We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in October. Our visitor information book said the hotel was recently totally refurbished but our room did not appear this way as the carpets were quite worn and the tiles and bath looked tired. The wifi reception is good but there is a frustrating login system and your code expires each day which is inconvenient. We also had an issue with a simple request to print an email which was not a positive experience. The staff tried to be helpful but appeared to be thwarted by the email system. I cannot comment on the restaurant as we did not eat there, breakfast was not included in our rate and was 12 euro extra. There are many places nearby for breakfast anyhow. The hot water service was patchy at times and we did have a cold shower on one occasion.

On the positive side this hotel has an excellent location and you are walking distance to almost everything, including some great restaurants. Also by prepaying we got a good rate in comparison to other central Dublin hotels on offer. I would recommend this place if you are looking to be very central for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Ninja_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Ginger_Ninja_888, thank you for your comments following your stay with us recently. We appreciate all feedback as it enables us to improve on our product and service.
We are in the process of changing our Wi-Fi system away from the daily code which we hope will make the experience better for our guests.
I am delighted to read how great you found our location - we are so central with many attractions within walking distance.
I hope your journey home was a pleasant one and hope you are planning another trip back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    549
    147
    35
    14
See reviews for
303
620
89
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Buswells seems like it belongs in a past era, but we found this to be charming. Our room was comfortable and clean, but the window view of a service shaft left a lot to be desired. The hotel is in a great location that provides easy access to Trinity College and shopping at Grafton Street. The staff is very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our requests. Dining in the hotel's two restaurants was very satisfying. I would definitely recommend this hotel, but make sure you ask for a room with a view from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Marcysmom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and made use of our fantastic location for shopping and sightseeing.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My Grand -mother stayed in Buswells almost one hundred years ago when she visiteed from the North of Ireland.My brother and I have both stayed there several times.It is comfortablewith a cosy sitting area and a friendly bar and coffee area with very helpful staff throughout.
It is only a very short distance from the shopping centre of Grafton Street ,from Trinity College ,the Art centres and National Concert Hall and from St.Stephens Green with the lovely park in the middle .
An added bonus is that the bus from the Airport stops at the corner and is nearby for the return.
Where else could you find such an agreeable place to stay?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaPentycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear PatriciaPentycross,
Thank you for your lovely comments on Buswells Hotel, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. You are right about our location - so many attractions and shops a short walk from the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, OH
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed here two nights for business travel. The hotel has a great location, plenty of cafes, pubs, and restaurants for eating and very near the Airport Shuttle stop. And it is in a rather nice section of Dublin.

I found the room to be comfortable, especially the bed. The bathroom had a deep bathtub, and while the water takes awhile to get warm, there was plenty of hot water. In addition to standard tea, instant coffee, and biscuits, the room also had two large bottles of water, one with bubbles and one without. Internet access was great. I did not have any trouble with streaming or video calls back home.

My room was on the second floor. My visit overlapped with Arthur's Day, and despite the noise outside, I was not much disturbed by traffic or people noise in my room.

I really enjoyed the old style of the hotel but also appreciated that the rooms were clean and newish. The hotel staff were helpful, giving me directions, as needed. They were not overly warm -- a bit more New England style -- but helpful nonetheless.

I did not eat their breakfast. There were many good coffee shops in the area where one can get a strong coffee and a light breakfast for a few euro.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AbbyHintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
AbbyHintz, thank you for your wonderful review following your stay with us last month. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our great location with the Airport Shuttle (AirCoach) and so many cafes and pubs in the area.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant trip home and look forward to seeing you back in Buswells on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about Buswells - location, size, staff - but most we loved people-watching in comfortable chairs in the beautiful cosy bar where lingering over a newspaper, with tea or a Guinness, is welcome. The hotel has a relaxed pace, attentive and stress-free, a perfect beginning to out Irish adventure.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Glts, thank you for your wonderful feedback following your stay with us recently. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed our cosy bar - the chairs are great for people-watching and relaxing.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a beautiful stay here at the beginning and end of our trip to Ireland in September. The service went above and beyond - Mary, Clive, Paddy, Lenore, Vicky ... everyone took such excellent care to ensure that our experience was great. The beds were good, the showers were fine, the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was wonderful. Location is excellent - just around the corner from Trinity College, Stephen's Green, and staff assisted with all of our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 185kateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Kate B,
Thank you for your lovely comments and the helpfulness of the team here. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stays with us.

I hope you had a pleasant and safe trip back to the States and hope you are planning another trip back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building, good range of food on bar lounge menu - paninis to rib eye steak, nice atmosphere, breakfast cooked to order, wonderful large beds BUT nightmare showers - scalding or freezing. Was assured all showers having a refit in October. Nice part of town. Have corporate rate of €85 B&B so will check if showers done on next visit or move account.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
RNR59, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay with us recently. It is great to read how much you enjoyed our facilities including our great range of bar food.
I do apologise for the plumbing issues that you encountered and would like to assure you that issue has been rectified.
I look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, BookAssist, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing