We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location lovely staff worth the bit extra”
Review of Brooks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brooks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous location lovely staff worth the bit extra”
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Brooks is a lovely litlle oasis in the heart of Dublin. The staff were brilliant, the hotel was clean and neat and the location is spot on if you want to see the sights, do some shopping and eat great food. We had a wonderful time in Dublin for a couple of days and with the help of the staff at Brooks managed to see and do everything we would have wanted to. From the first impression where we were greeted by the desk staff and the concierge they were lovely they gave us a map showed us all the things we should do provided us with recommendations for food and drink. We had one issue with our room that was resolved immediately. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a short stay in Dublin it is a little bit more expensive but it is totally worth it to minimise your hassle.

  • Liked — Staff and Service
  • Disliked — Room Size but its a European hotel so don't expect a mansion
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2xNZTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    685
    126
    51
    10
See reviews for
341
1,062
111
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We booked our trip to Ireland through a company who specializes in Ireland travel. I read about the Brooks here and decided this was where I wanted to stay for Christmas, the beginning of our trip. However, the travel agency didn't have a contract with the Brooks, and the suggested other places. I looked them over but finally said if they didn't book us at the Brooks I wouldn't be booking with them, they did, and we had a wonderful time. The only thing I would have changed was that our room was small--a double and a twin for myself, my husband and our nine year old. However, everything else was first class. The food was fresh, delicious, and varied. The croissants were the best we've ever had, hands down. The location is perfect for visiting Dublin. There is a pillow menu, a huge "screening room" for movies, turn down service, and a great bar. I cannot say enough about The Brooks. We stayed in many different hotels all over central and southern Ireland and this was by far our favorite. I suggest you don't have a car, however, while staying there. No need, and it will cost you at the car park across the street.

  • Liked — Clean, wonderful staff, great location, outstanding food
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Seredni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2008

My parents reserved a night at the Brooks for my husband and I the first night of our honeymoon in Ireland. They heard good things about the hotel and they were right!

The hotel itself is located downtown in Dublin, a few blocks from the river. It was within walking distance of many major sights, including the Guinness Brewery (about a 20 minute walk). Check-in was easy and we had a bell-hop accompany us to our room, even at the late hour we arrived. He was very helpful and friendly and showed us where to find some restaraunts that would still be open.

The room was pretty, if a little out-dated. They took good care of it and it was very clean. The bed was very large and comfortable. They had put rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed and set out cookies and sparkling water, compliments of the hotel. The bathroom was clean and modern, with marble flooring and countertops.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room. We chose continental style (serving scones, cereals, fruit, juices, bread, etc) so I can't say if the hot meal was included, but by the look of the neighboring tables' food, it was hearty and good!

We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelliwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

The huge plus point for this hotel are the lovely, friendly staff and excellent location as well as the fabulous bedrooms ! We arrived before checkin time but our room was ready so we were able to go right up. The room was really lovely, at the back of the hotel not overlooking the street so it was nice and quiet. The only problem we had was with grumbling pipes in the bathroom when we turned on the tap and it seemed to be the same if anyone else in the vicinity turned on the taps too ! However, it wasnt a major problem and didnt detract from the ambience at all ! The only other little detail was, there were no heated towel rails in the bathroom and in December, it made the room a little chilly ! We eat in the dining room on our first night and also had breakfast both of which were excellent ! The location of the hotel was excellent, just minutes from Grafton Street and we were surrounded by not only little individual shops but all the multiples that abound in every city. There are lots of lovely eateries adjacent to the hotel if you don't want to dine in but check out the prices, we found Dublin to be quite expensive compared to the UK. The exchange rate for the euro/pound didnt help. But ~ all in all an excellent trip in a beautiful hotel !

  • Liked — Luxury rooms and lovely staff !
  • Disliked — Noisy pipes and cool bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

A very nice, clean hotel with an excellent location and a reasonable price for Dublin. Our room on the second floor was facing the street, which during the weekend stay turned out to be quite busy / noisy with local pub traffic. If you manage to reserve a higher floor and/or a room that doesn’t face the street – this hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NewClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We recently got back from a trip to Dublin. We stayed at the Brooks Hotel for two nights (Tuesday/Wednesday). The staff was extremely helpful which was great because it was our first trip to Dublin. The hotel location could not be better. We walked to Guinness, Trinity College, Temple Bar, Christ Church, and lots of pubs/bars/restaurants. We received a good deal on the hotel since it was the off-season. It was definitely worth it. Can't speak to the hotel restaurant as we didn't eat there - plenty of lower cost options within walking distance. Would definitely stay at Brooks Hotel again.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, staff
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthAustin704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Brooks Hotel for our final night of our honeymoon. Thinking that we had seen the best there was to see throughout our tour of Ireland, we were blown away by the level of customer service we had the pleasure of experiencing at the Brooks.
I can't wait to come back to Dublin to stay at the Brooks again, and I woudn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning on visiting Dublin in the futur.
Congratulations to the management and staff of the Brooks Hotel, and a number of other hotels show take some notes how customer service should be executed.
Great work!

  • Liked — Customer service of front desk and concierge
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg_presley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,834 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,460 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel

Property: Brooks Hotel
Address: 59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#15 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing