feeling. The room we were in was quite small but very comfortable and clean. we were on the 6th floor and the view although near the centre of town was lovely, roof tops adorned with sparking lights. the room was very quiet and the bathroom was spacious considering the room size. the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmol7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk and killarney, ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Check-in was efficient and speedy, even if it did appear that it was the doorman who was checking us in.
We arrived at around 11pm, and had to park at Stephens Green Parking, which is perhaps a 10minute walk to the hotel with luggage.
The room was pleasant, though the décor seems a little dark. It's a city centre hotel, so I can cope with the view of the car park opposite.
We weren't disturbed by any noise from the revellers on the street below nor from within the hotel.
Breakfast was perfectly nice.
Check-out was speedy.
The hotel was fine. It would have been nice I guess if the reception staff had asked if I needed any assistance with luggage but it felt like once I had handed over that keycard, that was that.

The Positives: Location for the city centre
Clean and pleasant rooms
Enjoyable breakfast and pleasant waiting staff

The Negatives: Parking (though I realise there is a car park on the same street but it's not open 24hours and the rates are higher)
The day reception staff could have appeared to be a little more interested. There wasn't any query regarding our stay. Perhaps the assumption is that if we don't complain, all is well? Maybe I'm being too fussy?

Would I stay here again? I wouldn't not stay here again, but I'd prefer the Radisson.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I can honestly say that we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Myself & a friend stayed here on New Year's Eve. We arrived early & the staff made us feel welcome by looking after our bags, getting us signed in & offering us complimentary tea & coffee after our early flight.

The concierge "Connor" was very helpful, shook our hands and remembered our names throughout our stay, gave us information, maps & directions when needed, even called us in the room to give us further information. The breakfast team were very efficient, always asking if we'd like tea, coffee toast etc & remembered us from the morning before. The young lady on the bar was friendly as we're the reception team. We even had a knock on the door in the evening to check that everything was ok with the room.

The hotel is ideally located, you can walk to Grafton st, Temple bar, O Connell St etc.

Breakfast was lovely. Freshly cooked hot options as well as a huge choice of continental options and endless supply of fresh toast & hot drinks. The flapjacks were a favourite of ours.

We ordered room service in the evening, the club sandwich was huge. Sunshine pasta had a lot of garlic yet very light & tasty. We also had a sandwich later that evening from the 24 hour room service menu, the service was very quick. I would say the prosecco was over priced at 52 euros & a large bottle of sparkling water was 7 euros, however maybe that's what we should expect for a city centre hotel.

We found a lovely Thai restaurant just around the corner called Saba, nice freshly cooked food & reasonably priced. We went back twice & would recommend.

Overall I would say the service at this hotel was great and made our stay. Thank you Brooks hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlene01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on New Year's Eve. The hotel was very busy, to be expected, but nonetheless, we arrived to a warm, relaxed and friendly welcome! It also came up that I was celebrating my birthday and later on in the afternoon, two gorgeous cupcakes were left into the room for us! We had a bite to eat for lunch - pasta and a goats cheese sandwich. The hotel is a member of good food Ireland and the food was delicious and of very high quality. Breakfast the next morning also had ample choice and was very tasty. The location is with minutes walk of Grafton street, Stephen's Green etc. so there is an abundance of lovely bars and restaurants and sightseeing opportunities in the area. It is a perfect choice for a city break and I look forward to returning!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NoRegrets31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunadry
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed with my wife for 1 night at the beginning of December.
First the good points:
Well located close to Grafton Street and St, Stephens Green
Nice cosy friendly bar
Clean and comfortable rooms

However:
Upon arrival we were initially told that out guaranteed upgrade was not available as the hotel was full. After some consultation between the receptionist and the duty manager we eventually got our upgrade, although not really convinced it was much of an upgrade as we didn't see any other rooms ago compare AND we had been told the hotel was FULL?
Room was at the front of the hotel above the street and as such was noisy when's he bars emptied.
An alarm sounded ALL night until 11am from a nearby building which kept us awake. Admittedly this was despite efforts from the hotel and apparently the Garda/police to raise the key holder. I don't blame the hotel for this but it didn't help.
It took over one hour for our room service order for breakfast to arrive and this was only after a follow up phone call.

We enjoyed our stay and the convenience of the hotel was good, but the initially problem at check in and again with the breakfast I feel calls into question the attitude towards service of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel which according to the staff will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevengallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,464 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel

Property: Brooks Hotel
Address: 59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#15 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing