We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Whether jet lag enhanced my sleep or not, those pillows have to be the best on the planet. Very clean, very compact, very comfy. My room happened to be quite small, but the price was right. The staff experience was varied, with about half the staff completely capable and the other half at various degrees of inexperience. To be expected as the season begins.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dafiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    512
    140
    33
    14
See reviews for
284
569
83
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

My husband and I had a nice stay at Buswells recently. We were traveling through Dublin on our honeymoon. The room was a nice size (comfortable bed, clean linens, nice fluffy comforter) and the bathroom was well appointed (marble counters, nice bath). And the location was nice - we could walk to St. Stephen's Green and to the many shops, restaurants and pubs in the area.

My only "issue" with this hotel was the price gouging that the Night Attendant "tried" to get from us. We had booked a reservation for Thursday evening but had arrived in Dublin a day early, on Wednesday. It was about 7:30pm when we arrived and asked if there was any availability - he was told there were three rooms available @ 160 euros. My husband replied that we were booked the next night @ 93 euros and could we get that price, we were told no. So we had to go to another hotel. My problem with that is if you go to their website, there are many last minute specials - there was no way we were paying 160 euro to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 504travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Buswells is a fantastic hotel which is both comfortable and full of character in a perfect location (I'm sure neighboring hotels cost a great deal more). Dublin is a completely walkable city and perfect for a short break and therefore it's particularly ideal to have a city centre hotel, which doesn't break the bank (and isn't a Premier In/no frills affair). We got a great deal on a room for one night, our room was very large, the bed very comfortable and it came with all the amenities you could want. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanookLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Just come home from a short stay to celebrate St.Patrick's Day. Buswells Hotel was perfectly located in the centre of Dublin. Although offically a 3 star hotel, I would certainly rate it 4+ star or even a 5. There are many 4 & 5 star hotels worlwide that could learn from Buswells. The staff were simply excellent, very attentive, friendly, efficient and professional. The hotel is very well maintained without the tatty edges and worn out corners which can usually be expected from a hotel of this age. The lounge bar was relaxing and very comfortable and served an excellent pint of Guinness. The restaurant was very nicely appointed and, although there was only one chef on duty that night, they advised us in advance that there would be a 20 minute wait and invited us to relax in the bar for a short while. This was open and considerate; far better than keeping quiet making us sit at the table with a long drawn out wait. The breakfast was simply perfect; a wide choice all freshly prepared and cooked to perfection, and again excellent service.
A special mention for Clive and Paddy, two of the best Concierge I have ever had the pleasure to meet. They were totally on the ball making sure everyone was well cared for, and the attention they gave us when looking for particular locations in the City was refreshing and totally genuine.
Dublin is certainly a great place; Buswells Hotel makes it perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakingWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I have just returned from a stay at the Buswells Hotel and can't praise it highly enough.
From the moment we arrived, we were treated to 5* service. The staff were excellent ... friendly, hospitable and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is a 3* but in my view, deserves a much higher rating. The lounge and bar areas had a lovely feel to them but what made it so pleasant were the staff. It was like being in a 5* Hotel. I travel all over Europe and have to say that the service here exceeds many hotels I stay in, with a much higher star rating.
The rooms were large and pleasant and the lovely Georgian feel to the hotel was great . Fantastic location too ... 5 mins walk from Grafton St and Temple Bar etc.
The breakfast was amazing ....couldn't beat it .I didn't eat in the restaurant, however, I heard very good reports from others about the food quality.
I would not hesitiate to recommend this hotel ..... 5* all the way !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nissanessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

With having close relatives in Dublin I have always stayed with them on previous trips but this time I wanted to see the city from a tourist point of view rather than as a native Dubliner.Lovely old world atmosphere,atractive comfortable loobby and a pleasant bar which we spent a lot of time in but not nearly enough.Michael the barman was polite ,professional and dilligent.The location is excellent,just across the road from Leinster house with a very short walk to the shops,bars or whatever takes your fancy.If you like minimalism and faceless chain hotels this isnt the place for you but if like me you are visiting a city for its character and history its only right that your accomodation also reflects this,and Buswells does this very well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank padsmcginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed for one night in February. The location is fantastic, the lobby and pub/restaurant rooms are amazingly Georgian. The room was very clean but dated and in need of rehab (wallpaper peeling off, grout in tub missing). We needed a room with no feather pillows or duvet and housekeeping was fantastic at switching out for synthetic alternatives. They were very nice about it too. The staff on the front desk and the staff in the dining area were abrupt/brusque- not sure if they were just too busy or didn't care to be friendly. Food was quite good at dinner and breakfast. The hotel was quiet until after midnight. We stayed on a Saturday night and it was clear when everyone was heading back to their rooms after going out. Loud talking in halls, footsteps and doors slamming.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, BookAssist, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing