We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World comfort and atmosphere”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old World comfort and atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Recently had occassion to entertain a friend ofr lunch at this hotel and found it to be most enjoyable. Service and atmosphere were a perfect antidote to the bussle of the city outside. Carvery lunch was excellent and with white crisp linen and lots of space around the tables the experience did not correspond with the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Philip D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your recent visit to Buswells Hotel. I am delighted that you and your friend enjoyed your lunch.

Myself and the team look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    527
    142
    34
    14
See reviews for
293
587
87
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you are considering staying in Dublin, pick here. Central location, old fashioned, friendly service, attention to detail and a great breakfast. Plenty of hot water both morning and night.
My daughter and I stayed a large room with two double beds, the best sleep ever in a quiet room in the centre of a major city is not to be sniffed at. A rare thing. A good central location, within easy walking distance of all the major shopping areas and the university.
The staff on the desk are most helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: room 201 has two double beds, these rooms were to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollytail02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Ewartfamily,

Thank you for your lovely comments on Buswells Hotel and the helpfulness of the team here. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we have nothing but praise for this establishment. Apart from being in an ideal location, the hotel itself is warm, and inviting. The staff, I am pleased to report, are of exceptional quality - especially the lady who worked the reception desk during the day while were were there (26 - 29 October 2013). When she knew that I was participating in the Dublin Marathon she had no hesitation in moving me to the quietest room in the hotel and for this I am really grateful!! I certainly can recommend this hotel and will, without any doubt, stay there when next I visit the beautiful city of Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew-AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear David D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Buswells Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and well done on participating in the Dublin Marathon.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Buswells Hotel is a good place if you're in Dublin for a short stay. As the rooms don't have much storage-space they might feel a bit small if you plan ro stay more than an extended weekend.

The location is great; you can walk to most of the sights from here, and the main shoppingstreet is only a few hundred meters away. The street is also fairly quiet, so you will not be disturbed at night by pub-guests on their way home.

Been here once, and will stay here the next time I come to Dublin as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caline1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Caline 1981,
Thank you for your lovely comments on Buswells Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us. It is great to read that you made use of our fantastic location.

I hope you had a pleasant trip back to Oslo and we look forward to seeing you back in Buswells on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parlin, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When we arrived last Tuesday on 10/15, the street was closed for protesters due to the new budget (not the hotels fault). Buswells is made up of townhouses and the room was nice (small though) and the staff was so helpful! It is right between Trinity College and St Stephen's Green and as long as we were near either place, we were always able to find Kildare Street - of course the day of the protesters, it was really easy to find, just follow the garda. lol

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Mary Beth G,
Thank you for you review following your stay with us last week. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice stay at Buswells! It's an older building, and obviously actually a couple different buildings that have been remodeled and connected over the years, but all the fixtures in my room were newer and in excellent condition and very clean. All the staff were wonderful, pleasant and very helpful, front desk, housekeeping, dining room and bar!
My room was pretty small, but perfectly comfortable for me. The wi-fi was a bit spotty in my room, I'd occasionally lose connection, but the wi-fi was excellent in the pub, dining and reception areas.
The only meals I ate in the dining room were the breakfast buffet which was good, nice typical hotel breakfast buffet. I ate a couple meals in the pub, good selection of pub foods, I had an excellent fish-chips dinner and also a beef and Guiness stew!
I really enjoyed Buswells location, it was perfect for me, away from the noise of temple bar and Grafton street but within a easy walk of most Dublin sites. Buswells is next door to the Irish Archeological Museum, and is only a block or two from the Natural History Museum, the National Gallery, St Stephens Green, and Merrion Square.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt98030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Matt98030,
Thank you for your posting your review from your recent stay at Buswells Hotel. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our facilities.
I hope you had a safe and pleasant return journey to Seattle and hope to welcome you to Buswells Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Over many years I have booked friends & business colleagues into this city center hotel however, I made a quick solo weekend trip to Dublin & stayed at this hotel. Friendly reception staff (all Irish ladies) & my single room (a 'small' double) was at the back of the hotel, away from the main road. Getting to room 226 was an adventure. Lift to second floor, down 2 steps, then a down a small flight of stairs - up 2 steps, then another walk more steps & another 2 steps. Room was comfy , bathroom just large enough to 'swing-a-small-cat'. WiFi in many bedrooms is 'hit & miss' - no coverage in 226. But public areas work fine but my 'WhatsApp' was blocked. Nice comfortable bed & linen. The lobby bar was busy with business people & my 'Beef & Guinness' pie was excellent later my first evening. Hotel has many comfortable chairs in the lobby bar, & the tea & coffee areas. Staff are attentive & clear tables quickly & discretely. In many ways this relaxed style of hotel popular, in the 50's & 60's, is fast disappearing - that's a shame as 'Buswells' is a time warp but it is well run. Frequented by Canadians, Americans, French & Italians & a few British as well. Many people are tracing their family history in the government offices close bye. Grafton Street is just minutes away. Breakfast in the hotel was not as good as I was expecting. Try explaining to the Eastern European restaurant staff you want 'Marmite' & you will bet a blank look! The Airport Coach stops very close to the hotel (arriving) and a 5 minutes walk (departing). I felt my Euro 475 for 3 nights (room) and 2 breakfasts was more than I wanted to pay. But the services, staff & decor make up for the higher price. Try booking via a hotel web site, for better deals but book early !! Do not forget your umbrella!

Room Tip: Check with hotel staff if you want a room on a level floor as there are many steps up & down thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnccsifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Johndancefin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Buswells Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great that you got to experience the hotel first hand and thank you for booking your friends in over many years.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookAssist, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing