We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #25 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brecht, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“top location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

In the middle of the center, friendly staff, you feel like time stood still in this hotel, but in a good way...very nice. We had a great time here, bed very comfortable. Room was rather small but that was no problem. We spent nice evenings in the bar. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sandra A,

Thank you for your review and it is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Buswells Hotel. As you say, our location is in the middle of the center and so near so many attractions and for shopping.
I do hope we will welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    522
    142
    33
    14
See reviews for
288
578
86
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

On a recent trip to Dublin we found ourselves a little ahead of time to meet our friends for dinner at the nearby One Pico. We chanced on finding Buswell's on the corner of Molesworth Street just around the corner from the restaurant. What a find, old fashioned table service in excellent comfort to read the paper, have a quiet pint and pass an hour or two having pre dinner drinks. Great decor in the old established pub style. Next time we find ourselves in Dublin we may well stay here as it's on the quiet side of the shopping centre and Stephen's Green handy to the the city centre and transport not far from the Shellbourne another favourite of ours.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight but from the other reviews I've read you can expect the front of house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rintoul353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Rintoul353,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your recent visit to Buswells Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your first visit and I hope this will be the first of many.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a fabulous old hotel.The rooms are big with a full bathroom which was nice. Friendly staff and buffet breakfast. Although the breakfast staff may need some guest services training, it was almost comical to watch the two ladies run the lounge during breakfast, as guests, we were looking at each other from our tables, they were unfriendly and rude but didn't seem to think they were doing anything wrong. Overall, great hotel and bar with open fireplaces. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jutes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jutes68,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Buswells Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our old world charm.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballyclare
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here many times over last 10yrs. Sometimes with my mum, sometimes with my husband, sometimes with husband and 2 children. Always exceptional service, food rooms etc. When in Dublin on day trip, go to Buswells for lunch.You never know who you will see in this Hotel. on our last visit the cast from Emmerdale were next to us!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneh570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Anneh570,
Thank you for your great review and it great to see you have stayed so many times over the years.
Buswells is a great place for people watching - you never know you could see.

I hope to welcome you to Buswells again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
Buswells Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at Buswells for 3 nights and it was perfect for our requirements. Brilliant location and comfortable hotel. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We'd definitely stay there again. Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the road side - ours was a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear PamDixon,

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us recently here at Buswells Hotel. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and found our location so fantastic.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

What a great staff! Very helpful and accommodating in meeting our needs. Rooms are very nice, and very clean, and right in the center of of Dublin. Hotel staff helped with tours, taxi, and calling travel agency. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Doug P,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us recently. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that our staff could assist you with your arrangements.
I hope you had a pleasant and safe journey home to Texas and we hope to welcome you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for one night. Booked at last minute so was told that only room available was small but we were happy to take it. The room was small but nonetheless contained everything we needed. It was very clean & cosy. The lobby is beautiful - there is a real sense of character to this hotel. Excellent location for city centre shops & tourist attractions & in a very nice area, close to Stephens Green. Car parking right beside the hotel which is a major advantage. Lovely breakfast & helpful staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear TravellerD66,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your stay with us in Buswells Hotel.

It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location so close to shops and many tourist attractions.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,269 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, BookAssist, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing