We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Brooks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brooks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

All of the staff were extremely patient and helpful. The hotel was spotless and the room was neat, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the servers were friendly. One of the concierges, Connor, went above and beyond in helping us with our car rental agency. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor or above to cut down on outside street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    686
    126
    51
    11
See reviews for
342
1,063
111
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I chose this for the start of our recent trip to Ireland. It was a great choice. The hotel is ideally located in central Dublin, convenient to St. Stephens Green, Trinity College, the Temple Bar district, St. Patrick's Cathedral, etc. We were able to walk of use the buses to get everywhere. Most of the bus stops were within a 2-5 minute walk. Breakfast was very good, a buffet plus the choice of a hot breakfast in addition to the buffet. The staff was extremely helpful, and eager to be of service. Each time we passed through the lobby it seemed as if we were asked if we needed anything. I messed up and brought the wrong power adapters, but that was no issue as the front desk has them to loan or purchase. When we were ready to leave for our walk of the Wicklow Way the hotel was just around the corner from the stop for the #16 bus to Marlay Park, very convenient. Definitely a place I would return on future visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyclistRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meekatharra, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to Ireland started well with a couple of nights in the Brooks Hotel. Great central location within walking distance to pubs (try the Hairy Lemon down the street!), shops, cafes and attractions.

Reception and bar area is lovely, hotel room clean and nice and comfy with free wifi and facilities etc. Aircon in our room was a bit weak but not all that necessary in Dublins mild climate.

The concierge was lovely, so funny and very helpful!

Would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were first timers to Dublin during our recent trip and couldn’t have been happier having chosen the Brooks Hotel.
Centrally located the hotel is very close to Temple Bar and lots and lots of restaurants and bars.
The hotel is also a comfortable 10 min walk, with luggage, from where the air link 747 bus stops.
The interiors of this hotel is fantastic, such a welcoming homely feeling, while it still has a bit of an ‘old world’ charm about it.
While it is a strange thing to write in a review, it is by the far the cleanest smelling hotel I have ever stayed in!!
The guest rooms are very plush indeed, big comfortable beds and very nice décor. The old school radio that is playing in the room as you enter in a nice touch. The bathroom is well stocked with good quality toiletries.
Our room rate included breakfast each morning. There is a plentiful buffet of cold options and you can pick one item from the a la carte menu. The first morning I chose the Irish Breakfast, which was fantastic. The scrambled egg the next morning was not quite so great.
My one negative with this hotel was that a few requests made of staff in the restaurant at breakfast took quite a long time to be attended to.
Other than that minor issue, the staff throughout the hotel were polite and friendly and other requests were attended to very quickly.
Overall, if you are visiting Dublin, I would highly recommend the Brooks hotel. I know that if we find ourselves in the fair city again, we will seek out the Brooks hotel a second time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a great location and surprisingly quiet. You can walk everywhere. Check in was a bit of a mess. She actually asked us if we were sure we had the right hotel....then she found our information..they had keyed in our last name incorrectly. This happened to every other couple checking in as well....so this is something they need to work on.

Connor is great and everything about this hotel is nice and comfortable.

Breakfast is good...however if you go close to the end of breakfast...you will have a very difficult time with getting service.

Keep in mind...this hotel does not give umbrellas to their guests when it rains and it rains often.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowers1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in the Brooks Hotel for three nights. From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. We arrived early but checking in early was no problem. The staff we encountered were so very helpful. Connor got to know us and took the time to recommend sights and orientate us in the city.

The room was ideal. Very clean and quiet despite being very centrally located in the city centre.

Breakfast was the only meal we ate in the hotel however it was consistently perfect. Great choices at the buffet and the al a carte selections were broad. The staff in Francesca's Restaurant and Cafe Lounge were very welcoming.

The hotel is in a great location. Five minutes to Grafton Street for shopping and dining, and not much further to Temple Bar.

Could not recommend this place more. Great value for money, awesome location and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bezra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our review is actually short. On our way to our meal at another restaurant, we walked past this hotel and they have a bar named The Jasmine Bar, and Jasmine just happens to be our Daughter's name. So, we came back here for a coffee before going home. We sat down in the Jasmine Bar and ordered coffee for me, hot chocolate for our Daughter and my OH had a lemon cake with sorbet & cool drink. We were talking to the Barman and explaining why we were here, and He laughed. When we went to pay the bill, they gave us the hot chocolate and coffee FOC as a mark of gesture. We were really touched by this and we will go back, maybe not for the hotel, but most certainly for the food. REALLY touched by this. and a BIG thank You Staff of The Brooks Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComfortablyNumb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,462 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel

Property: Brooks Hotel
Address: 59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#15 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing