We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of Brooks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Hotel
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at Brooks weekend of August 15th, check in was very efficient and courteous. The lady on desk anticipated every query. The room was lovely, big for city centre hotel. It was quite quirky and welcoming with an old fashioned radio and bust is the corner. The decoration was lovely. Wifi worked very well. Water, tea and coffee was all available in the room. The toiletries were very nice, great to see conditioner as hotels do not normally provide. Nice touch! The hotel is in a great location, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.
Two minor things I would have liked; a sheet along with duvet. I just prefer a sheet. And a few more outlets available, between two people with phones, cameras etc, we struggled to keep everything charged.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Newfie_Bullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is one of the better Hotels in Dublin I have stayed in. Very clean and good standard of Decor/furnishings. Room was not huge but was adequate for a couple of nights, standard was high. Breakfast very good although service was quite slow (long wait for Coffee and toast after placing request). Check in and check out were smooth and did not have to queue. Free Wifi worked well with no issues. No bottled water available in room which is always disappointing.. Temperature was reasonably comfortable in August.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gmount1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Brooks Hotel. It is small and charming and extremely convenient to most things touristy in Dublin. The rooms, while not large by any standard, were decorated beautifully. It's the only hotel we have stayed at that offers a pillow bar - a choice from among many types of pillows. The breakfast downstairs was amazing - a full buffet and made to order. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hazellp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

When greeted at the reception desk, we filled in our information and gave our credit card imprint, at which point the lady at the desk was ready to send us away - without keys. When we pointed this out, she gave us the keys to one room until we reminded her that we had reserved two rooms. Upon getting to our rooms, we discovered the wife didn't work, and when someone came to check it out, the person very rudely pointed out that the problem was on our end because we had our phones on airplane mode - we had to point out several times that wifi can be turned on without removing our phones from airplane mode at which point he grudgingly agreed to talk to the manager about turning the router on and off. Four hours later, still no wifi. Next we discovered that the TV in the second room didn't work and neither did the air conditioning. When we pointed this out we were told by the front desk that they were aware of this problem and that the room was a maintenance issue. We requested a room change that was completed at 11 pm that night. The next day during breakfast, we took bets on how long it would take for one of the servers to make eye contact with us so that we could request more coffee - it took 10 minutes. Four stars is an overly generous rating for this hotel - there are better hotels out there at these prices. Don't bother staying here unless your expectations are low.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in Dublin for two nights at the Brooks. It is a small boutique hotel and very nice indeed. We checked in with no trouble and got a quiet room on the third floor. The receptionist seemed a bit green as she was not very knowledgeable about the surroundings, etc. I wanted to know where to get a sim card- she didn't know.. btw, there is a Stephen's Green shopping center with a meteor store for a sim card. The concierge apparently had gone home as it was a Sunday- I guess that is what you get if you stay in a small hotel.
The room was nice and spacious. We didn't get the breakfast package but paid 10 euros the next morning to try- it was good but nothing spectacular. We ate across the street the next day- a tiny little cafe serving yummy coffee and omelets.
The bar area was very nice, we sat and had a drink in the evening as it was raining and quite chilly…We went for a nice dinner around the corner to the hairy lemon one evening.
Overall it was a good experience. We took the airport coach in the morning from Dawson street which was a 7 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice, warm hotel. You couldn't ask for a better location to the City Center restaurants, Sights and Pubs. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Fresh coffee each morning was a favorite. The rooms were clean and sizable. Beds and pillows very comfortable. However, no printer for the computer. (You are supposed to email to the front desk. Not good for this type of hotel, in my opinion.) We took two wonderful tours through "Irish Day Tours" that met at The Old Stone Church on Suffolk Street. This hotel is perfectly located for this little walk to meet the buses and there you will see the Molly Malone statue as well!. I just thought this hotel had been a bit overpriced for the "weekend" rates. What made me compare was that we had just been in London and stayed at The Montague on the Gardens - which was an exquisite hotel - and the Brooks Hotel is not quite up to those standards but yet charges more. I will still recommend it, though. There is a lot to enjoy!

Room Tip: Higher up will help keep the "Pub Noise" down. Elevator "ding" is loud, so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawk42Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel was in a great location, in easy walking distance of most everything we wanted to see. Conner the greeter was a delight. He was the hotel. Very friendly, courteous and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseeCounsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,077 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel

Address: 59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#15 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £145 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing