We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Buswells was a much needed comfortable sleep, and amazingly awesome staff. Everyone was SO nice here! We only stayed for one night as the rest of our trip was to continue on, but so wish we had spent more time at Buswells. We were late getting in and they kept the kitchen open just for us, then had the manager come over to check that everything was ok. I couldn't have imagined a more friendly welcoming to Ireland. Amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarbear6r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Sarbear6r,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your short stay with us and the service provided by our staff and management.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Buswells Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is a lovely hotel in perfect location albeit slightly dated. It is within walking distance to Temple Bar district and there are very good restaurants round the corner. Food in the bar/cafe is ok if you just wish to have something to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FundaSapolyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear FundaSapolyo,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to read you found our location so great with many attractions and restaurants within walking distance.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Traveled to Buswell's with my Mom who had stayed on previous visits. It is charming without be fusty. The pub and lounge areas teem with locals. Excellent service from Reception and concierge. Location can't be beat. In the thick of it yet a peaceful respite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltaireGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear SaltaireGlo,

Thank you for your review of Buswells Hotel following your stay with us earlier this year.

It is great to read the yourself your mother enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you had a pleasant journey home and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Buswells Hotel on May 10 - 12. This is an amazing hotel. The location is superb- just a short walk to Trinity College, Grafton Street, St. Stephens Green, and the Hop On Hop Off bus (green) stop is close by. I had tea and scones on Saturday afternoon next to the beautiful fireplace. The bar was very nice and we had more than a few pints of Guinness there. One evening, right after the kitchen closed, my husband and I decided we wanted a little something with our Guinness and the gentleman working at the bar was able to round us up a snack. The staff at Buswells was attentive and friendly- and our room was gorgeous with high ceilings and a view of the street. We plan to go back to Ireland in 2016 and Buswells will be where we stay.

Room Tip: There is no pool at his hotel but I could not change the choice of "excellent" to no answe...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Jean M,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us recently. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location so perfect for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dublin in 2016.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In April, after our 7 day River Cruise on the Rhine, my husband & our good friends decided to go to one of our favorite cities in Europe, Dublin! But where to stay for just 3 days? I am a travel agent and I used my resources to search for the best value and a great location and found - Buswells!
The small hotel is located near the Government buildings and about 3 blocks to the main shopping area of Grafton Street. The rooms are good sized, with high ceilings and a nice en suite bath with a shower over a very large tub. The hotel is older, but very well maintained.
The staff was always very helpful and accomodating. Our friends are Welsh, and one of them really wanted some 'Salad Cream' for the sandwich he had ordered in the pub and the hotel manager, John, ran out to the nearest grocery and got him some! Now that's service!
Often in Europe you may find that in April the heat won't be turned on in hotels as often (and sometimes too much!) as it does in the US. So our room was a bit chilly at night. (Our Welsh friends thought their room was just fine!) John again brought to our room a floor heater to warm things up a bit. Very nice.
From the helpful doorman, to the ladies at Reception, to all of the service staff in the pub & restaurant, and especially management, this hotel is your best bet while in Dublin.
We thought the rates were reasonable when you consider the time of year we were there and their location,
Thank you Buswell's for taking such wonderful care of us! We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear CaliGirl0,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay with us at Buswells Hotel. It is great to read how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff could assist you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I read elswhere about 'dated rooms', 'small spaces' - well, it is an old building in an old city, so that shouldn't be a surprise.
We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The location is simply the best: literally across the street from the gates to Leinster House! If you enjoy the best city locations, then you will not care that your room is not the size of a palace.
The bed was fine; the bath very good (strong, hot water!); but a note of caution to car drivers: the parking garage used by the hotel is free and easy to get to (around the block, easy access) - the lot has odd hours (odd by our NY 24/7 standards, that is!). And parking during the daytime is indeed expensive. But as you are in the heart of the City, that is to be somewhat expected as major cities worldwide are becoming less and less reliant on the personal car.
Overall: I would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg747LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Greg747LI,

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us last month. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location so great.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Buswells on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A friend booked this hotel for us and after reading some reviews I was a little concerned, I needn't have been. The hotel is well situated for all the sites in Dublin. The room was lovely, clean not enormous but big enough, the bed was so comfy, getting up was difficult. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent we had both breakfast and dinner, the steak was fantastic. The only problem was a lack of large plates on the Saturday morning. It was quite expensive but nowhere is cheap in Dublin. All in all a great weekend

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Witzend48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Witzend48,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Buswells Hotel.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £133 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookAssist, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing