We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet hotel”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sweet hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Our room is small. The bed and pillows are great.
The room is in between 3 housekeeping rooms, so the night was quiet, but early in the morning people slammed doors at least 30 times. It was very annoying.
Everyone's breakfasts were included, except ours. I think hotels should offer the inclusion to all its guests or none. As it turned out it looked awful. The cold meats and cheeses were not on cold trays, so they were dry and bad looking by the time we arrived. The fruit salad was brown and obviously sitting in the table for way too long. Coffee was good. Table was a mess. Nobody was keeping it neat and the signs were all askew. The juice was almost empty. And it was not cheap.
The front staff are all very nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Myra F,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us recently.
Apologies you were disturbed by a slamming door, this has been rectified. Our buffet meats and cheese selection is in fact a chilled unit with ice packs under the serving unit. We will however take on board the thrust of your comments and amend our service standard.

I do hope you had a pleasant journey home and I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    554
    149
    36
    14
See reviews for
308
625
89
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very nice old hotel with an excellent staff. We had a very nice room and loved staying there. There is a very nice restaurant in the hotel and an excellent bar. Breakfast is very nice and they offer same day laundry service - it was great !!
If I make it back to Dublin (and I would love to) I wouldn't even look for another hotel, I would just book a room at Buswells. I loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyshedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Garyshedron,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us at Buswells Hotel recently.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and made use of our facilities.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This could be a decent, traditional if rather overpriced hotel. The big drawback for us was the noise. We were given a pleasant room at the back of the hotel but sadly with a steady hum, not loud but clearly audible even with the windows closed, all through the night. When we asked for a change we were offered a room directly facing a bank of ventilation fans!
We were then given a room still facing the same area but slightly further away from the noise. It was much smaller and less well-equipped, so the offer of even a small price reduction would have been nice, but that wasn't on the menu. Staff were polite but uncaring. It was all the more annoying since we had specifically requested a quiet room.
For the rest, location is great; breakfast average. But really for such a premium price one would expect better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear CharlesLondonUK,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Buswells Hotel.

I believe it was explained by the manager on duty that the noise was not within the hotel but a generator situated a street away that we had no advance knowledge of. This caused a dull hum which was audible in your room. This thankfully was only an issue for that particular night. Delighted you otherwise enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in room 214. The room was generously sized, clean with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was large with a nice shower with plenty of hot water. We had the bed and breakfast plan. The breakfast was excellent. The food in the bar is very good and reasonably priced. The staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to sights, but off the main drag so quiet at night. This was our first visit and it exceeded our expectations!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmargit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mmargit,

Thank you for lovely comments following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and made use of our facilities.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at Buswells on the recommendation of a business colleague, i was warned during the day by another colleague to be careful of the room I was allocated as he had already had to change his room because it was so small. I was astounded when i found my room, it was the smallest hotel room I had ever seen, so small that i couldn't fit my suitcase on the floor. I asked to be moved but was told there was nothing else available but was promised they would move me for the second night of my stay. I then went to have a shower but couldn't as there was no water, I rung reception and was told that due to a fault the water had been switched off for a few minutes. When it came back on the water was muddy brown.

I was moved for the second night but was offered no discount or refund for the total disappointment of the first night. Even though the second night was better it still felt expensive at 160 Euro. Overall a very poor experience and I will spend future stays in Dublin at somewhere offering better value like Bewley's.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnY452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear John Y,

I am sorry to read your review which highlights your issues.
We do have a number of small rooms and indeed a number of real single rooms. On your stay you were allocate one such room which failed to meet your requirements.
Please do come and stay again on your next visit and I can assure you we will restore your faith in Buswells Hotel. You might contact me personally in advance so that I may afford you my personal attention.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This was my third stay at Buswells, the last time about 4 years ago. The location is perfect, in the middle of everything, and the staff is extremely helpful, but some of the small points are getting a bit off-center. We had a 4th floor room, which is actually in the back of the hotel at about the 2 1/2 floor level. The "free" wifi did not work there because it was "too far" away; that is a problem that could and should be easily remedied. The building is quite old, which is charming in its way, but it also means that the floor above ours was very creaky and loud. The hair dryer was locked into a dresser drawer (did they think I would take it?) and thus it was of no use in, for example, de-fogging the bathroom mirror after a shower. And one small bar of soap, not replaced after our first night, was not enough to last two people for two days. These are all minor annoyances that detract from an otherwise charming hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Peter S,

Many thanks for your recent review. All feedback is important to us as it enable us to improve on our product and service offering.
It is great to read that you found our location so perfect.
Our free Wi-Fi let us down in your room during your stay. We are currently re caballing these rooms as a direct result of your feedback which will eliminate this issue for future guests.
The hairdryer is cabled through the drawer of the dressing table but perfectly positioned in front of the dressing table mirror, and yes some hairdryers do go missing but thankfully very few. Our bathrooms do not have free power outlets for safety reasons so as to prevent a guest becoming electrocuted. Lastly we have oodles of soap should guests require more. If guests contact reception, we will drop more up or any other supplies a guest requires.
I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was my first visit to Buswell's in more than twenty years (I used always to stay there on work visits to Dublin) and always enjoyed my stays. Not that much had changed. The staff were still friendly and it is still - to my mind - the best located hotel in Dublin. The room decor was a bit tired - we were at the very top of the older part of the hotel and the room was due to be renovated soon - and we had no light in the bathroom on our second night and morning. Since it was an interior bathroom, this was somewhat of a problem - dealt with by giving us a lamp which could only be placed on top of the lid of the lavatory. Very awkward. When we complained, the cost of two breakfasts was deducted from our bill (rather ungraciously, I felt). Nonetheless, I recommend Buswell's for convenience, character and general friendliness - the manager who dealt with our problem being an exception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quaestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Quaestor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Buswells Hotel. It is great to read that our friendly staff and great location made your stay so enjoyable.
However, I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the lighting. We endeavour to solve any maintenance issues as quickly as possible in order to limit any inconvenience to our guests.
I do hope that when you return to Dublin that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,939 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, BookAssist, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing