We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable hotel.”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Buswells is a very comfortable hotel in a central position in the middle of Dublin. Staff were particularly helpful and welcoming. Great atmosphere. Very convenient for all the sites and surrounded by great pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Elizabeth D,

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our location was so perfect for your visit to Dublin.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Dated, plush, charming, thick carpets and an amazing pallette of colours. Don't dress too fashionable unless you want to shock.
Great business venue where the television cameras are always less than 10 minutes away.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Christophe P,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Buswells Hotel. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We paid using the "Advanced" payment option. Two months earlier requested a king size bed and feather pillows. Arrived to find out that they only have two rooms with king size beds and were not available. We were given a small room headboard back to back with the other room. Plumbing for that other room was also located on the headboard wall. The other room's TV was on continuously afternoon and all night as well as the bathroom plumbing. Both very noisy. We asked the front desk to at least have the guest lower the TV volume so we could sleep which happened for a just a short period of time. Needless to say that it was a sleepless night.

We talked to the front desk in the morning again and they informed us that we needed to value that we were staying at a historic hotel and it was what it was. Historic should not be the same as "in need of maintenance". Eventually we were moved to a king size room which was much better than the previous room.

The bellboys were very good, helpful and friendly.

We traveled with our European/England adapters for our phones and laptops. The front desk told us that we had to buy specific ones for Ireland. Tesco was closed on Sunday when arrived, Grafton St stores were charging way too much for adapters. In the end, adapters for England worked out fine.

It was not my first time in Ireland or Dublin but the first for my husband and sister in law. We toured the main sites, hop on hop off tour green and red (not as exciting and driver was very dry. My previous tours were great loaded with the Irish great sense of humor. We went to several bars with live bands, bar hoping in Temple Bar.

Did not buy anything in Grafton St. or anywhere else but enjoyed the ambiance, very lively in spite of the rainy, gray days. That was the first stop of our trip and did not want to load ourselves with purchases. Prices were high including at TKMAXX (Tjmaxx).

We walked everywhere, did not buy a transportation card, just the blue bus ticket to the airport roundtrip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitizenoftheAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear CitizenoftheAir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us last November. We do our very best to accommodate all guest requests and at times this is not always possible.
I am delighted to read that we could offer you a different room after your first night for the remaining 2 nights of your stay.

It is great to read how much you enjoyed our lovely city despite the dull and dreary weather and hopefully we will have better or even sunny weather should you return.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was a very cute hotel. The location was great, right across from Trinity College and a short walk to Grafton Street. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. There is a bar/pub/restaurant attached to the hotel. The food was really tasty and reasonably priced. Enjoyed our stay here!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Nina W,

Thank you for posting this lovely review following your stay with us recently at Buswells Hotel. It is great to read now much you enjoyed your visit and savoured some of our tasty food.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Ireland.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The location of this hotel is good for touring Dublin. The staff were helpful. The room was comfortable enough, but there were loud HVAC air handlers right outside the window making sleep a challenge. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byrnee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear byrnee9,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us last year. I am delighted that you found our location so good and our staff so helpful.

We are commencing the refurbishment of some of our guestrooms next week. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Have just returned after our second stay in this charming hotel. The elegant entrance leads through to the lounge / bar areas, which have a definite feel of days gone by - sofas, leather chairs and fires [sadly gas] - all very relaxing . The staff are friendly and helpful. It's in a great location near museums, galleries, shops etc but not too far to walk to the lively Temple Bar area. Also, the drop-off and pick-up points for the airport coach are nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear John B,
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted read how much you enjoyed your stay and our great location.

I hope you had a pleasant journey home and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you intend to stay in the hotel dont forget to bring your thermals with you. The hotel has a wonderful 200 year old charm but with it comes a 200 year old heating system. The heating for the entire hotel is controlled centrally. It is not possible to turn on the heating from your room. The hotel also has the bizarre policy of turning the heating off for most of the night and day. This reviewer had the misfortune of booking a stay in this hotel in mid January on some of the coldest nights of the year. The combination of the drafty windows together with the lack of heating led to one of the most uncomfortable nights sleep this reviewer has ever had in a hotel. When the temperature in our room was pointed out to a member of staff their response was that the heating is on a timer and they cannot turn it on. Instead we were offered a noisy fan heater to keep us warm. The cold night's lack of sleep was further compounded by a cold shower the next morning.
To add insult to injury, when we wished to check out early to avoid a second frozen night we were rudely informed by a duty manager that we would need to pay the full price for our second night's stay. Needless to say we were not impressed.
Lesson to be learned here: Unless you have an eskimo-like tolerance to cold or Dublin is in the middle of an un-seasonal heat wave then consider staying some place else

Room Tip: If you are offered room 215 request a room change immediately. the room is like an ice box
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeMc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear MikeMc82,

Thank you for your recent review, Let me apologise for the lack of heat in your rooms during your stay. We have had an issue with a particular heating circuit that affected 3 rooms for a number of days. This meant that the system did not heat rooms correctly leading to an uncomfortable night as you have stated. This is not satisfactory and I would be delighted if you would contact me directly so that I can attempt to repair your impression of Buswells Hotel. You will be glad to know that we have repaired this issue.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,402 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
1.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin D02 WR98, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £123 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), BookAssist, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing